Naming of object ?  

This forum is fully dedicated to Panotour / Panotour Pro bug reports as well as feature discussion.
no avatar
irpano
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 315
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:04 am
Info

Naming of object ?

by irpano » Mon Jan 23, 2012 6:46 am

Hi to All, As I delve into PANOTOUR ( Not Pro) I find that when editing and saving a object (Text as a png file) panotour does not recognise the new file.
Example. Created a file in Photoshiop with text about the image.
Saved as a png file called text 1.png
made the link to text1.png in the hotspot object.
Build the tour.
Edit the png file and resave as Text 1.png - (overwrites old file)
Delete reference to text 1.png in the hotspot
Make new reference to the new file (new text)
Build the tour
View the tour
The old unedited text is still referenced when the hotspot is clicked.

Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong.

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7883
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 228 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Info

by Destiny » Mon Jan 23, 2012 7:10 am

Hi.. try this.... text-1.png or text_1.png

It's probably the Brocken files name that's doing it.. The reason why it keeps showing a reference to the old files, it might be looking for it since the new file is not named properly.... You can to it with no gaps if you want.. ie... Text1.png

Destiny...
Last edited by Destiny on Mon Jan 23, 2012 8:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:36 am

see here...

for the meanwhile (until its solved) dont use filenames or project names beginning with a number...

http://www.kolor.com/forum/t13946-ptp-1.7.1-basedir-get-wrong-calculated-and-soundinterface-fails

Liebe GrüàŸe,
Georg

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:59 pm

irpano wrote:Saved as a png file called text 1.png
made the link to text1.png in the hotspot object.

If you change the name: how do you think it could be found? :cool:
Basically: No spaces in filenames!

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

no avatar
irpano
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 315
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:04 am
Info

by irpano » Tue Jan 24, 2012 6:28 am

Thanks Klaus. Never dawned on me that it could be the spaces in the name. Used to windows accepting spaces. Will try new procedure.
John

no avatar
irpano
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 315
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2008 4:04 am
Info

by irpano » Tue Jan 24, 2012 7:05 am

Klaus, Further tests. Correct me if I am wrong. As Panotour embeds all files and once a tour is built,it will read the xml code which will have the name of the object file embedded in it. So changing the original png file without rebuilding the project will still have the old object file in the code. Therefore I must rebuild the project each time a change is made in any object file.
John

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:33 pm

irpano wrote:Klaus, Further tests. Correct me if I am wrong. As Panotour embeds all files and once a tour is built,it will read the xml code which will have the name of the object file embedded in it. So changing the original png file without rebuilding the project will still have the old object file in the code. Therefore I must rebuild the project each time a change is made in any object file.
John

Hi John!

I never use "embed" something. You can´t edit it afterwards and it takes longer to load as i experienced.

If you don´t use "embed" you can edit every item at any time.

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:40 pm

irpano wrote:So changing the original png file without rebuilding the project will still have the old object file in the code. Therefore I must rebuild the project each time a change is made in any object file.
John

The problem is: PTP uses multiresolution. That means it makes tiles of your pano-image. These tiles can be thousands and have names and places.
So if you want to change the image while keeping all the rest it can´t work - unless the new image has absolutely (!!) the same values than the one you
had before and matches the values that the xml contains.


best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

by klausesser » Tue Jan 24, 2012 3:41 pm

irpano wrote:Thanks Klaus. Never dawned on me that it could be the spaces in the name. Used to windows accepting spaces. Will try new procedure.
John

Mac also accepts spaces - but usually the servers don´t . . . :cool:

best, Klaus
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron