Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Oct 30, 2014 1:18 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 3:48 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:08 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Sydney, AU and Los Angeles, CA
I posted a similar question in the APG forum but maybe the answer is in Panotour instead.

I have a 360 / 180 pano where I forgot to shoot a nadir shot. When I assemble it in APG, it gives me empty pixels all along the bottom.

If I use the pitch tool at 90 degrees, this empty area comes up as a much smaller roundish patch in the middle of the pano. I would like to be able to render that, export it to Photoshop for fixing and painting. But when I bring that one into Panotour, it only allows me to rotate around the bottom of the room since that is what is now in the center of the pano. Is there a way to tell Panotour to move the pitch to -90 degrees?

Thank you

Bo


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 10:09 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7812
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Bmachine wrote:
I have a 360 / 180 pano where I forgot to shoot a nadir shot. When I assemble it in APG, it gives me empty pixels all along the bottom.


That´s what it´s supposed to do.

Bmachine wrote:
If I use the pitch tool at 90 degrees, this empty area comes up as a much smaller roundish patch in the middle of the pano.


Don´t do that. Instead use the following workflow:

Drag your equirectangular rendering onto the KRPano-droplet: "convert sphere to cube". This will give you six cubefaces.
Take the down-face - this one shows the "Nadir-hole". In Photoshop you can easily retouch it using the stamp-tool.
After that drag all six cube-faces to the droplet "convert cube to sphere". This one will give you back an equirectangular image with a
closed Nadir-hole.

You can find the KRPano-Tools in your PTP-folder if you have a PTP license.

You also can use PTP for making cube-faces - but i always use the KRPano droplets for doing it.

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:39 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:08 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Sydney, AU and Los Angeles, CA
Thank you Klaus.

I do have a Panotour license but I am not finding finding KRPano anywhere. Is it hidden someplace?
Or is it only for Panotour Pro?

Bo


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:45 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14062
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Bmachine wrote:
Thank you Klaus.

I do have a Panotour license but I am not finding finding KRPano anywhere. Is it hidden someplace?
Or is it only for Panotour Pro?

Bo


You can only export the krpano license from PT Pro.

But you could buy a krpano license from krpano.com.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:55 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:08 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Sydney, AU and Los Angeles, CA
Thanks mediavets! I will check into that option.

Bo


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 7:01 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14062
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Bmachine wrote:
Thanks mediavets! I will check into that option.

Bo


You might also like to look at Pano2VR which can export cube face and vice versa , amd also offers an interesting patch tool:
http://ggnome.com/pano2vr

http://ggnome.com/wiki/Patching_Images_%28Pano2VR%29


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 25, 2014 11:02 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4913
Location: Australia
That video always impresses me but I for one do not shoot the nadir... Its a bit hard with the VR Drive.. I have tried using a ball head but that is clumsy and not that successful.. Photoshop has some really nice advised tools and you can create droplets to do most of the work.. Using tools like the clone or stamp is far too limited.. Its fine for the final touch ups but even then I don't use those... They are certainly not tools to do the entire footprint patch.... The only time I would have issues would be when the footprint was a no-repettitive design carpet .. I would then have to capture a Nadir shot.. For each situation calls for different methods to be used..

But everyone to their own.. I am sure a better solution added to APG is coming soon.. You can already pull the entire image down but... I have not been successful in adding a nadir patch in this way..

Destiny...


Attachments:
fixed-Nadir.jpg
fixed-Nadir.jpg [ 623.33 KiB | Viewed 439 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:51 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2007 2:08 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Sydney, AU and Los Angeles, CA
I noticed there was a "Use Nadir Patch" option when you click on a panorama at the bottom right. I'll have to go and look for the documentation on that and see if that might help also.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group