Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Video!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
sbgrams
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 9
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:56 pm
Info

Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by sbgrams » Tue Dec 27, 2016 4:25 pm

I have the new GoPro Omni rig, all-inclusive package which includes Autopano Video Pro 2 and the Omni Importer software. I'm running that software on a 1 year old Mac Mini, with 8 GB RAM and runs the latest OS 10.12 (Sierra).

My problem is when I import the 6 video files into Autopano Video Pro 2 the software runs extremely slow. Then when I finally get to the step in the process when I can render it takes at least an hour to do one minute of VR video. When I tried to render a 3 minute video the system was "rendering" for about 3 hours but when done the video froze after 10 seconds but I could still hear the sound for the remaining time.

Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Is the software supposed to run so slowly during the editing and rendering process? For example, 1 second of watching the video in the preview window takes at least 10 seconds in real time, like watching in extreme slow motion. Even clicking to another part of the timeline requires 10-15 seconds for the preview window to catch up.

User avatar
actionTurtle
Member
 
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2015 10:10 pm
Location: Los Angeles
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by actionTurtle » Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:17 pm

Yea my stuff renders in real time pretty much... But I have a good graphics card... If you look you will see that Kolor takes great advantage of OpenGL... So you need a graphics card that supports GL... I use a 4GB Nivida 780

I also never really try to watch video in the app... You would need really good drive speed to get the 6 streams to play in real time
The Best Effects Should Never Be Seen...

no avatar
sbgrams
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 9
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:56 pm
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by sbgrams » Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:37 pm

Thanks action turtle. Any idea why the rendering is messed up? Does the graphics card affect that too?

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by olivierbo » Thu Dec 29, 2016 1:18 pm

Hello,

What do you mean exactly by messed up? Please give us more details, screenshots.
Also, what was your resolution/framerate used?
Modes we highly recommend:
- 1440p @ 60-50fps
- 2.7K @ 30-25fps and 960p @120 fps

Settings you can also manage to get professional results:
- WB: native/3000/5500/6500
- Colors: flat/GoPro
- ISO limit: 400 to 6400
- Sharpness: low/medium/high
- EV compensation: -2 EV to +2 EV

Cheers,
Olivier

no avatar
sbgrams
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 9
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:56 pm
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by sbgrams » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:38 pm

Oliver, I'm just getting started with the software so I used all the recommended settings on the Omni rig that Kolor recommends. 1440p @60. Native, Flat, ISO 800, ect.

I think my problem is that my computer isn't powerful enough to run the Kolor software, but I'm trying to confirm that's true. If I do need a new computer I need to know the exact specs to order so I can get an idea of cost.

Thank you. -Scott

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by olivierbo » Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:37 am

Hi Scott,

I cannot give you exact specs but recommendations:
Intel Core i7
16Gb RAM mini
Dedicated and recent GPU (NVidia/AMD) with 4Gb VRAM
SSD
We do not have recent benchmarks unfortunately.
Would you share or send me your video footage so that I can make a little benchmark on my iMac (late 2012 - i7 3.1Ghz-16Gb RAM-HDD NVidia GeForce GT650M 512Gb) and MBPro (mid 15" 2015 - i7 2.8Ghz-16GB RAM-SSD-AMD Radeon R9 M370X 2GB)?

Cheers,
Olivier

no avatar
sbgrams
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 9
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:56 pm
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by sbgrams » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:32 pm

so I have 2.6 GHz intel core i5; 16 GB ram; Intel Iris 1536MB graphics card. Seems like the graphics card and processor are insufficient. Darn.

Here is a link to the video I tried to make https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/34714145/Ruins.mp4

no avatar
sbgrams
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 9
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 2:56 pm
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by sbgrams » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:37 pm

Another question- can I use the gopro omni rig and Kolor software to create spherical photographs that will be approved to post in Google maps? Similar to the spherical images you can see in google maps of local neighborhoods?

no avatar
bergerdennis
Member
 
Posts: 27
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:56 pm
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by bergerdennis » Wed Jan 18, 2017 8:58 pm

Hi, autopano is made for video. But you could export a still out of your video. then you have a 360 photo. I dont know about google maps.

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 134 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by olivierbo » Thu Jan 19, 2017 9:55 am

Hello,

Omni RIG (and Omni Importer in AVP) support still images with the latest Omni firmware (v4.02.26.02.01) and the latest version of AVP 2.6 curently available as a Release Candidate 1 you can download.

Cheers,
Olivier

no avatar
bergerdennis
Member
 
Posts: 27
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2017 7:56 pm
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by bergerdennis » Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:01 pm

Maybe this the wrong topic : yesterday i tried to export cineform into 4444xq and 4444.

The only 8k Exports that work are 422 and 422hq.

I have a Mac. Is this a specific mac bug?

I found a Video online which demonstrates this bug: the export Leads to files in size of 600kilobytes...

Can You help?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQG4ohNwyzM

User avatar
Emeric
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 156
Likes: 3 posts
Liked in: 14 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:45 am
Info

Re: Problems Using/Rendering VR Videos from GoPro Omni

by Emeric » Fri Jan 20, 2017 3:49 pm

Hi bergerdennis,
This is indeed a known bug that has been fixed with the latest Autopano Video 2.6 RC1.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron