APG 4.4.1 sometimes does not start  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
SoenkeW
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 17
Likes: 4 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:08 pm
Info

APG 4.4.1 sometimes does not start

by SoenkeW » Wed Jul 26, 2017 11:20 am

Hello Kolor!

I'm producing VR-Films and use Autopano Video and Autopano Giga for stitching.

Sometimes I encounter strange problems with Autopano Giga. When starting the software, there only appears a black startscreen and the software does not start. In the task manager there seems to be activity of APG, as the CPU load and the ram load are changing. But APG does not start.
There is no improvement by restarting the computer. And even uninstalling and reinstalling APG does not help.

Strange about this problem is, that there are times when APG does start without problems! I've been working the last couple of days without problems but today the problems start again. Yesterday afternoon I started working with After Effects besides APG and then the trouble seemed to start. This morning I was not able to start APG.

My System is an HP Z840
Xeon E5-2687W v4
Ram installed 256 GB
Nvidia Quadro M 6000 24 GB

Win 8.1 Pro 64bit

APG 4.4.1
AVP 2.6.1

Graphic card driver is up to date

I have attached a screenshot of the task manager with APG stuck and the black start screen.

Do you have any ideas, where this does com from?

Best regards, Sönke
Attachments
APG_02.jpg
black start screen
APG_01.jpg
APG in task manager

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 133 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: APG 4.4.1 sometimes does not start

by olivierbo » Wed Jul 26, 2017 1:58 pm

Hello Sönke,

Can you tell me if you start APG prior to launching any Adobe apps, it works all the time?

Cheers,
Olivier

no avatar
SoenkeW
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 17
Likes: 4 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:08 pm
Info

Re: APG 4.4.1 sometimes does not start

by SoenkeW » Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:17 pm

Hi Olivier!

Thanks for your response!
Well, let's say mostly yes... But there are "hard cases" as well, when APG won't start at all...
Anyways it seems to me like these two are influencing each other. Right now I've got APG running (after trying to start APG, I kinda forgot about it and after about 25 min APG popped up...) but AFX seems to be slow and instable in performance.

Could it be a RAM size issue, as I have read in another thread?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 133 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: APG 4.4.1 sometimes does not start

by olivierbo » Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:26 pm

Hi Sönke,

We have an issue with the memory management when the quantity of RAM exceeds 32 or 34Gb. I invite you to go to the Preferences and modify the "Memory used" value to 32Gb (not Cache division value!). Click OK, restart the app and let me know.
Thanks in advance

Olivier

no avatar
SoenkeW
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 17
Likes: 4 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Fri Jul 21, 2017 12:08 pm
Info

Re: APG 4.4.1 sometimes does not start

by SoenkeW » Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:31 pm

Hi Olivier,

I'll try that. I've set the value to 32 GB and restart of APG was pretty quick and easy. Let me try for some time if it works better...

Thanks for your help so far...

Best regards,

Sönke

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 133 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: APG 4.4.1 sometimes does not start

by olivierbo » Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:33 pm

You're very welcome Sönke and sorry for the inconvenience. We will correct the bug as soon as possible.
Let me know if you're still having the problem.
Thanks for your trust.

Cheers,
Olivier


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron