Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 1:19 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 8:50 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
I try to promote again this thread because it is really important to improve detectivity and quality of CP in the software.
We are going soon to work on that part and the more case we have, the best the quality at the end will be.

So, let me explain again what we need :
- image pairs
- no relation found even with high detection quality in control point editor ( or really hard to get something ).

Those images should still overlaps, but can have few details, or one image can be a little blurred, etc.
We need the images in full size without any rescaling, with full exif.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:26 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Posts: 778
Location: Bonn, Germany
what about larger image sets, where everything is scrambled up ?

the iron structure of the brigde is so badly detected:
http://www.autopano.net/forum/p35116-2008-12-22-19-58-28#p35116

_________________
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 9:39 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
That's out of topic for this case. We just want image pairs that are hard to stitch together.
I'm treating currently your case in the gigapan importer which is not related to that topic demand.
Now : the gigapan importer would benefit from your case too, if you can provide images to us using the ftp.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 11:14 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 9:35 pm
Posts: 42
Hi , if you like I can shoot a series from our place where we live. This is at higher altitude and very often we are surrounded by low clouds, that means clouds between trees in the surrounding valley in a great panorama. I had quite often some trouble to stitch it when the clouds where all sort of the same density. Regards: Jaap

_________________
Jacob.

Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you did not do as by the things you did do.
So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. - Mark Twain


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 10:07 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
Sure don't hesitate to share any kind of such case.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2009 3:26 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 5:45 am
Posts: 19
I am having repeated issues stitching images that were created with DoF stacking software like Helicon Focus, this probably relates to the transformations applied to the images to scale them to the same actual focal lenght during the process of DoF stacking, are you interested in such specific cases too?

Cheers,
Bernard


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2009 5:15 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7812
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
bernardlanguillier wrote:
I am having repeated issues stitching images that were created with DoF stacking software like Helicon Focus, this probably relates to the transformations applied to the images to scale them to the same actual focal lenght during the process of DoF stacking, are you interested in such specific cases too?

Cheers,
Bernard

Hi Bernard!

I do this very often - never had a problem to stitch such pictures.

Alex: "We need the images in full size without any rescaling, with full exif."

What if there are no exifs at all? How much depends APG on them?

best, Klaus

_________________
Simplicity is the keynote of all true elegance. Coco Chanel


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:43 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 9:44 am
Posts: 47
Location: Isfahan- Iran
If there's not a good detection due to bad overlap of pairs, I think the 3 following SHOULDs should done:
1.autopano should explore this cases of individual images
2.autopano user should persists that autopano stitch all of the individual images of one panorama project(even with bad overlap of pairs)
3.autopano should virtually change our camera location , and so it will move our pairs to the another view for the best overlap supplied(It will be an advanced property)

I'm not a software engineer and so I don't know these plans will be applicable.I only told my thoughts.

Mohammad


Last edited by mohammad233b on Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 6:42 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:05 pm
Posts: 56
How about image-pairs where APP finds CP's in featureless sky, and misses what would seem to be obvious matching CP's in non-sky?

I had a thread related to that recently (month or so ago). I think I uploaded .jpg's.

The suspicion was sensor noise might be involved, but I have my doubts that was the cause.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 18, 2010 6:45 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:05 pm
Posts: 56
Seems like APP has problems with a single row when the camera on the panohead is tilted quite a bit back. An example would be the top of a nearby tall building. With a moderate to ultra wide angle lens, there is a lot of key-stoning that APP has to figure out.

Would that be an example you would be interested in?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed May 19, 2010 8:36 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
yes !


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 27, 2010 11:41 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2010 6:05 pm
Posts: 56
I've got a set of images that behave oddly. It's no an image-pair, but might be a good test case.

* First attempt. Had trouble with light pole sticking up into sky, and overexposed image. Also found CP's in featureless sky. f8 with reasonably clean sensor, so probably not sensor dust. Tried to supply "hint box", which didn't help. At least it didn't crash, which often happens with the "hint box".

* Redid images in ACR to darken all images making up pano, and it did much better. Light pole ok.

* Out of curiouslity, changed project setting to "High Detection Quality" and ~70 CP's per image pair. Poor stitch ... worse than first, but reported 1.89 RMS.

I've got the 2.0.7 trial, so I can't save projects.

HTH


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 6:36 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 5:30 pm
Posts: 18
Location: Berlin, Germany
I have a pano that no pano program I tested so far was able to stitch without massive errors.
A room with a white ceiling with white stucco on it, a dark brown parquet floor
and white walls with large areas with very little contrast.

Those programs failed: Panorama Factory 5.3, Microsoft ICE, Autopano Pro 2.06.
45 images (3 rows x 15 pictures)

Is this interesting?

-Frank


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:44 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
Yes, share the panoramas through our ftp : http://www.autopano.net/forum/t766-ftp-server


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 5:42 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 12:40 pm
Posts: 27
I will upload to you some.

_________________
Sleep Design, Eat Design, Play design, Work Design, Live Design.

Visit my page
http://hohadesign.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:46 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:22 pm
Posts: 188
Location: Norway
I notice controlpoints are being detected very well now. Only places with trees and clouds moving in wind and clouds changing due to thermals cause me grief now.
This kind of change is really not in the scope of APx currently?
When features physically change there is no way to stitch.

Maby what is needed is a manual mode where approximate overlap can be specified and the sw then tries using global lense correct value and find minimum rms placement by trial and error?
I could uppload some of my changing clouds if needed but I am sure they are plentifull.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group