Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Wed Aug 27, 2014 4:20 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:37 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:39 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Hello,

I am using APT 1.1.0 beta 11 (Mac OS 10.6.4) Mac Pro Dual-Core Intel Xeon, 2.66 GHz with 5 GB RAM.

The app crashes constantly on me.

The tours I am creating could not be more simple - 1 panorama, no links or hotspots - yet constant crashing.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated. No other apps crash on me, so I do not think it is my computer

Help! THANKS
Sara

_________________
Mac Dual-Core Intel Xeon, 12 Gb RAM (OS 10.6.4) APT V1.1 beta 11 (Autopano Giga + Krpano license)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:42 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13829
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Is there any consistency about what you are doing when the program crashes?

Any particular set of interactions that will always provoke a crash?

How large is this single pano image? What format?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:47 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:39 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Hi Andrew,

No pattern thus far that I can see, but it does frequently crash when I try to quit out of it, if that makes any difference.

I've tried it on 2 separate images - The JPEGs are 55 to 75 Mb when compressed, 165 to 280 Mb when uncompressed, respectively

Thank you! Sara

_________________
Mac Dual-Core Intel Xeon, 12 Gb RAM (OS 10.6.4) APT V1.1 beta 11 (Autopano Giga + Krpano license)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:50 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:39 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
One more thing - (probably should start a new topic for it) , but I also notice that it keep trying to place my old LOGO, under that option. I think THAT makes it crash sometimes, because if I don't realize it and remove it (EVERY TIME!!) it says it can't "find it". I am trying to NOT have a logo, since they do not translate the way I want

_________________
Mac Dual-Core Intel Xeon, 12 Gb RAM (OS 10.6.4) APT V1.1 beta 11 (Autopano Giga + Krpano license)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 11:11 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13829
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Swoody wrote:
One more thing - (probably should start a new topic for it) , but I also notice that it keep trying to place my old LOGO, under that option. I think THAT makes it crash sometimes, because if I don't realize it and remove it (EVERY TIME!!) it says it can't "find it". I am trying to NOT have a logo, since they do not translate the way I want

That's a bit weird - Do you have beta 9 and beta 11 installed at the same time?

If not did you completely uninstall beta 9 before intsalling beta 11?

Where is the program 'picking up' this Logo setting from do you think? Have you indavertently set it as a default?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 11:14 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13829
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Swoody wrote:
Hi Andrew,

No pattern thus far that I can see, but it does frequently crash when I try to quit out of it, if that makes any difference.

I've tried it on 2 separate images - The JPEGs are 55 to 75 Mb when compressed, 165 to 280 Mb when uncompressed, respectively

Thank you! Sara

Those file sizes seem quite large to me for inputs for a Flash VR pano/tour. Is there a reason for you to use such large sizes of input file?

Are they partial panos or full 360x180 sphericals?

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 11:15 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13829
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Swoody wrote:
Hi Andrew,

No pattern thus far that I can see, but it does frequently crash when I try to quit out of it, if that makes any difference. Sara

I've noticed that a few times with APT V1.1 beta 11 - but not beta 9 - on Windows XP.

I'll see if I can determine what pattern of use precedes it.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:33 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:39 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Hi Andrew,

When installing new versions of APT betas, I always just REPLACE the old with the new. What is the best method for uninstalling - what files or preferences should I be looking for (to delete), since at least with the Mac version, there is no "uninstall" program?

Re: crashing and large JPEGS - These are full 360s. What is the optimal size for the files one should use as a starting point when creating tours?? I have always wondered this. Obviously my final flat pano files are always large, but I am OK sizing them down if the detail and resolution still look good!

Re: the omnipresent LOGO - I have tried everything here - starting with completely new files, hitting the "set as default" button over and over again (AFTER removing that damn logo). It keeps coming back. It also happened with APT V1.1 beta 9, FYI

Thanks again for your help! Sara

_________________
Mac Dual-Core Intel Xeon, 12 Gb RAM (OS 10.6.4) APT V1.1 beta 11 (Autopano Giga + Krpano license)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 3:53 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13829
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Swoody wrote:
Hi Andrew,

When installing new versions of APT betas, I always just REPLACE the old with the new. What is the best method for uninstalling - what files or preferences should I be looking for (to delete), since at least with the Mac version, there is no "uninstall" program?

Not a clue I'm afraid as I'm a Windows user.

_________________
Andrew Stephens
Nikon D40, Nikkor 10.5mm fisheye, Sigma 8mm f3.5 fisheye, Nikkor 18-55/50/35mm lenses, Nodal Ninja 5 Lite, Nodal Ninja 4 with R-D16, Agno's MrotatorTCS short.
Nikon P5100, CP5000, CP995, FC-E8, WC-E63,WC-E68, TC-E2, Kaidan Kiwi 995, Bophoto pano bracket, Agno's MrotatorA.
Merlin/Orion robotic pano head + Papywizard on Nokia 770/N800/N810 and Windows 8/XP/2K.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:33 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:39 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
I am going to start anew thread about optimal SIZE, since this is one of things I have always wondered about

_________________
Mac Dual-Core Intel Xeon, 12 Gb RAM (OS 10.6.4) APT V1.1 beta 11 (Autopano Giga + Krpano license)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 12:40 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Posts: 1856
Location: Sweden
Swoody wrote:
These are full 360s. What is the optimal size for the files one should use as a starting point when creating tours?

Equirectangular 3500px wide is good for a typical high resolution full-screen panorama viewer.
It all depends on how long you want to force your users to wait, how much bandwidth your server has, how much you want people to be able to zoom in, etc. but 3500px is my all-round favorite.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 8:39 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 1:57 pm
Posts: 341
For the logo, issue 260 is open.
You can manually remove APT preference to correct this.
Open the directory ~/Library/Preferences/ with finder and remove the file named com.kolor.AutoPanoTour.plist


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 2:56 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:39 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
Thanks DrSlony - I shall try that! Best, Sara

Thank you renan - I removed the pref, and will hopefully never see that logo again - thanks!! Interestedly, I noticed that there were 2 prefs in there (no wonder it was confused, poor thing)

com.kolor.AutoPanoTour.plist
com.kolor.AutoPano_Tour.plist

:-)

_________________
Mac Dual-Core Intel Xeon, 12 Gb RAM (OS 10.6.4) APT V1.1 beta 11 (Autopano Giga + Krpano license)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:25 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:39 pm
Posts: 36
Location: Charlotte, North Carolina
I have a crash report, if that is helpful. Hmm how come I can no longer upload attachments? yaaaargh. In this particular case, all I did was click on the pano and then hit the "remove" button

_________________
Mac Dual-Core Intel Xeon, 12 Gb RAM (OS 10.6.4) APT V1.1 beta 11 (Autopano Giga + Krpano license)


Last edited by Swoody on Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:36 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2010 11:31 am
Posts: 5
uninstall 9 (use AppCleaner)
and install 11


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group