batch processing  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
baidarkabob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 13
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:53 pm
Info

batch processing

by baidarkabob » Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:46 pm

Hi,

I am looking for advice on how to fully utilise APP ability to automatically stitch several panos that are located in a single folder.

Typically I shoot a few hundred photos per day when I am working and the ratio is 70/30 as far as panos vs single frames. When I direct APP to the folder and ask it to stitch all the panos it does not do a very good job of auto-detecting what are panos and what are not. I have experimented with the settings a bit and made some improvements but not as much as I would like. What settings would you advise for automating panostitching from a folder of mixed pano and single frame shots?

Thank you.

b

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5987
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 10 posts
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France
Info

by AlexandreJ » Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:04 pm

I would play with the group creation parameters first : average number of picture in the panorama and timelapse delay.
This will change the way groups are isolated and helps to batch detect a folder a lot.

no avatar
tived
Member
 
Posts: 796
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Dane in Western Australia
Info

by tived » Thu Jan 13, 2011 6:44 am

I sort my pano's into separate folders, so I know what I have in each and that I have everything. I then check sub-folders/directories and it will work its magic through it.
obviously following Alexandre's suggestions and you can not go wrong!
Henrik

no avatar
baidarkabob
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 13
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:53 pm
Info

by baidarkabob » Wed Jan 19, 2011 12:16 pm

Thanks for the feedback.

I am trying to avoid separating the images into subfolders if I can.

I have played around with the detection settings and have been able to get better results by restricting my timelapse but I am still seeing the program try to create panos from single images or small groups of images that are clearly not panos. I have my detection quality set to high, layout free and all stacks for detection.

I would appreciate any more advice you can offer - for example, what is necessary to do to exclude single images from auto detection? Another - is there a way to exclude raw images from auto-detection?

Thanks,
b

User avatar
leedsjoe
Member
 
Posts: 187
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 7:33 pm
Location: West Drayton, UK
Info

by leedsjoe » Wed Jan 19, 2011 2:32 pm

I mention, because it might help here, that RC2 contains a new facility to split a group.

Way it works is to click to do a right-click on the first image of a second pano. There is a new action 'Split group here'.

The highlighted image and all the other images beyond it will be moved to a new group.

Of course, if the new group contains more than one pano, the process can be repeated.

Note: I work with Windows only but take it the action will be the same for other OS.

no avatar
tived
Member
 
Posts: 796
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jul 11, 2008 3:49 pm
Location: Dane in Western Australia
Info

by tived » Thu Jan 20, 2011 3:31 am

Thanks leedjoe,

i learnt something new today :-)

Henrik


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests