Stitching timelpase with template  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:15 am

Hi,
i am trying to stitch a timelapse shot with insta360 pro.

For that i created a template which now sits in my template folder. When i try to apply it, it gives me strange results.
The pictures are obvioulsy always oriented the same, as they come from the very same camera.

Can someone help me?
Cheers,
Jan

Attached: template file, pictureset i want to apply the template to
OS: Win10/64 - APG 4.4
Attachments
pics.zip
pictures to apply the template to
(15.54 MiB) Downloaded 116 times
171215-Insta-8k-Foto-2.pano
The template
(645.4 KiB) Downloaded 256 times
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by olivierbo » Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:50 am

Hello,

I'm not sure I understood your problem correctly. What's wrong with your pano exactly? Can you precise please?

Best regards,
Olivier

User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:28 am

Hi Olivier,
thanks for the quick reply!

Problem:
- I load 700 folder with sets of 6 images into APG
- In preferences i said everything should be stitched with my template
- Stitches are then not done with template but some weird other settings.

I will create screenshots and post them in 10 minutes.
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by olivierbo » Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:32 am

Hello,

OK. So, do you mean that some of your panos contains more than 6 images or it does not apply your template to all your panos?

Cheers,
Olivier

User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:34 am

Here are screenshots, i hope they help to see the problem
The template
template-01.JPG

template-02.JPG

template-03.JPG

Template applied
timelapse-set-01.JPG

timelapse-set-template-applied.JPG

template-applied-02.JPG
Last edited by janto365 on Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:42 am, edited 2 times in total.
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de

User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:36 am

Actually the template uses 6 pictures and all the folders i want to stitch also have 6 pictures of the same kind...
I tried several times, but it seems, that the template settings are not really applied.
- Any idea?
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by olivierbo » Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:43 pm

Hello,

This is because template file does not contains any EXIF data. Go to Preferences, Image tab and select "Use the following value is no EXIF data is found", enter "10.57mm" and "Fisheye".
Click OK, quit Autopano then restart it.

Let me know.

Cheers,
Olivier

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by olivierbo » Fri Dec 22, 2017 1:56 pm

One more thing ;)
If you have many many different panoramas copied to many many different folders, you can use the Browse folder menu to save time.
Just go to Preferences, Detection tab and select your template into "Layout" field. Quit Autopano and restart it.
Select "Browse folder", select the folder containing your panoramas, enter 6 to the field "Average number of images" and 0 (zero) to "Maximum time lapse (sec.)"
Click OK
Attachments
BrowseFolder.png

User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 2:50 pm

This looks better! At least it stitches now:
All output files are looking diferent though. - Isn't there a way to tell the stitcher to stop thinking about CP?
What i need in the end is like really pixelperfect the same output each time.

differnece-between-groups.JPG


(For explanation: I am trying to blend a timelapse into a video and then into a photo.
Here is a test: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hg-lHjGosiM at around second 9 its belnding into video. But its not perfect and it needs to be...)
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by olivierbo » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:12 pm

Hello,

I'm not sure Autopano is the ideal tool in that specific case. You should better use a third-party software like Premiere Pro to straighten the horizon between both projects. Or if you own Autopano Video, there's a tip you can use as well.

Best,
Olivier

User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:25 pm

... mince. Thanks anyway for your help so far!

Yes doing it in Premiere is plan B. But at first i'd like to check out my stitching options, because i hope getting better results. - So what would be the tip i could try in Autopano Video? (Sorry for bothering you with this special case!)
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by olivierbo » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:30 pm

I will let my colleague explain that trick as he used it many times ;)

janto365 likes this post.

User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:38 pm

BTW: Didnt see your hint with the import of folders earlier. My problem is that instaPro output for timelapse is all pics in one folder - all at the same timestamp... So APG wasnt able to detect panos. I tried that, but it failed.
A friend wrote me a python script to sort these pics into folders. I really got far, but now stuck with stitiching.
Can't wait for your colleagues hints!
Merci beaucoup et bonnes fêtes!
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by olivierbo » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:44 pm

Using Browse folder with a number of pictures value will let Autopano make panoramas without the need of creating any folder. You can put all the pictures into the same folder then, set the number of pictures per pano and click OK to detect the right amount of panos ;)

Cheers,
Olivier

User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:51 pm

... I tried that, but it didnt work. APG did put all the pics in one huge pano, even though i set input number to use 6 min/max.
However, if it isnt able to stitch them all the same it doesnt make sense anyway.
Is the idea in using AVP about converting image-files to video-files and then stitch them in AVP...? Hm....
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by olivierbo » Fri Dec 22, 2017 3:53 pm

That's a bit strange as it forces Autopano to create panoramas with the values entered... I don't understand.

User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:03 pm

I just tried again to prove you i am right, but now it worked. So iwas wrong! Maybe last time i used files without proper exif data...?
So this works. Still cant stitch them all the same (like really the same).
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by olivierbo » Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:07 pm

AAAAAAAAH! :cool:
My colleague who is our video maker will answer you.

Cheers,
Olivier

User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:30 pm

Just to let you and your colleague know, what i am trying to stitch exactly:
different-crop.JPG

This is 6 stills from video and 6 normal photos.
The sensor is used not the same way when shooting videos or photos. The crop is different. So...
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de

User avatar
VAll0U
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 13
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 11:36 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by VAll0U » Fri Dec 22, 2017 4:39 pm

Hi Jan,

If I understand correctly, you make a timelapse photo and a video without moving the camera, all is normally at the exact same position ? I supposed that stitching all the pictures one by one can create different results depending of different stitch computing.
I think we can do that in an alternative way, I'm not 100% sure that it can work, I never try the Insta360 Pro, if you have Adobe Premiere Pro or an equivalent, make images sequences for each camera, export in ProRes or Cineform with the exact same settings to keep the quality, and from this point you only have 6 timelapse videos file that you can stitch easily in Autopano Video. You can also duplicate the .kava from this stitched timelapse, put it in the video footage folder, open the kava and relink the file with the video shot, and normally you will have the exact same position (I'm not 100% sure about that).
If the 360 video timelapse and the normal 360 video are not at the exact same position, align the two visualy in Premiere with the Horizon plugin.

I hope that I well understand your project and that it can help you to realise that.

Valérian.

User avatar
janto365
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 14
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:54 am
Location: Berlin
Info

Re: Stitching timelpase with template

by janto365 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:13 pm

Valérian, thanks for that!
- This is definately a way i will try. I hope this works with different cropped images. (See screenshot above)
I also maybe want to use the LRtimelapse tool (https://lrtimelapse.com/) for nice transitions between timelapse frames. I am not sure how this will work, when i first render videos through LRtimelapse and then stitch in Autopano Video. This could possibly give very new problems. I simply will have to try. Live is not easy!

Thank you for your tip and have a nice christmas!
Jan Totzek - Panographer.de
http://www.panographer.de


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest