one single equi as input (feature request for 3.5)  

Got some great idea or a feature request? Post it here and discuss it. The most requested concepts are usually implemented, as Autopano Pro / Giga is very community driven.
User avatar
Christian Stüben
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:08 am
Location: Wuppertal, Germany

one single equi as input (feature request for 3.5)

by Christian Stüben » Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:00 pm

Hi all,
there is some reason why i still use ptgui. One is ... with ptgui i can make a new projekt, load one single equirectangular as source image, and i can "re-stitch" this already done equi to make the horizon really horizontally.

Such a feature i would like to see in 3.5.x.

Why i ask for this feature ... i have a new little gadget, a hand-hold panoramacamera that records a complete equi with one single shot.

But ... when making an equi with this hand-held camera, the horizon is realy rare in a horizontal position. And i would be glad to have a chance to correct such an equi using apg.

greetings from germany
Chris

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7883
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: one single equi as input (feature request for 3.5)

by klausesser » Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:03 pm

Christian Stüben wrote:Hi all,
there is some reason why i still use ptgui. One is ... with ptgui i can make a new projekt, load one single equirectangular as source image, and i can "re-stitch" this already done equi to make the horizon really horizontally.

Such a feature i would like to see in 3.5.x.

Why i ask for this feature ... i have a new little gadget, a hand-hold panoramacamera that records a complete equi with one single shot.

But ... when making an equi with this hand-held camera, the horizon is realy rare in a horizontal position. And i would be glad to have a chance to correct such an equi using apg.

greetings from germany
Chris



Hi Chris!

Put it on a tripod and level it. You´ll get a straight horizon . . =D :cool:

best, Klaus

User avatar
Christian Stüben
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:08 am
Location: Wuppertal, Germany

Re: one single equi as input (feature request for 3.5)

by Christian Stüben » Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:34 pm

klausesser wrote:Put it on a tripod and level it. You´ll get a straight horizon . . =D :cool:


I have been afraid to get an answer like this :p

Yesss, this little camera has a thread for tripod mounting, but it is intended to be used as "hand-held". You have seen the cactus shot. When you are on vacation, hiking in the mountains, you rarely have your complete pano equipment in your backpack. So many horizons in your panos are like a inclined plane (oops, right word? Schiefe Ebene).

And there are many more occasions for this camera, e.g. attached to a a long stick and held into the treetop to shoot the rare bird, where you have no chance to get a perfect horizon.

So i need something to correct the horizon in the final equi.

greetings to Düsseldorf
Chris

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7883
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: one single equi as input (feature request for 3.5)

by klausesser » Sat Feb 22, 2014 1:47 pm

Christian Stüben wrote:I have been afraid to get an answer like this :p


I was aware of that - but couldn´t hold back . . ;) :cool:

Christian Stüben wrote:Yesss, this little camera has a thread for tripod mounting, but it is intended to be used as "hand-held". You have seen the cactus shot. When you are on vacation, hiking in the mountains, you rarely have your complete pano equipment in your backpack. So many horizons in your panos are like a inclined plane (oops, right word? Schiefe Ebene).

And there are many more occasions for this camera, e.g. attached to a a long stick and held into the treetop to shoot the rare bird, where you have no chance to get a perfect horizon.

So i need something to correct the horizon in the final equi.

greetings to Düsseldorf
Chris


Sounds very nice! What device is it? (you can send me a mail if you want to treat it as a secret . . ;) )

best to you and greetings to Wuppertal, Klaus

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14288
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: one single equi as input (feature request for 3.5)

by mediavets » Sat Feb 22, 2014 2:42 pm

Christian Stüben wrote:Hi all,
there is some reason why i still use ptgui. One is ... with ptgui i can make a new projekt, load one single equirectangular as source image, and i can "re-stitch" this already done equi to make the horizon really horizontally.

Such a feature i would like to see in 3.5.x.

Why i ask for this feature ... i have a new little gadget, a hand-hold panoramacamera that records a complete equi with one single shot.

But ... when making an equi with this hand-held camera, the horizon is realy rare in a horizontal position. And i would be glad to have a chance to correct such an equi using apg.

greetings from germany
Chris


Do you have a Ricoh Theta?

I heard that there might be specific support for that camera in 3.5.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5920
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

Re: one single equi as input (feature request for 3.5)

by AlexandreJ » Mon Mar 03, 2014 1:15 pm

We worked on equirectangular support in input. It works well even for detection, but we have an issue that prevented us to propose that: what about gigapixels support in input ? This is way too long to code. So for the moment, we could do an equirectangular support limited in size in input. If that is acceptable, then we can do it.
BTW: what would be that size limit for you ?

User avatar
Christian Stüben
Member
 
Posts: 236
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2012 5:08 am
Location: Wuppertal, Germany

Re: one single equi as input (feature request for 3.5)

by Christian Stüben » Mon Mar 03, 2014 6:02 pm

The camera outputs equis sized 3584x1792 pixels. That is thumbnail size / quality.

For some post-processing i double or quadruple the pixels to 7168x3584 or 14336x7168 pixels, to have some reserves for the processing lossen.

So in my case 3584x1792 is absolutely minimum, 7168*3584 better, 14366x7168 would be optimum. Yes i know, the last one is 102 megapixel / 306 megabyte.

When inputting a ready stitched equi, in my opinion there is no need for detection or optimization, it is already perfectly stitched. And it is the one and only input picture.

Hmm, if the graphic card and open gl pattern are the size limit, maybe a little help might be to divide too big equis to smaller tiles.

greetings from germany
Chris

User avatar
ATXcloud
Member
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 6:06 am
Location: AUSTIN, TX USA

Re: one single equi as input (feature request for 3.5)

by ATXcloud » Wed Apr 30, 2014 9:26 pm

I'd like to second this feature request.
Howdy from Deep in the Heart of Texas!

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3386
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

Re: one single equi as input (feature request for 3.5)

by gkaefer » Tue May 13, 2014 2:28 pm

hmm....
copy your final equi pano once.
load both "single Images" to autopano
detect the "pano"
edit it changing Level of horizon etc.
Export it...
Georg


Return to Autopano future

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests