Green Stains after rendering   [SOLVED] - View the solution

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Pro / Giga problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
MartinP
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:26 pm
Info

Green Stains after rendering  [SOLVED]

by MartinP » Sat Jan 24, 2015 9:57 pm

Hello,

In some panos I have some green stains after I rendered them with autopano giga 3.7. I'm wondering why they appear. At first, here is a picture:

greenstains.jpg


This pano includes 12 pictures, each view has three different exposed pictures for HDR.

Here are my render-settings:

6Rendern.png


The only thing I thought about is that the chromatic aberrations from the lens are not completely corrected and autopano increases their appearence, but in this case there should be more stains I think. Has anyone an idea how to prevent this stains so that they don't appears after render. Currently I must remove them with the brush-tool in photoshop.


Greetings

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by mediavets » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:02 pm

Did you shoot with auto white balance?

no avatar
MartinP
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:26 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by MartinP » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:06 pm

Yes but they also appear when I change the white balance of the raw-files in photoshop.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by mediavets » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:10 pm

What else was set to auto?

no avatar
MartinP
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:26 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by MartinP » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:15 pm

I used auto exposure time and auto aperture. But the seperate pictures doesn't have this stains, they appear only after the render with autopano.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by mediavets » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:18 pm

Also auto ISO?

What camera and lens were you using and at what focal length.

Did you use a pano head and a tripod?

What were the exposure bracketing settings?

no avatar
MartinP
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:26 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by MartinP » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:26 pm

It seems that I haven't given enough information. Sorry for that.

I use a Canon EOS 700D with a Canon EF 8-15mm 1:4 L Fisheye lens and additional a tripod with a pano head. The iso is set to 100 and the focal length was 8mm. Further more the exposure bracketings settings were -2/0/2.

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7886
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 228 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by Destiny » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:27 pm

Hi... Are you able to share those RAW files..

Destiny...

no avatar
MartinP
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:26 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by MartinP » Sat Jan 24, 2015 10:43 pm

Not from this scene, but there is another example, on the traffic sign are red stains:

stains.png


You two will get the link for raw images via pn.

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7886
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 228 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by Destiny » Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:01 pm

Your problem is WB.. You need to check what you have it set to.. The RAW should have that data.. RAW should also be able to fix it to a high degree but never as perfect as getting the WB right from the start.. Types of cameras react differently...

Destiny..

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7886
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 228 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by Destiny » Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:09 pm

Are you doing your fusion in APG.. If so, did you set Auto Colour correction..

Destiny..

no avatar
MartinP
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:26 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by MartinP » Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:28 pm

Ok in a guide book stands it's the same when you set the wb during the captioning or after it in e.g. ps. I will do the wb setting during the caption in the future. But this can't be the solution for my problem or am I wrong?

Yes I fusion them in APG. The color correction mode is on "HDR" like the "workflow case E" says in kolor's wiki. I tone-map the panos in Photoshop.

PS: sorry for uploading the raw-data on google drive :D

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7886
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 228 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by Destiny » Sat Jan 24, 2015 11:53 pm

Hi.. I did not get the issue you have.. I need to go out now.. I will look into it more later...

Destiny..
Attachments
fused.jpg

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7886
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 228 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by Destiny » Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:56 am

Hi... I really cannot reproduce the green ting effect you are experiencing.. The colour correction in APG V4 works amazingly well.. I just set your RAW to daylight and removed chromatic aberration..

Destiny...
Attachments
2.jpg
1.jpg

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by mediavets » Sun Jan 25, 2015 9:04 am

Destiny
Did you put the RAW images into APG or process them with third party software before input to APG?

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7886
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 228 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by Destiny » Sun Jan 25, 2015 9:49 am

I set the images to daylight and used the setting chromatic aberration, which is what I always do with RAW... Just incase. Then exported as JPG, or TFF..

I then put the images into APG and you can see the results.. RAW can cause issues.. Fine until the HDR is ticked in edit..
After that it goes yuck... I would rather deal with JPGs or TIFFs in APG.. After editing them in RAW....

But.. despite the fact the HDR is horrible in APG, I still do not see the green ting...

Destiny...
Attachments
a.jpg
b.jpg
c.jpg

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by klausesser » Sun Jan 25, 2015 2:44 pm

MartinP wrote:Hello,
In some panos I have some green stains after I rendered them with autopano giga 3.7. I'm wondering why they appear. At first, here is a picture:



Hey Martin!

Deactivate the use of "Gamma" in the "ColorCorrection". Ideally use only "Exposure".

Klaus

no avatar
MartinP
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:26 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by MartinP » Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:21 pm

Hello,

I'm really confused right now. I tried to play around with the settings in apg and I saw that destiny used in the colour- and brightness transitions the value -8. I tried it, too but the render was horrible.

mb-8.jpg


Here with -2. You can see that with this setting you can see these stains and I can't find any value that removes it nicely.

mb-2.jpg


When I'm in the color anchor mode there are no stains:

auto.jpg



Gamma is off and so is color correction, too. I always set the wb, the sharpness and remove chromatic aberration in the raw-files. I save them as jpg and put them into apg.

One additional question: Why do you (destiny) set you the color anchor "auto" and not "hdr"? Is the hdr setting when you want to tone map the pano in apg? Is it better to set it to auto to tone map it in ps?

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by klausesser » Sun Jan 25, 2015 5:00 pm

MartinP wrote:Gamma is off and so is color correction, too.


Better activate color correction! It´s very valuable to have it on.

HDR in APG isn´t preferable. For tonemapping better use Photomatix first
and stitch the mapped images then.

Klaus

User avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 8836
Likes: 5 posts
Liked in: 64 posts
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by klausesser » Sun Jan 25, 2015 5:09 pm

MartinP wrote:I used auto exposure time and auto aperture. But the seperate pictures doesn't have this stains, they appear only after the render with autopano.



One basic suggestion: NEVER use ANY automatic setting when you shoot panos. ;)

Klaus

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 300
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by ThomasV » Mon Jan 26, 2015 9:01 am

Hello Martin,

It would be nice if you could share the photographs. We will give a look at this issue and try to reproduce that.

Thanks,
Thomas

no avatar
MartinP
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 25
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:26 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by MartinP » Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:00 pm

Hello at all,

I was trying around all the time an now I'm using photomatrix before I stitch the pictures together. I don't have any stains now and I think the result is pretty good.

Unbenannt-1.jpg


Thank you all for your support!

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7886
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 228 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Info

Re: Green Stains after rendering

by Destiny » Mon Jan 26, 2015 10:08 pm

Hi.. You can also use EnfuseGUI which is free and very good for fusion tone mapping... No good for HDR..

The HDR option in APG is very difficult to use and is hardware depenent.. Its got some great features but the end results often does not represent the final render and its very hard to get an acceptable render.. Even if you did achieve a good result, there is no way to batch process the same settings. You cannot use those same settings as a preset for images captured a the exact same time... Much better to use Photomatix or EnfuseGUI.. Photomatix has presets which is great..

Destiny...


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests