wrong behavior of panorama menu offset  

This forum is fully dedicated to Panotour / Panotour Pro bug reports as well as feature discussion.
no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by jschrader » Fri Feb 07, 2014 6:16 am

i have a panorama menu placed in the left corner, spanning the entire screen width.
i did so because i want the menu text to be left bound.

when i enter an x offset of 50 to move the menu bar to the right, the bar will be cut on both left and right ends.

when i instead use a centered menu bar, the offset works as expected.
but i don't want the text to be centered, so this is no acceptable workaround.

fyi, my personal score to recommend ptp to anybody is below zero now.

User avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 5005
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia

Re: wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by Destiny » Fri Feb 07, 2014 7:57 am


no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by jschrader » Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:02 am

No.
Your example shows the control bar.
I'm talking about the panorama menu plugin.

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2799
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France

Re: wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by benji33 » Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:22 am

Ok I understand width a 100% width menu + positive x-offset the right part of the bar is going out of the screen.
You would like the offset on the "buttons" rather than on the menu it self.

I'll have a look today on how to do it to help you on your project.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14164
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by mediavets » Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:42 am

benji33 wrote:Ok I understand width a 100% width menu + positive x-offset the right part of the bar is going out of the screen.
You would like the offset on the "buttons" rather than on the menu it self.

I'll have a look today on how to do it to help you on your project.


I think the x offset should be applied at both ends of the bar.

This illustrates the issue:
Attachments
1-ptp2final-panorama-menu.jpg
2-ptp2final-panorama-menu.jpg

User avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 5005
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia

Re: wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by Destiny » Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:43 am

Its a strange feature Benjamin... It needs a LOT more parameters.. Radius on chosen corners, off-sets, text under the thumb which I remember asking for a long time ago.. Stroke around the edge.. and more......

I managed to provide an option by added two pano menus, one with alpha thumbs but its not the best solution....

http://www.destinyvirtualtours.com/PTPV ... /menu.html

Destiny...

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14164
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by mediavets » Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:54 am

benji33 wrote:Ok I understand width a 100% width menu + positive x-offset the right part of the bar is going out of the screen.
You would like the offset on the "buttons" rather than on the menu it self.

I'll have a look today on how to do it to help you on your project.


Checking the 'Extend menu to the tour size' option appears to solve the problem - unless I don't understand the original complaint.
Attachments
1-ptp2final-panomenu-extend.jpg
2-ptp2final-panomenu-extend.jpg

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by jschrader » Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:08 am

Ideally need to change the menu bar from the plain white/headline bar to the other with company logo/link and the spacers.

As I understand it the PTP menu bar is not able to handle this through the guy so I want to try it manually.

I need more space on the left.
Set x-offset, one would assume.

But with x-offset instead a margin is set to both sides as in the example from Andrew.

Surprisingly, if one choses a centered menu bar and uses the offset, then this will appear as expected only on the left side.

And besides that, Destiny is totally right, the entire menubar thing parameter-wise is totally crippled, as I already had mentioned long time ago, when some essential features only were available through workarounds. Luckily this has changed, but there's sill a lot missing and misleading as we can see here.

Need more surprises?
Resize your browser window with a left bound menu bar and with a centered menu bar and compare.
Attachments
new.jpg
old.jpg

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by jschrader » Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:52 am

moving just the text seems not an option, or if the editor decides it is acceptable to have the logo on the right in case the bar cannot be moved.
Because how the hell do I get the logo to appear on top of it, when a high zorder doesn't do the trick?!
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2014-02-07 um 13.42.19.png

User avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 5005
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia

Re: wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by Destiny » Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:56 am

Not so easy...

It needs something like this...

Destiny..

ptplugin name="panoramaMenu" engine="kolorMenu">
<settings>
<option name="position" value="topleft" type="string" />
<option name="orientation" value="horizontal" type="string" />
<option name="sub_orientation" value="vertical" type="string" />
<option name="left_margin_x" value="220" type="int" />
<option name="right_margin_x" value="0" type="int" />

<option name="margin_y" value="0" type="int" />

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: wrong behavior of panorama menu offset

by jschrader » Fri Feb 07, 2014 12:29 pm

I know, been there since long.
But these values are the same as those changed through the gui.

So both will result in the same wrong behavior.
The error must be in their js code.

Yes, i still think it is an error because there is no logic behind it.
But that's nothing new in PTP, eh?

However, I played some tricks on PTP and they seem to work.
I just created a "fake" menu item by copy and paste and gave it a unique id :lol:


Return to Panotour bugs & discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest