Page 1 of 1

Command-line operation of AutoPano

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2017 5:49 pm
by markharr
I'm working with the University of Uppsala on a project that involves making high-res images of terrain, and from my tests, AutoPano is by far the best software for successfully stitching large numbers of close-up images of fields.

And the interface is great, but we actually want to be able to run the stitching engine from a linux command line so that it doesn't require human intervention, but it's not obvious that that is possible.

Is there someway to bypass the interface, in the same way that krpano can be used to create the final viewable object ?

Re: Command-line operation of AutoPano

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 8:32 am
by olivierbo
Hello,

Thanks for your interest in our software.
We do have an automatic stitching solution called Autopano Server (APS). Actually it's a command line tool.
APS works like Autopano Giga without the UI. I mean it works on the same kernel/engine. So try APG with your pictures... if it works it will work with APS. If you take panoramas always in the same way APS could success at 99% of the time.

Let me know if you're interested receiving more information.

Best regards,
Olivier

Re: Command-line operation of AutoPano

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:46 am
by markharr
Great ! I looked at Server, but concluded it was for remote use, but of course that can be bypassed.
Do you have a demo version we can play with ?
And what would a licence cost if it became interesting ?
We're academics, so not super rich, but were considering licensing AutoPano.

Re: Command-line operation of AutoPano

PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:54 am
by olivierbo
Hello,

I'll send you all the information by email.

Cheers,
Olivier

Re: Command-line operation of AutoPano

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 7:58 pm
by virtualdiorama
Could you also mail me some additional info on the Autopano Server.
Best regards
johannes

Re: Command-line operation of AutoPano

PostPosted: Wed May 03, 2017 8:07 am
by olivierbo
Hello Johannes,

Done! ;)

Best regards,
Olivier

Re: Command-line operation of AutoPano

PostPosted: Tue Aug 22, 2017 9:26 pm
by mwakeman
Hello Olivier,

I too am interested in automating my stitching routine. I currently use AutoPano Pro and take the following steps manually:

1.) Select/Load Images (14)
2.) Click "Detect"
3.) Double-Click the Pano that is generated to bring up the .pano file with associated tools
3.) Click "Crop" and "Apply" to the generated .pano file
4.) Click "Render" and change the quality to "8" then save it as a .jpg file

The result is flawless. Do you think I can automate the same steps above?
Many thanks in advance for your insight.

Best regards,

Re: Command-line operation of AutoPano

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:48 am
by olivierbo
Hello,

Into Preferences, Detection tab, you can select "Auto crop", "Auto render", "Auto save" and so on. In Render tab, change the settings as well.
Do not forget to modify the output folder into Detection and Render tabs to be sure your .pano file and rendered pano will be in the same folder.
Select Browse folder, choose the folder where your pictures are located, tick "Auto detection" and click OK ;)

Best,
Olivier

Re: Command-line operation of AutoPano

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:49 pm
by mwakeman
Many thanks for the tips Olivier. The methods you suggested certainly do speed up the manual process.
However, we are looking to fully automate the process above (perhaps via command-line) so it can be done at desiginated times triggered by our software. Would we need to inquire about the AutoPano Server Software as well to tackle this? Thanks again for any insight. Best regards.

Re: Command-line operation of AutoPano

PostPosted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 2:51 pm
by olivierbo
You're very welcome! I'm gonna send you information for APS via email.

Cheers,
Olivier