Display part of Panorama  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Panotour 2.0 problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
User avatar
RS360VTS
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 74
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:58 am
Info

Display part of Panorama

by RS360VTS » Sat Mar 01, 2014 10:38 am

Hi Guys,
I hope this is possible in PTP2

All my scenes are full 360x180 equirectangular images.
Normally not a problem, but I have a client who wants one of the scenes to only run part of the way around.
So for example, starting at 0, rather than running the full 360, I want this one scene to stop at 215 degrees, then move on to the next scene in the autotour. How can this be achieved?

Regards

RS360VTS

no avatar
mediavets
Member
 
Posts: 14912
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by mediavets » Sat Mar 01, 2014 11:28 am

RS360VTS wrote:Hi Guys,
I hope this is possible in PTP2

All my scenes are full 360x180 equirectangular images.
Normally not a problem, but I have a client who wants one of the scenes to only run part of the way around.
So for example, starting at 0, rather than running the full 360, I want this one scene to stop at 215 degrees, then move on to the next scene in the autotour. How can this be achieved?

Regards

RS360VTS


The best you can do via the GUI is to use the Crop tool in the Hotspot editor.

But you have to use a 'hack' to do it.

1. Select the pano you wish to crop, select the crop tool and you'll see crop handles on the V-axis but not on the H-axis; then change the HFOV in the Input field of view from 360 to 359.

2. Select a different pano, the reselect the pano you wish to crop, and you see that you can now find crop handles on the H axis.

3. Use the crop handles on the h-axis to limit the view as required..

4. Change the HFOV in the Input field of view back to 360.

Autotour doesn't handle partial panos as you might expect at presnet but you will have limited the HFOV.

Try it and see if it's good enough.
Attachments
1-ptp2-crop-hfov.jpg

User avatar
RS360VTS
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 74
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:58 am
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by RS360VTS » Sat Mar 01, 2014 2:44 pm

Hi John,

That works (to a point). It certainly restricts the HPV but in an autotour the scene pans through the cropped area, then reverses and goes back again and when gets back to the start point, stats off again... so the autotour gets stuck on this scene...

Any ideas? Maybe we have to edit the scene xml file?

Thanks

Best Regards

Richard

no avatar
mediavets
Member
 
Posts: 14912
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by mediavets » Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:11 pm

RS360VTS wrote:Hi John,

That works (to a point). It certainly restricts the HPV but in an autotour the scene pans through the cropped area, then reverses and goes back again and when gets back to the start point, stats off again... so the autotour gets stuck on this scene...

Any ideas? Maybe we have to edit the scene xml file?

Thanks

Best Regards

Richard


I think you will find that in the end it will advance to the next scene - at least it did for me.

But as I said there's a known issue with partial panos and the Autotour feature at the moment; and now you've experienced it for yourself.

I don't know whether it's possible o resolve it by editing the XML.

User avatar
RS360VTS
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 74
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:58 am
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by RS360VTS » Sat Mar 01, 2014 4:10 pm

Thanks John,

I will have a look at the xml file... but may just tell the client its not possible....

Many Thanks..

Richard

no avatar
Andrew Lyons
Member
 
Posts: 12
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 1:08 pm
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by Andrew Lyons » Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:30 am

I'm not an expert in PTP by any means, but if you never want to view past 215 degrees, couldn't you crop the equi before importing into PTP and selecting a "flat" output projection.

That's what I did, when I didn't want to show a particularly ugly part of a construction site.

just a suggestion from a novice.......

no avatar
mediavets
Member
 
Posts: 14912
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by mediavets » Mon Mar 03, 2014 10:46 am

Andrew Lyons wrote:I'm not an expert in PTP by any means, but if you never want to view past 215 degrees, couldn't you crop the equi before importing into PTP and selecting a "flat" output projection.

That's what I did, when I didn't want to show a particularly ugly part of a construction site.

just a suggestion from a novice.......

215 degrees HFOV would be too great for and image to look acceptable with flat/rectilinear output projection.

http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... ting_Modes

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutori ... ctions.htm

You would still have the issue with Autotour behaviour.

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 3449
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 7 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by benji33 » Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:03 pm

Yes issue is due to the fact than your autorotation is based on the 360° so with stop and acceleration it is "buggy" with partial panoramas.
We have an opened task on this partial panorama problem. But no good temporary solution for the moment because the code is the same for all panoramas.

User avatar
RS360VTS
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 74
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:58 am
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by RS360VTS » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:19 am

Hi Benjamin,

Last April, you said there was a task opened regarding displaying partial panos. Any progress?

Regards

RS360VTS

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 3449
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 7 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by benji33 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 11:13 am

On partial panoramas autorotation should work now.
Issue is still present on your project ? if yes can I have a look on the tour ?

User avatar
RS360VTS
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 74
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:58 am
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by RS360VTS » Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:33 pm

Hi Benjamin,

All of my panos are full 360x180, but in some cases my client only wants some of the pano displaying, so for example perhaps only 210 degrees of the 360. Is this possible?

Thanks

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 3449
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 7 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by benji33 » Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:39 pm

Yes with a trick for the horizontal crop.
viewtopic.php?f=92&t=24500#p152625

User avatar
RS360VTS
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 74
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:58 am
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by RS360VTS » Wed Feb 11, 2015 1:52 pm

Hi Benjamin,

Using that "trick" does not work in autotour or autorotate, as when the tour runs, it gets to the limit of the crop, then reverses and continues in the opposite direction until it reaches the opposite extent, then reverses again and continues backwards and forewards until you manually send the tour to the next scene. Im on V2.3.1 64bit

Unless Im missing something?

RS360VTS

no avatar
mediavets
Member
 
Posts: 14912
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by mediavets » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:17 pm

What settings do you have for autotour progression?
Attachments
1-ptp231-autotour.jpg

User avatar
RS360VTS
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 74
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:58 am
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by RS360VTS » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:31 pm

Untitled-1.jpg


Hi Benjamine,

Please see the attached screen shot of tthe autotour settings...
Not much can be changed here.

User avatar
RS360VTS
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 74
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:58 am
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by RS360VTS » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:56 pm

The "load next panorama" should show "after a full rotation"

Sorry

no avatar
mediavets
Member
 
Posts: 14912
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by mediavets » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:03 pm

RS360VTS wrote:The "load next panorama" should show "after a full rotation"

Sorry


So not as shown in the settings screenshot?

..........

I confirm that autotour scenes do not progress if 'after a full rotation' is selected.

But the autotour will progress from scene to scene if instead a timed progression is set.

I am viewing with Firefox on Windows 7 Pro 64-bit.

User avatar
RS360VTS
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 74
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 1 post
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:58 am
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by RS360VTS » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:15 pm

Hi Mediaverts, Benjamin,

Yes I would agree... autotour after full rotation set as the default for the complete tour, maybe of 20 or more scenes, but if one of those scenes needs to only display 210 degrees, then it does not work...
If I set atotour after say 30 secs, I can get the partial pano to work, but All the other scenes are now partial also, and that is not what I need.

I need to be able to set the pan parameters for each pano seperately...
Guess thats not possible.

RS360VTS

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 3449
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 7 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by benji33 » Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:47 pm

Not possible yet. The option is global. So for a 210° partial panorama you'll have the left / right autorotation effect when reaching a horizontal limit.

no avatar
mediavets
Member
 
Posts: 14912
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 18 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by mediavets » Fri Feb 13, 2015 2:58 pm

benji33 wrote:Not possible yet. The option is global. So for a 210° partial panorama you'll have the left / right autorotation effect when reaching a horizontal limit.

And the problem with that is that if Autotour is specified the tour will not progress beyond the partial pano unless a timed progression is specified (rather than 'after a full rotation'), and then the amount of rotation displayed for any pano, partial or 360HFOV, depends on the performance of the system being used to view the tour (I think?) which is unsatisfactory.

But then the Autotour feature has been rather disappointingly primitive for a long time now despite many requests for something better.

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 3449
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 7 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Display part of Panorama

by benji33 » Fri Feb 13, 2015 3:02 pm

it's better than the first 2.0 version but yes you're right there are many cases untreated.


Return to Using Panotour / Panotour Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests