set of camera for panopictures  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
giuseppe-360

Topic author
Liked in: 0 post
Info

set of camera for panopictures

by giuseppe-360 » Thu Jun 18, 2015 7:23 pm

Hi all,
I am interested in taking pano pictures for VT for educational purposes and I am a beginner.
I would take pictures with (also) moving subjects.
I would use a set of action cams (like gopro) because they are light and with wide angle lenses.
I am trying APP 4.0
1) the cameras would have a fixed relative configuration (let's say, 5 along the sides of a pentagon and one for the zenith): Is there any methods to pass parameters of the configuration, for instance yaw and relative position, before APP does autodetection?
2) The camera would have a parallax error but the distance of the nodal points of the cameras is known. Would it be useful to pass this data to APP before autodetection? If yes, how?
3) I am trying with a cheap cam (Xiaomi yi). I took 5 pictures, 0 degrees pitch, one per 72 degrees around the nodal point. The automatic stitching results are strange: I may suppose the main reason is that APP does not know the data of the lenses of the camera.
According to cam specs: focal length is 2,73 mm, D(iagonal ?)FOV is 155 degrees, sensor size (Sony Exmor R bi) is 1/2.3 inch. Would it be possible from these data to obtain the focal length (35 mm equivalent) to force APP to consider? Would it be considered a fisheye lens?

Sorry for so many questions.
Thank you in advance.
Giuseppe

no avatar
mediavets

Liked in: 130 posts
Info

Re: set of camera for panopictures

by mediavets » Thu Jun 18, 2015 8:23 pm

giuseppe-360 wrote:Hi all,
I am interested in taking pano pictures for VT for educational purposes and I am a beginner.
I would take pictures with (also) moving subjects.
I would use a set of action cams (like gopro) because they are light and with wide angle lenses.