orthomosaic  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
rananna
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:07 pm
Info

orthomosaic

by rananna » Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:35 pm

I am not having much luck using autopano giga to create an orthomosaic style of stitch.
( i have aerial photos where the camera is moving linearly over the ground (moving and the overlap is about 50%)
I have followed the guide here:
http://www.kolor.com/wiki-en/action/vie ... _stitching
do you have any other suggestions for getting this to work?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: orthomosaic

by olivierbo » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:18 pm

Hello,

You do not need to set a lot of parameters if you shoot properly. What's wrong with your pano? A screenshot would be useful?
Did you shoot using an app like Dronepan for instance? Dis you shoot in multiple lines and columns?

Best regards,
Olivier

no avatar
rananna
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:07 pm
Info

Re: orthomosaic

by rananna » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:22 pm

I am not trying to shoot a panorama like dronepan does where the drone is stationary and rotates to capture the photos.
Rather I am moving in a grid pattern over a scene with the camera pointing stright down and overlapping each photo by about 50%. I would like to stitch the mosaic together.
This type of photo is often called an orthomosaic if it is geo referenced.
ie see: https://medium.com/new-farmer/what-is-a ... 140c0601df

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: orthomosaic

by olivierbo » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:24 pm

Have you tried to import your pictures with Gigapan import module?
How do you proceed?

Best,
Olivier

no avatar
rananna
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:07 pm
Info

Re: orthomosaic

by rananna » Wed Nov 15, 2017 2:28 pm

I do not use the gigpan imprt as my understanding is that this is for stationary panoramas. I simply import the photos using file select images. I then press detect.

no avatar
rananna
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:07 pm
Info

Re: orthomosaic

by rananna » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:40 pm

OK I got it to work with the following settings:
force focal length to 400mm.
Under "group settings" > "optimization", "Optimization stages (manual)", and uncheck "initial lens distortion" and "Final lens distortion" * check local/global,first optimiation, geom analysis, bad points and bad links
optimization scope settings: optimize everything (focal, distortion, offset and viewpoint)

no avatar
Panoram1x
Member
 
Posts: 236
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 41 posts
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:59 pm
Location: Barcelona (Catalunya)
Info

Re: orthomosaic

by Panoram1x » Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:08 pm

You can try this...
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=32642
...And there follow the links.
Try it, and tell us if it has been useful.

no avatar
rananna
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 6
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2017 3:07 pm
Info

Re: orthomosaic

by rananna » Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:19 pm

That duplicates what I did in the last post.
Anyway, it continues to work with these settings

no avatar
Panoram1x
Member
 
Posts: 236
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 41 posts
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2010 9:59 pm
Location: Barcelona (Catalunya)
Info

Re: orthomosaic

by Panoram1x » Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:46 pm

Ooops!
I was in a non-updated version of the thread, sorry :)
To see the problem, can you show some image? even partial.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron