Imageposition not static  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

Imageposition not static

by gloob » Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:21 pm

Hello,

I the moment I'm testing Papywizard with my Merlin.
I always have problems with the positions the merlin is driver to.
After each line there is an offset to the left position. That means I start maybe at 50degree and after the next line the merlin moves to 45degree and so on for each line. there is always an offset for maybe 5 degree for each line:

1. line starting at 50 degree
2. line starting at 45 degree
3. line starting at 40 degree
...
and so on.

The distance between each image seems to be constant.
Is this a problem of Papywizard or the Merlin.

PS: I'm using the latest papywizard version on a windows PC.


Last edited by gloob on Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:45 am

is this movement also seen in the resulting papywizard logfile, or are there the positions correct logged?
did you manually move the head by hand (this may damage the head, especially the nut can get looser so head begins to move...

Georg

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Mar 09, 2011 1:37 pm

gloob wrote:Hello,

I the moment I'm testing Papywizard with my Merlin.
I always have problems with the positions the merlin is driver to.
After each line there is an offset to the left position. That means I start maybe at 50degree and after the next line the merlin moves to 45degree and so on for each line. there is always an offset for maybe 5 degree for each line:

1. line starting at 50 degree
2. line starting at 45 degree
3. line starting at 40 degree
...
and so on.

The distance between each image seems to be constant.
Is this a problem of Papywizard or the Merlin.

PS: I'm using the latest papywizard version on a windows PC.

Try disabling (unchecking) the Alternate drive option for Yaw and Pitch axis plugins - this will increase the time required to shoot a scene by about 50% but should solve the 'stepping' issue.


Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

by gloob » Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:17 pm

Thank you very much. That helped for me. I also found that the older version 2.0 does not have this problem.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Mar 09, 2011 9:55 pm

gloob wrote:I also found that the older version 2.0 does not have this problem.

Really? When we were investigating this issue some time back I seem to recall having to go back to a much earlier version that that to avoid this problem with Alternate drive enabled.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

by gloob » Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:00 pm

I tested everything on 2 PCs. One running version 2.0 and the other version 2.1.20

Only on the 2.1.20 I see this offset problem.

I ran both systems with the same number of images and the same lens options and co.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:06 pm

2.0 has multithreading problems.
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:52 am

Hello "Gloob"

Could-you check the Merlin firmware version ?
For that just establish the connection with your Merlin trough Papywizard, open the log file, 2-3 line before the end , You wil find the Firmware version.
How do-you connect the Merlin ... wired or not wired ?
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

by gloob » Thu Mar 10, 2011 7:42 am

Hello Claude,

The Merlin version is the newest one from your homepage.
The connection is wired via a USB-RS232 converter and the SynScan AZ.
Papywizard is running on a Acer Aspire One with Windows 7 Starter.

Stefan
Last edited by gloob on Thu Mar 10, 2011 7:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:17 pm

OK Stefan,

But could-you give me the Firmware version of your Merlin head ...


You can find it into the Papywizard log of, if you have the "Goto" Hand controler via the controler ...
Utility Functions
Utility Functions are useful tools that provide simple, one-step
processes to your TeleTrack AZ-G.
Show Position: This function displays the coordinates (Right
Ascension and Declination) of the location where the telescope
mounted on the TeleTrack AZ-G is currently pointing.
Show Information: This function displays setup information
input by the user:
Time: Displays the current time and local sidereal time
(LST).
Version: Displays the Hand Controller Firmware, Database,
Hand Controller Hardware, and Motor Controller. (Motor
Controller version only displays if the controller is connected <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
to the mount). Use the scroll buttons to toggle through
the list.
Temperature: Displays the internal operating temperature
of the hand controller.
Power Voltage: Displays the input voltage to the hand controller.
This can be used to check the status of your power
supply.

I am asking that because the problems mentionned are related to the Merlin firmware versions !!!!


:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
berto36
Member
 
Posts: 14
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:31 am
Location: Pamplona - Spain
Info

by berto36 » Thu Mar 10, 2011 12:58 pm

I've got the same problem.
Today I've been doing photos for a panorama 12 col. x 12 row of a grafiti in a wall. At the begining I've recorded the reference position in the center of the grafiti. In each row the head shifts to the left and down. At the end, the head is completly out of place. I sent the head to the reference position and It was left and down from where it should be.

My equipment : Merlin Head with firmware version 020781; Papywizard 2.1.20; Nokia N800; Canon 400D; Canon 70-200mm f4 L USM.

Could be this problem caused by the inertia of motion, due to the weight of the camera and the lens? In my case: camera 510 grs.; lens 705 grs.; total: 1.215 grs.

gkaefer wrote:is this movement also seen in the resulting papywizard logfile, or are there the positions correct logged?
did you manually move the head by hand (this may damage the head, especially the nut can get looser so head begins to move...

Georg

The positions are correct logged.
I usually move the head by hand. Maybe I'm stupid for doing this. I didn't know that it is a bad habit.
Last edited by berto36 on Thu Mar 10, 2011 1:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Merlin/Orion panohead; Papywizard on Nokia N800 and Netbook Acer Aspire/Windows7-64bits + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT module; AutoPano Giga 2.5.0
Canon 400D + Canon 18-55mm EFS f/3.5-5.6 + Canon 28-80mm EF f/3.5-5.6 + Canon 80-200mm EF f/3.5-5.6 + Canon 70-200mm EF f4 L USM

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:36 pm

Hello Berto,
I usually move the head by hand. Maybe I'm stupid for doing this. I didn't know that it is a bad habit.

IT IS A VERY BAD HABIT !
The bolts of your horizontal axis should be slighly tightened till the moment that you will not be able to turn the head with your hand.
It is a friction part between the head pieces who is "damaged by turning the head with the hand"
With the time the axis become loose ...

Hello Stefan,
This is probabbly the same problem in your case with the new head .... quality control in China is still "unknown" !
The last firmware have "improved" indirectly this phenomen, the firmware is more "progressive" in the beginning of the move before going to full speed !
Old firmware is going directly to full speed causing a "big inertia" so you get incorrect positions depending on the direction of the move !
Conclusions:
- check the firmware.... upgrade if necessary !
- tighten the bolts ... but not too much (could be done for both axis) !
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
axelmayer
New member
 
Posts: 1
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 11:03 am
Info

by axelmayer » Thu Apr 07, 2011 12:37 pm

Hello,
i have the same Problem, my panohead is new and it was the first shot.
i check the firmware in evening

Axel
Gigapixel photography: Merlin + Papywizard on MacOS X MacBook Air 11" , Canon 50D + Canon EF-S 100-400mm

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

by mediavets » Thu Apr 07, 2011 5:29 pm

axelmayer wrote:Hello,
i have the same Problem, my panohead is new and it was the first shot.
i check the firmware in evening

Axel

Try this, it will increase shooting time but should solve the problem while you explore the other options:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p79030-2011-03-09-12-37-13#p79030
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests