Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects  

This forum is fully dedicated to Panotour / Panotour Pro bug reports as well as feature discussion.
no avatar
John360
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 39
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:53 pm
Info

Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by John360 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:08 pm

Hi.

Just wondered if there are any compability problems with RC1 and RC2 for buildt projects. May it be possible to keep tiles from RC1 and just generate the new xml and js files, or is it advised to do full new builds?

John

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by mediavets » Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:14 pm

John360 wrote:Hi.

Just wondered if there are any compability problems with RC1 and RC2 for buildt projects. May it be possible to keep tiles from RC1 and just generate the new xml and js files, or is it advised to do full new builds?

John


I don't know if it's necessary but I would always advise a full new 'clean' build into a new folder.

no avatar
John360
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 39
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:53 pm
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by John360 » Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:03 pm

Just wondering if its necessary with 100K files re-upload on a live project.

no avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5848
Likes: 92 posts
Liked in: 199 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by benji33 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 9:40 am

The Panotour ftp program is very simple and keep informations into the same session. on new session, informations are lost and all files are uploaded again.
Prefer an external FTP program.

To avoid rebuild all tiles, save your project once all tiles has been generated. The tiles informations will be stored into kpt file and no longer need to be rebuild normally.
Benjamin

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 3 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by jschrader » Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:12 pm

The word "normally" makes me very suspicious here.
Also it seems that with RC2 there is an issue in hotspot linking and especially with website boxes which I widely used in my recent project.
As it seems it is not safe to update to RC2 which is a real pity (but luckily I didn't).
With RCs that should not happen.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by mediavets » Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:29 pm

jschrader wrote:The word "normally" makes me very suspicious here.
Also it seems that with RC2 there is an issue in hotspot linking and especially with website boxes which I widely used in my recent project.
As it seems it is not safe to update to RC2 which is a real pity (but luckily I didn't).
With RCs that should not happen.


I have no problem doing that with RC2 on Windows 7 64-bit

no avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5848
Likes: 92 posts
Liked in: 199 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by benji33 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:02 pm

jschrader wrote:The word "normally" makes me very suspicious here.
Also it seems that with RC2 there is an issue in hotspot linking and especially with website boxes which I widely used in my recent project.
As it seems it is not safe to update to RC2 which is a real pity (but luckily I didn't).
With RCs that should not happen.


Are you on MacOSX Maverick ? Have you tested hotspot link with website boxes ?
This bug only happens for Destiny at this time and has not been reproduced.

For normally, you're right it's my own error because i've not personnally tested this step on all computer OS.
Benjamin

no avatar
John360
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 39
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Thu Dec 12, 2013 3:53 pm
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by John360 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 8:53 pm

benji33 wrote:
To avoid rebuild all tiles, save your project once all tiles has been generated. The tiles informations will be stored into kpt file and no longer need to be rebuild normally.


Thanks. Thats important information. Usually I save I edit, save, edit, save, build.

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7886
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 228 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by Destiny » Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:52 am

My issue only happened due to me using my own customised html template.. Since that was discovered, its all been good.. No other issues with moving up from RC1 to RC2.. If however you too are using a custom html template and you experience issues, it would be advisable to test the default templets first.. It might be a matter of editing or rebuilding your own custom templates since this new build.. New code here was written which stuff my template up.. viewtopic.php?f=3&t=21161#p135312
Unfortunately, in my case this code did not fix my issue. I still cannot get a Website Box or other plugins to trigger from a hotspot using my html template even after adding this code.. :rolleyes:

Destiny..

benji33 wrote:Are you on MacOSX Maverick ? Have you tested hotspot link with website boxes ?
This bug only happens for Destiny at this time and has not been reproduced.

For normally, you're right it's my own error because i've not personnally tested this step on all computer OS.

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 3 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by jschrader » Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:33 pm

Yes, I am.

benji33 wrote:Are you on MacOSX Maverick ? Have you tested hotspot link with website boxes ?
This bug only happens for Destiny at this time and has not been reproduced.

For normally, you're right it's my own error because i've not personnally tested this step on all computer OS.

no avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 7886
Likes: 6 posts
Liked in: 228 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by Destiny » Sat Jan 18, 2014 10:58 pm

Just for info.. Read the 3rd paragraph up from bottom here... http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... mputer_.3F

Destiny..

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 3 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm
Info

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

by jschrader » Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:43 am

Thanks. I have no problems at all.
But that's because I'm still using RC1 :rolleyes:
I yet don't trust RC2 and will not test or even install it until it is considered to be safe with existing projects.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest