Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Sat Sep 20, 2014 9:03 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:49 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 1:01 pm
Posts: 237
Location: Near Paris - France
When I process raw files with APG, there is no issue and my lens is recognized as standard, with the right parameters.

The point is that most of the time I convert the raw files into tif files using Nikon Capture NX2; then, my standard sigma lens is always (APP/APG, 2.5 or earlier releases) identified as a fisheye lens.

Is there a possibility, with the next release of APG, to have this minor issue corrected ?

Thanks

_________________
Nikon D5100 (formerly Nikon D60) - Sigma 10-20 - 24 shots Panoramas in 3 raws
Windows 32 bits - APG
website htt://jmh.trp.free.fr


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 1:55 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
That's complicated because the metadata that stores the information about the lens are lost during RAW -> TIFF conversion ( on quite all deraw software in fact ). In fact, the lens identification is stored as a makernote in exif metadata, and most of time makernote are cleaned when writing back.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:30 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Posts: 1285
Location: Connecticut, USA
Changing lens types is not too hard, but then you have to go in and set the optimization to be "strong" (or whatever) instead of fisheye. I'd like APG to change the optimization when I change the lens type. After all, APG can't stitch one pano that has images shot with both FE and rectilinear lenses.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:10 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7734
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
the problem is: you have to set non-exif parameters in the preferences - so you set the prefs and you have to close APG and start it again. Setting non-exif lensdata ONLY keeps remembered if you set "always force the following exis value".
That´s stupid - because after having imported 250 images and then you want to set a non-exif lens data you have to close the app and start it again . . and you lost all already imported images . . .

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Last edited by klausesser on Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 7:06 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 5:32 pm
Posts: 1285
Location: Connecticut, USA
I agree with Klaus. and will point out that I don't always use 12mm as the focal length for panos, sometimes I use 24mm on that lens (not always by mistake :) ) And I have other lenses than the 12-24mm and another camera body than the 5D. So the preset for the "force" values is nice, but only works for one pano at a time, so its a "preset" that you sometimes have to change for each pano.

Also, if APG gets the pano really wrong due to a bad link, it gets the focal length really wrong and doesn't want to reset it. There's no easy way to reset the focal length of all the images at once in the CP editor (leading to the "can't close the circle" problem I occasionally get).


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group