Trouble with DNG files  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Pro / Giga bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
no avatar
JX
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 43
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:26 pm
Location: Paris
Info

Trouble with DNG files

by JX » Fri May 04, 2018 3:12 pm

I tried to create a panorama fin APG rom Canon raws converted to DNG with the free Adobe converter.
It seemed to work... until I realized the panorama was 512 pixels high.
Apparently APG is using the JPEG preview data embedded in the DNG file.

no avatar
JX
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 43
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:26 pm
Location: Paris
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by JX » Mon May 14, 2018 9:24 am

Up! Is it a bug or not?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2200
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by olivierbo » Wed May 16, 2018 9:22 am

Hello,

Could you provide your original RAWs and converted DNG. Also, could you add a screenshot of the issue?

Thanks in advance.
Cheers,
Olivier

no avatar
JX
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 43
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:26 pm
Location: Paris
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by JX » Thu May 17, 2018 11:02 am

Yes, I'm at work now but I can try to send this tonight or tomorrow.

User avatar
dvoshart
Member
 
Posts: 11
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by dvoshart » Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:22 pm

I have the same issue.

Captured with OMD EM5 Mark2
HDRs processed in Photoshop and saved as dng

.dnr images are only recognized as 192x256 pixel images

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2200
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by olivierbo » Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:34 am

Hello,

Could you please share or send your RAW or JPEG original files and your processed files as well?

Kind regards,
Olivier

User avatar
dvoshart
Member
 
Posts: 11
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by dvoshart » Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:57 pm

Here are three exposures and the associated HDR file.

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... sp=sharing

Let me know if you need a full panorama.

Also noted is the files are not recognized as fisheye (typically I override EXIF data as a 16mm Fisheye)

-Dan

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2200
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by olivierbo » Mon Jun 11, 2018 3:34 pm

Hello,

I cannot reproduce the issue. I converted .ORF files to DNG, then merge HDR
Regarding the lens type here is how Autopano select it:

Autopano sets by itself the lens type following this rule: fisheye < (or =) 16mm < standard
- if the focal length (35mm. equi) is less or equal to 16mm, the lens type is set to fisheye
- if the focal length (35mm. equi) is more than 16mm, the lens type is set to standard (linear)
We set Autopano as well because this rule is true in most of the cases. But this is not true every time, some lenses are exceptions.

Hope this can help.

Kind regards,
Olivier

User avatar
dvoshart
Member
 
Posts: 11
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by dvoshart » Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:01 pm

Oliver,

I still have the same DNG problem. Autopano Giga only recognizes 192x256 resolution.

Have you tried opening my .dng? I don't understand how we can be opening the same file using the same software and get different results.

Can you send me an image of your settings? I must be missing something.

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2200
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by olivierbo » Wed Jun 20, 2018 8:19 am

Hello,

If I open your file, I get the same issue. That's the reason I converted the file by myself (If I remember well, I used PS or LR).

Kind regards,
Olivier

User avatar
dvoshart
Member
 
Posts: 11
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by dvoshart » Thu Jun 21, 2018 12:18 am

I have now tried both the latest Photoshop CC (v19.1.3) CameraRaw and Lightroom CC Classic (v7.4).

I have tried saving in different versions of CameraRaw (5.4, 6.6, 7.1) I have even tried "Backward version 1.4". No luck.

Can you please share your processed DNG with me so I can figure out what I'm doing wrong. Can you also please share your exact settings. I would like to try to match them exactly since I'm running out of options. My hunch is that Autopano Giga is stuck reading the thumbnail.

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2200
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by olivierbo » Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:13 am

Hello,

I just opened the file with PS CC2018, then save it as a DNG file.

Hope this can help.

Kind regards,
Olivier
Attachments
DNG.png

User avatar
dvoshart
Member
 
Posts: 11
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by dvoshart » Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:53 pm

I noticed your setting has a medium sized jpeg "Taille moyenne" embedded into the DNG. I have always chosen "none".

Is it possible that Kolor is only recognizing/using the embedded jpeg for stitching instead of using a 32bit HDR?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2200
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by olivierbo » Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:42 pm

Hello,

Yes it's important here. Did you get the same result?

Cheers,
Olivier

User avatar
dvoshart
Member
 
Posts: 11
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by dvoshart » Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:16 pm

No luck with 'medium', it still recognized only the small thumbnail.

I tried 'large' and the image loaded into AutoPano Giga preview fine but after processing the Detection the main view was only showing the darkest exposure which made it difficult to stitch and impossible to get any good results.

Can you send me the file you saved in photoshop?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2200
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 132 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by olivierbo » Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:29 pm

Hello,

That's a bit strange! I'll send them via WeTransfer.
Let me know.

Best regards,
Olivier

User avatar
dvoshart
Member
 
Posts: 11
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by dvoshart » Mon Jun 25, 2018 3:16 pm

Images load fine. I get three different exposures and they recognize at their proper resolution.

However, the dngs were not merged into one HDR and are not 32 bit.

User avatar
dvoshart
Member
 
Posts: 11
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed May 02, 2018 11:36 pm
Info

Re: Trouble with DNG files

by dvoshart » Wed Jul 04, 2018 11:27 pm

Just to confirm: You haven't gotten 32 bit DNGs to work either?


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests