Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:13 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 11:59 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
When GPU rendering a spherical projection render to frames, any resolution greater than 8192x4096 is kicked to the CPU. Even if its greater by just one pixel (8193x4097). This happens for for every AVP project I’ve tested.

--- GPU render as expected: 8192x4096
--- kicked to CPU render: 8193x4097
--- kicked to CPU render: 8200x4100
--- kicked to CPU render: 8274x4137

System Specs:
Windows 7 x64
Intel i7 3.5GHz 8-core
GeForce GTX 770 4GB
16GB RAM

AVP 1.6 x64
APG 3.6 x64

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 2:10 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:57 pm
Posts: 46
Hi Jason,

We deliberately limit the GPU texture size to 8192x4096, this is why the render is made by the CPU when you ask for a larger size.

This limitation is here to prevent driver loss due to a graphic memory explosion.

Hope this clarifies the behavior.

Cheers,

Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:46 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2141
martin.arnoux wrote:
Hi Jason,

We deliberately limit the GPU texture size to 8192x4096, this is why the render is made by the CPU when you ask for a larger size.

This limitation is here to prevent driver loss due to a graphic memory explosion.

Hope this clarifies the behavior.

Cheers,

Martin


Does this limitation change when more GPU memory is available?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 10:40 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:57 pm
Posts: 46
No for now, but this might be a feature of a coming version.

By the way the max texture size sent to the GPU is square (8192x8192).

All the best,

Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 10:46 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2141
martin.arnoux wrote:
No for now, but this might be a feature of a coming version.

By the way the max texture size sent to the GPU is square (8192x8192).

All the best,

Martin


So I have 6 GB of GPU RAM for nothing? Sounds like a biggie to me that needs to be corrected in the next version.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 12:12 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14070
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
HansKeesom wrote:
martin.arnoux wrote:
No for now, but this might be a feature of a coming version.

By the way the max texture size sent to the GPU is square (8192x8192).

All the best,

Martin


So I have 6 GB of GPU RAM for nothing? Sounds like a biggie to me that needs to be corrected in the next version.


Are you using Autopano Video?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2014 12:14 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2141
Not really yet, bought it, tried it and could not think of a usefull way to use it


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 4:45 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
I understand there is some good technical reasoning behind this decision, but it is a surprising limitation. I made sure to get a graphics card with enough GPU RAM to cover very large resolution renders. But I'm hitting the AVP resolution ceiling before the GPU RAM ceiling. (Using half available GPU RAM: render stats for 8192x4096 / GeForce GTX 770 4GB)

At this time I'm only losing 50 to 100px of resolution, so it doesn't affect me much. It was just something I wanted to note. But I imagine in the future the 360 video camera systems are only going to increase in output size.

Perhaps adding it as a checkbox in the settings dialogue, and included a warning that suggests the minimum video card RAM requirements. But I understand that this could be a complex issue than isn't that simple to address.

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 12:17 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
I agree with you Jason. For the moment, it was easier to have such hardcoded limitation. But the goal for the long run solution is to manage directly the GPU memory in a clever way, so if the gpu has enough memory and has huge texture, AVP will allow the rendering. But such feature is not as easy to get as that, so that short term solution will stay for some time.
One note: If you want a setting that allows to unlock that in the general settings menu, that's easy to have.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 3:31 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
Gotcha, I figured this was a tricky problem. Thanks for the info.

Yes having a setting that unlocks the resolution cap would be helpful. But first, what are the dangers? If the GPU memory fills to capacity, will the GPU or system crash? Is there a possibility of data corruption or overheating? Sorry for the wild questions, I just have no idea.

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 3:35 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 2:57 pm
Posts: 46
Mainly driver lost, but no data corruption (except for the output).

Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:07 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
That makes sense. Thanks!

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group