Bison Landscape (layered output)  

Share what you've done with Autopano Pro.
Montrez nous vos oeuvres !
no avatar
ckiely
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 133
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:12 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Info

Bison Landscape (layered output)

by ckiely » Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:56 am

This is a 7 source image pano. 6 of them are standard portrait shots w/ a 50mm prime lens. The last shot was a landscape shot w/ a 50mm lens of just about all of the bison (minus the two on the left).

I did standard color matching and output w/ layers... the bison were moving as the images were being taken. I discarded all of the individual layers other than the background and the landscape one. I used a selection tool to select the area around the animals on the landscape shot, feathered it, select inverse and deleted the rest of the layer. Then flattened the image.

Had the layered output not been available this would have looked dreadful w/ ghosting due to moving animals... nice feature :)

Yellowstone Bison Panoramic #005
Image[/url]

Christian Kiely Photography
Last edited by ckiely on Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
phototrek
Member
 
Posts: 78
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:48 am
Location: NorCal, USA
Info

by phototrek » Sun Mar 19, 2006 7:31 am

This is an amazig trick - thanks for posting!
iMac 27"
Canon Equipment

User avatar
phototrek
Member
 
Posts: 78
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:48 am
Location: NorCal, USA
Info

by phototrek » Sun Mar 19, 2006 8:22 am

So I tried this approach on one of my panos, and found that when I use layered output I get pretty sharp bands between the individual layers where they come together. That's certainly not very pleasing. How do you blend it "softly" in PS? When I use the "Flatten Image" feature, it just slaps 'em together. Re-ordering them will only change the placement of the hard line, but not its existence.

Thanks :)
iMac 27"
Canon Equipment

no avatar
GURL
Member
 
Posts: 2943
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 1:57 pm
Location: Grenoble
Info

by GURL » Sun Mar 19, 2006 8:59 am

Soft blend : the easy way to explain it is "just use the rubber tool" with a soft setting. This way, you can get fuzzy seams...

The actual way most people do that is by using masks (one mask for each layer but the background), because masks can be easily corrected afterward. As a mask could be seen as a place where rubber strokes are stored an can be edited afterwords, the final result is just the same.
Georges

no avatar
Panorama fanatic
Member
 
Posts: 404
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Info

by Panorama fanatic » Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:35 pm

2 phototrek: hard borders between source layers in HDRI color correction - is known bug of 1.1. 1.2 beta and 1.1/snandard correction get betetr layers. But not ideal, of cource.

If I need to remove ghost of moving objects or improve quality, maximizing non-blended areas, I do:

1. make layered PSD
2. Turn off all source layers (press right mouse button on 'eye' icon of background in layers list, select 'hide another layers')
3. Find layers with best quality (temporary show/hide each of them)
4. To use part os source layer I select area using one of selecting tools, activate source layer and add mask
5. To get seelction smooth I show 'quick mask' (\ key), and make borders of mask smooth using black of white soft brush. Try to use minimal brush to minimize area with blending, but not too small to see border of your 'patch' :)

ptgui have good tutor
http://www.ptgui.com/examples/postprocessing/

I think, authors of APP must add similar tutor to autopano's wiki
Last edited by Panorama fanatic on Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
ckiely
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 133
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:12 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Info

by ckiely » Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:26 pm

Answered above before I could jump back in.

User avatar
phototrek
Member
 
Posts: 78
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2006 8:48 am
Location: NorCal, USA
Info

by phototrek » Sun Mar 19, 2006 5:35 pm

Thanks! Iwill try that.
iMac 27"
Canon Equipment

no avatar
nputtick
Member
 
Posts: 71
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 7:21 pm
Info

by nputtick » Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:05 pm

That is a lovely photo - but on my monitor there is a clearly visible vertical change in the colour of the snow. It is directly in line with the single tree (in front of the lighter snow-covered hump), and exactly half way between the 2 bison on the left and the leftmost bison of the larger group. To the right of that line, the colour balance of the snow is more blue, to the left, more pink. Could that discontinuity correspond to the edge of the landscape image? Preumably if so it could be corrected by matching the colour in the 2 layers.

Nigel

no avatar
nputtick
Member
 
Posts: 71
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 7:21 pm
Info

by nputtick » Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:10 pm

The discontinuity is directly above this mark (if you scroll back up)
|
|
Last edited by nputtick on Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
ckiely
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 133
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:12 am
Location: Southern California, USA
Info

by ckiely » Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:28 pm

Yes, I noticed that after I posted. I fixed it since then, the image above was from a 5% render. The full version is taken care of, but thanks. It's a long story...

EDIT: I uploaded a new photo... you shouldn't see it now.
Last edited by ckiely on Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
nputtick
Member
 
Posts: 71
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2006 7:21 pm
Info

by nputtick » Mon Mar 20, 2006 12:04 am

Christian - that's much better. And the bison have moved!!!!

Nigel


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests