Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Tue Jul 22, 2014 4:42 pm

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:17 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Posts: 1855
Location: Sweden
My nadir shots are not taken from the exact same point of view as the rest, since I have to readjust the tripod to take them. Is there a feature in APG that lets me set an image (or stack of images) as being taken from a different point of view, so it reprojects them better?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 12:36 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13561
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
DrSlony wrote:
My nadir shots are not taken from the exact same point of view as the rest, since I have to readjust the tripod to take them. Is there a feature in APG that lets me set an image (or stack of images) as being taken from a different point of view, so it reprojects them better?


In 3.5 there is I believe a way to set multiviewpoint for a single image.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:14 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Posts: 1855
Location: Sweden
Yes but I can't find any documentation for it. It's not intuitive. I tried right-clicking on an image and selecting "Optimize viewpoint", which adds a projection icon to the image but doesn't change it in any way. Then if I right-click again and choose "Local-optimize image" it does get changed. The result wasn't good though.

I'm having hell trying to get fisheye nadir shots to align well.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:50 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7618
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
DrSlony wrote:
Yes but I can't find any documentation for it. It's not intuitive. I tried right-clicking on an image and selecting "Optimize viewpoint", which adds a projection icon to the image but doesn't change it in any way. Then if I right-click again and choose "Local-optimize image" it does get changed. The result wasn't good though.

I'm having hell trying to get fisheye nadir shots to align well.


Hi!

Render cubefaces (KRPano droplet), take the down face which shows the Nadir as planar projektion.
Here you can:

1) edit the Nadir hole by retouching it in Photoshop.
2) fill in your Nadir shot - of course you need to plan-project it first ;) :cool:

I prefer to retouch it with the stamp-tool - because i usually take longer lenses with which Nadir shots are impossible to do.

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 3:20 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Posts: 1855
Location: Sweden
Yes it looks like I will have to do that. Pity, I hoped APG could twist and turn the fisheye nadir as needed to make it fit :]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 3:22 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7618
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
DrSlony wrote:
Yes it looks like I will have to do that. Pity, I hoped APG could twist and turn the fisheye nadir as needed to make it fit :]



Maybe it can!? I never used it this way :cool:

Guess it would be nice to get a clue from the Kolor guys . . =D

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 27, 2014 3:44 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 6:30 pm
Posts: 1855
Location: Sweden
I tried again now on a panorama made from tone-mapped images (before it was the same panorama but all stacks), and now using "Optimize viewpoint of this image" and then "Local optimize this image" works wonders!

My expectation was that everything on the plane of the floor should be possible to stitch correctly despite the different point of view. Sure enough, after manually placing a few control points and using this button, the floor jumps into the correct place :] The furniture is of course still wrong, but it does not matter, I just want an automatically-fitted nadir for easy patching :cool:


Attachments:
File comment: After "Optimize viewpoint of this image" and then "Local optimize this image"
scrot_2014-02-27 154207.png
scrot_2014-02-27 154207.png [ 914.69 KiB | Viewed 167 times ]
File comment: Before
scrot_2014-02-27 154153.png
scrot_2014-02-27 154153.png [ 909.38 KiB | Viewed 167 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:06 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5865
Location: Francin, France
This feature exists and it works super well in v3.5. It is called multiple viewpoint on some images only. Right click on the nadir, say it is a multiple viewpoint image, optimize. It should do the trick.
Note: be sure that controls point from this image are on a single plane only.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group