external power supply for Canon EOS400D or 50D  

In the panorama field, hardware is also part of the success. You can discuss here about it: camera, computer, pano head, anything
User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

external power supply for Canon EOS400D or 50D

by gkaefer » Wed Jul 15, 2009 2:25 pm

Hi all,

is any product available I can use with Canon EOS 400D or 50D body to plugin an external Powersupply, such as:
http://www.solariflex.com/20-batterie-externe-universelle-50w-mp3450.html
(withou using grip extensions holding 2 Canon accus or 6 AA cells...)
I found this product above in merlin/pw thread as source for the Merlin pano head.

background: standard canon 750ma accu is accurate if using 18-55mm lens. but If I use sigma 120-400 APG DS OS lens I can take 60 raw images (if OS is activated... ok in practice for panos senseless...).

So if I plan to use a bigger pano using HDR I finally can take max. 60/3 = 20 images before changing battery ;-).
in case of 360 pano I have to change battery 5-6 times per row ;-)

something like a mobile diesel would be perfect ;-))

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg

no avatar
120to120
Member
 
Posts: 144
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:32 pm
Info

by 120to120 » Thu Jul 23, 2009 8:38 pm

(*Merlin/Orion_BT - teleskop-austria.*); FTDI USB-TTL cable; Macbook (Intel) OS X10.5.6 / ext. Bluetooth Dongle_VIVANCO_B1002270209 / PW 2.1.20; Go-To / TA *Nokia N810 / PW 2.1.20 * Sony F717 / Sony R1 ; JJC SR-828; 15m Mast;

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:02 pm


Hallo Josef,

danke für den Link - schaut toll aus. Fürs Notebook etc. bestimmt wunderbar. Problem bei meiner Canon ist aber, das dort kein externer Stromanschluss existiert, nur ein Batteriefach, wo ich bestenfalls einen Batteriegriff an/einstecken kann, der zwei accus enthà¤lt. Also statt 1x 750mA 2x 1200mA.

Josef, thanks for link. for pc etc perfect usable i think. Problem of my canon is it has no external powerplug. Only one battery box were I plug in a batteri grip holding 2 accus. so instead of 1x750mA 2x 1200 mA...


Liebe Gruesse,
Georg

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Thu Jul 23, 2009 9:06 pm

may be you can do it on your cam like this solution for an Olympus
http://www.pinetreecomputing.com/camctl_eseries_power.asp
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
lararefaeli
New member
 
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:09 pm
Info

by lararefaeli » Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:52 pm

Hi.....
This is Lara from America,Recently I purchased an Canon camera and "Canon Digital IXUS 500 Battery,Canon Notejet II Auto/Air Adapter".But the only battery is not sufficient for me.I want other batterys for backup,so I can use my camera when I am outstation.Anybody have suggestion then please post it here.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:38 pm

lararefaeli wrote:Hi.....
This is Lara from America,Recently I purchased an Canon camera and "Canon Digital IXUS 500 Battery,Canon Notejet II Auto/Air Adapter".But the only battery is not sufficient for me.I want other batterys for backup,so I can use my camera when I am outstation.Anybody have suggestion then please post it here.

hmm Lara...

what about this solution:

take the AC/DC Adaptor for the Ixus 500, like this one:
Canon ACK-500
http://www.fotoandmore.de/cgi/websale6.cgi?Ctx=%7bver%2f6%2fver%7d%7bst%2f3eb%2fst%7d%7bcmd%2f0%2fcmd%7d%7bm%2fwebsale%2fm%7d%7bs%2fphoto%2dand%2dmore%2fs%7d%7bl%2fdeutsch%2fl%7d%7bmi%2f46%2d1550%2fmi%7d%7bpi%2f126681%2fpi%7d%7bpo%2f1%2fpo%7d%7bfc%2fx%2ffc%7d%7bsid%2f7e93bb8d7d37c8bdde1e19dcf5cc7b53%2fsid%7d%7bmd5%2f9c46143b15f8a3cbaeee50312e92cb3b%2fmd5%7d

indoor you've allways power from wired cable...

and outdoor combine it with following:

http://www.mymobilepower.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=6&products_id=7&zenid=6232e5399c82c6f274ab2645d7bab541

I use it with my Merlin panohead and also my notebook. It comes with lots of adapter so Canon AC/DC Adaptor should be no problem to plugin.

its not the cheapest combination ;-)
lg
Georg
Last edited by gkaefer on Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Wed Sep 02, 2009 10:43 pm

... and exactly such an AC/DC adapter I would search for my Canon EOS400D. the 400D itself does have a little gap at battery closing so AC/DC cable from batteryadaptor comes out of camera. also batterygrips does have this, so the AC/DC Adaptor should exist...

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg

User avatar
Castillonis
Member
 
Posts: 264
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Oakland, Ca
Info

by Castillonis » Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:34 am

The Canon ACK-E2 Power Adapter Kit fits the 30D, 40D, 50D, and 5D camera body battery compartments. It sells for 54.95 USD which is 30.50 on September 2nd 2009.

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-ACK-E2-Adapter-Digital-Cameras/dp/B000ELQT82/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1251951951&sr=8-1
Last edited by Castillonis on Thu Sep 03, 2009 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:13 am

Castillonis wrote:The Canon ACK-E2 Power Adapter Kit fits the 30D, 40D, 50D, and 5D camera body battery compartments. It sells for 54.95 USD which is 30.50 on September 2nd 2009.

http://www.amazon.com/Canon-ACK-E2-Adapter-Digital-Cameras/dp/B000ELQT82/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1251951951&sr=8-1

and is the accu for the 30D,40D,50D and 5D also usable for the 400D?

many thanks
Liebe Gruesse,
Georg
Last edited by gkaefer on Thu Sep 03, 2009 8:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Castillonis
Member
 
Posts: 264
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:49 pm
Location: Oakland, Ca
Info

by Castillonis » Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:55 am

Apologies. It is the Canon ACK DC20 for the Canon XT and XTi as well as the G7 and G9. It sells for $53.24 USD or 37.30 Euros. I confirmed this on dpreview.com and an old Canon page.
http://www.amazon.com/Canon-ACK-DC20-Adapter-PowerShot-Digital/dp/B000B64AVS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1251967945&sr=8-1

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 3549
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 15 posts
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg
Info

by gkaefer » Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:14 am

Castillonis wrote:Apologies. It is the Canon ACK DC20 for the Canon XT and XTi as well as the G7 and G9. It sells for $53.24 USD or 37.30 Euros. I confirmed this on dpreview.com and an old Canon page.
http://www.amazon.com/Canon-ACK-DC20-Adapter-PowerShot-Digital/dp/B000B64AVS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1251967945&sr=8-1

Perfect! Thanks for this info. Exact what I searched...
... amazon.com states it cant deliver product to my delivery address...
.. but with product name it should be very easy to find other sources!

Many thanks again!

Liebe Gruesse,
Georg
Last edited by gkaefer on Thu Sep 03, 2009 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron