[Merlin/Orion] Head problems  

Everything you need to motorize your head
no avatar
teleskop-austria
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Vienna
Info

[Merlin/Orion] Head problems

by teleskop-austria » Sat Nov 29, 2008 5:22 pm

hello Paul,

> I just bought a Merlin from you, but when I switch it on the "Guide"
> button LED goes on, "Set"- and "Go"-button starts blinking.
> The Merlin does nothing.


looks like the astronomical mode is activated, all speeds are reduced and earth motion is compensated.
By pressing "Guide" and "slow" simultaneous you should return to normal mode.

hello Klaus,

> can your cable-connector PC serial RS223-->>Merlin provide 9V for an
> Aircable Bluetooth stick? Or what could be done about that?


We already have a working bluetooth prototype, working with our Ursa Minor Software. The connection will also work with Autopano, it is transparent. That means whatever communication is possible through serial port, will also work with bluetooth/USB. You plug it into the Merlin instead of the handbox, and control it wireless from the laptop. Should be available around Xmas, price around 75.-€

hello Claude,

bigwade gave us a private lesson to introduce us to the topic, using the links to this picture, and more. Thank you!

greetz Tommy
Last edited by teleskop-austria on Sat Nov 29, 2008 5:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Sat Nov 29, 2008 10:21 pm

teleskop-austria wrote:hello Paul,

> I just bought a Merlin from you, but when I switch it on the "Guide"
> button LED goes on, "Set"- and "Go"-button starts blinking.
> The Merlin does nothing.

looks like the astronomical mode is activated, all speeds are reduced and earth motion is compensated.
By pressing "Guide" and "slow" simultaneous you should return to normal mode.

I tried that, but Merlin behaves as before:
Some seconds after PowerOn "Guide" is red, "Set" and "Go" start blinking simultaneously :(:(
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
teleskop-austria
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Vienna
Info

by teleskop-austria » Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:36 pm

hallo Paul,

hm, sometimes the behaviour of computerized mounts (in general) is erraneous if the voltage supply is somewhat different as the mount expects, so to say. Please make sure that you use a stabilized 12V power supply.

Funny to talk to Bonn in English... We will solve the problem.

schà¶ne Grüsse, Tommy

User avatar
fma38
Moderator
 
Posts: 5850
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 6:21 pm
Location: Grenoble, France
Info

by fma38 » Sat Nov 29, 2008 11:50 pm

This is clearly a communication problem between the head and the controller. To check what is happening, do the following steps:

1) connect your RS2S2-TTL interface to the Merlin and the original remote controller
2) launch hyperterminal on the PC (either via serial link, or using a BT converter)
3) configure a new connexion with params 9600-8N1. Then open the "File > Properties" dialog. In the "Parameters" tab, click on the "ASCII Configuration" button, and activate the first switch of the "ASCII Receive" part ("Add end of line at each new input line", or something like that)
4) launch the connexion
5) switch on the Merlin head

You should see the communication:

Code: Select all
:F1
=
:F2
=
:a1
=D3620E
:D1
=F90600
:a2
=D3620E
:D2
=F90600
:D2
=F90600

Tell us what you see.
Frédéric

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:23 am

As I am waiting for a RS232-TTL-Converter I can't do that programmatic check.

My Multimeter tells me 12.49V for the batteries, respective 12.89V on a second set of fresh batteries.

bigwade mailed me that he had similiar problems and pressing some buttons they disappeared.
I tried that, but nothing changed.

GUIDE stays on and SET and GO are still blinking ...
Last edited by Paul on Sun Nov 30, 2008 11:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
teleskop-austria
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Vienna
Info

by teleskop-austria » Sun Nov 30, 2008 1:18 pm

hello Paul,

If this happens if you just plug in the handcontroller first, then power on -
then don't waste too much time on it. If it does not work like expected we are ready to send you a replacement unit tomorrow. Just email me to confirm.

schà¶ne Grüsse, Tommy

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Sun Nov 30, 2008 2:08 pm

teleskop-austria wrote:hello Paul,

If this happens if you just plug in the handcontroller first, then power on -
then don't waste too much time on it. If it does not work like expected we are ready to send you a replacement unit tomorrow. Just email me to confirm.

schà¶ne Grüsse, Tommy

Hallo Tommy,

unabhà¤ngig von der Reihenfolge - leider bleibt es immer gleich.

No matter which sequence - same effect.

My confirm email to info@ ? or ...

Thank you very much for help.
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
teleskop-austria
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2008 5:52 pm
Location: Vienna
Info

by teleskop-austria » Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:18 pm

hello Paul,

please use that one, teleskopaustria(a.t)gmail.com
then I will see it automatically on my desktop tomorrow.
Ah, please include your adress...

lg Tommy
Last edited by teleskop-austria on Mon Dec 01, 2008 8:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Paul
Member
 
Posts: 778
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Bonn, Germany
Info

by Paul » Sun Nov 30, 2008 3:36 pm

thx,
mail is on the way

better you edit your posting and delete your mailaddy to avoid spamming ...
Paul

close, but no cigar ... ... ...

no avatar
Huichowasjir
New member
 
Posts: 3
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2011 5:56 am
Location: Mexico City
Info

by Huichowasjir » Mon Nov 14, 2011 6:10 am

Paul wrote:bigwade mailed me that he had similiar problems and pressing some buttons they disappeared.
I tried that, but nothing changed ...

Hi Paul,

Im having the same problem. Do you remember which buttons?

Thanks.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests