Stacks do not align even when checking "Use hard links"  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
mattp
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 4
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:03 am
Info

Stacks do not align even when checking "Use hard links"

by mattp » Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:14 am

I am trying to render three exposure bracketed stacks for manual blending in Photoshop. They were shot on a tripod, so each set of three exposures is perfectly aligned. Each stack stitches fine by itself, but when I render the three stacks, the stitching is off slightly between the three layers. The preview in Autopano Giga looks fine, however. Under Detection Settings, I checked "Use hard links", which I thought was supposed to fix this issue. How can I get three perfectly aligned bracketed panoramas?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stacks do not align even when checking "Use hard links"

by olivierbo » Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:09 am

Hello,

Can you add some screenshots of the problem and/or share or send your footage? Did you apply any blending?

Kind regards,
Olivier

no avatar
mattp
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 4
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:03 am
Info

Re: Stacks do not align even when checking "Use hard links"

by mattp » Mon Jun 04, 2018 7:28 pm

I am attaching a few screenshots to help illustrate my problem:

1a, 1b, 1c) Detail of mid, dark, and light pano merge in Autopano Giga before rendering (these align perfectly)

1a.jpg

1b.jpg

1c.jpg


2a, 2b, 2c) Detail of mid, dark, and light layers in exported PSD (these do not align perfectly)

2a.jpg

2b.jpg

2c.jpg


It might be necessary to open these screenshots as layers in Photoshop so you can see how they do not align.

I am not trying to do an HDR blend from Autopano Giga. I just want the mid, dark, and light layers in a PSD so I can manually blend the different exposures in Photoshop.

Thanks for your help.

no avatar
mattp
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 4
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:03 am
Info

Re: Stacks do not align even when checking "Use hard links"

by mattp » Tue Jun 19, 2018 9:12 pm

I've been trying to solve this issue and still have had no luck. It seems like "use hard links" is not working properly. Is anyone else having this issue with stitching bracketed exposures so they align perfectly in Photoshop?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stacks do not align even when checking "Use hard links"

by olivierbo » Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:28 am

Hello,

Could you share or send your original pictures?
Stupid question but do you create stacks once added to Autopano (or Autopano creates them automatically)?

Kind regards,
Olivier

no avatar
mattp
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 4
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 8:03 am
Info

Re: Stacks do not align even when checking "Use hard links"

by mattp » Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:43 pm

I attached a ZIP file with a selection of 6 images to use for testing (3 stacks of 2 images each). For this test, I downsized them so they are small JPGs. After rendering and viewing the resulting layers in Photoshop, you can see how some parts are interpreted differently. Below is the most obvious example: in the dark exposure, the roof looks OK, but in the light exposure, it is off.

Screen Shot 2018-06-20 at 3.28.06 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-06-20 at 3.28.09 PM.png


I let Autopano create the stacks before clicking "Detect", or if it fails to do so, then I force it in the preferences (e.g., always create stacks with 2 images).

For this sample pano, all the settings are default except:

DETECTION
Check "Force every image to be in one panorama"
For a stack: "Use hard links"
Uncheck "Auto color correction"

RENDER
Format: PSD
DPI: 300
Exported data: check "Layers"

Thanks, and please let me know if you need any other information.
Attachments
Images.zip
(1.84 MiB) Downloaded 32 times

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2227
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stacks do not align even when checking "Use hard links"

by olivierbo » Thu Jun 21, 2018 3:15 pm

Hello,

I did not reproduce the issue. I'm gonna send you the files via WeTransfer.
Let me know.

Just one thing. As you have a huge overlapping zone between pictures, it could create stitching issues.

Cheers,
Olivier


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest