+9V on RX/TX ??  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

+9V on RX/TX ??

by gloob » Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:13 pm

Hello. Today I started my Merlin and something strange happened. Now I can measure +9V betweet RX/TX and ground. Is this correct? Because my Arduino also could not communicate with the merlin. The SynScan AZ is working without any problems. Also Papywiz via SynScan AZ and rs232 is running.

no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

by gloob » Fri Mar 04, 2011 8:55 pm

Now I tried it with a external power supply and now I get +5V on the RX TX wire.

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:22 pm

???!!!???
Frédéric

no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

by gloob » Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:24 pm

Okay. The question is:

Is it normal that there is +9V between the RX/TX wire and the Ground when I plug in a cable into the HC port and power on the merlin.

no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

by gloob » Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:52 pm

Now it seams that there is 5V between the signal wire and the ground. Is this normal when using batteries?

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:51 am

The Merlin DATA line (on RJ12 connector) is TTL, so you should have 5V, not 9V. If you are watching the RS232 port of the GOTO controller, you may have 9V, as it is pure RS232. But you can't connect the RS232 line to the TTL lines of your arduino.
Frédéric

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:17 pm

Hello Gloob,

Could-you explain a little bit more what you want to achieve with the Merlin and the arduino ?
If we know more, we will be able to help you !

Anyway, as allready answered by Fréderic ...

This isn't not normal (not possible normally !!!) to get 9 V into the Merlin !

The only value you can get is :

- 12 volts from the batteries (more or less according type and charge,up to 15.4 volts = maximum tolerance !)
- 5 volts on the TTL transmissions lines.
- If you have a "Goto hand controler" (the one with a display), the RS232 line (RJ connector on the bottom) could show up a 9 to 12 volts ... BUT DON'T mix all that stuff you will kill the Merlin !!!

The arduino will accept TTL signals (5 volts) but NOT RS232 signals !
A last precaution... don't attach a external power supply without REMOVING THE BATTERIES !
The external power supply should be attached to the "IN" plug (NOT THE OUT!)
Never reverse the polarities !!!

Have fun !
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

by gloob » Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:15 pm

Do you know any possibility to check if the rx/tx connection is still okay in the merlin and I did not destroy it? Is it okay if I can connect to the merlin using the SynScan AZ and the merlin on a PC?
If it is okay I have to check my Arduino, I want to use to control the merlin instead of a PC.

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:34 pm

If the TTL line is OK, the hand-controler will work as usual ! ;)
This is not recommanded to connect at the same moment the hand controler on one RJ connector and a PC or other Arduino on the other one !
The instructions given by to way of several controlers (e.g. a PC and a hand controler) will be "inconsistant" for the Merlin head.

So, this the one OR another !!! :mad:
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:37 pm

If you want to control the Merlin via a Arduino, you can read the next explanations:
http://dynamicperception.com/?main_page=wordpress&page_id=334
In fact, a Arduino library for the Merlin allready exist ...
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

by gloob » Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:24 pm

claudevh wrote:If the TTL line is OK, the hand-controler will work as usual ! ;)
This is not recommanded to connect at the same moment the hand controler on one RJ connector and a PC or other Arduino on the other one !
The instructions given by to way of several controlers (e.g. a PC and a hand controler) will be "inconsistant" for the Merlin head.

So, this the one OR another !!! :mad:

Sorry that it was not clear what I did.

I have two options to connect the merlin to a device:

1: Merlin -> Handcontrol -> RS232-USB Converter -> PC

2: Merlin -> RX/TX and Ground -> Arduino RX/TX via 220Ohm resistor and ground to ground
Last edited by gloob on Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
claudevh
Moderator
 
Posts: 1349
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:12 pm
Location: Mont-Saint-André (Belgium)
Info

by claudevh » Sun Mar 06, 2011 6:31 pm

OK understand ....

But not the 2 connected in the same time ... OK ?
:cool: Claude :cool:
Merlin + Papywizard on Windows 7 & Nokia 770 § N810 & Acer (Netbook) + PanoramaApp Androïd + Deltawave PapyMerlin BT + Autopano
Spherical Pano (180 x 360) with Canon 40D + Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 Zoom & Pôle Pano with Canon 5D MK2 and shaved Tokina 10-17 3.5-4.5 AF DX Fisheye
Gigapixel photography with Nikon D200 + Sigma 70-200 F 2.8 EX DG APO HSM

no avatar
gloob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 31
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:19 am
Location: Germany
Info

by gloob » Sun Mar 06, 2011 7:02 pm

No no. Just one at one time.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron