Optimum Go Pro video settings.  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Video!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
User avatar
BeWatched Labs
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 9:02 am
Location: Geneva, Swizerland

Optimum Go Pro video settings.

by BeWatched Labs » Wed Aug 07, 2013 9:32 am

Hi all,

Just got my hands on a Freedom rig 360 and I was just wondering if there were any specific Go Pro video settings that work best with the Autopano Video software?

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5920
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Wed Aug 07, 2013 10:29 am

The most current setting is 1920x1440 Wide mode at 48fps. In fact, anything in Wide mode will work.

User avatar
Joergen Geerds
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 10:51 pm
Location: New York City

by Joergen Geerds » Mon Sep 16, 2013 3:25 pm

The Hero3 Black has two video resolutions that can be used with the Freedom360 mount:

- 960P (1280x960px wide) at 48 and 100 fps (final size about 3600x1800px)
- 1440P (1920x1440px wide) at 24, 25, 30 and 48 fps (final size about 5600x2800px)

The Hero3 Silver is limited to the 960P mode.

Please don't use all the other 16:9 modes, since they don't give you enough overlap, and don't produce a stitchable 360 video.
Joergen Geerds
Freedom360.us

no avatar
pana2000
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 5:18 am

Re: Optimum Go Pro video settings.

by pana2000 » Mon Nov 18, 2013 2:50 am

Hi

Re white balance and RAW setting.

I think the previous advice was protunes preset white balances ie 5600 etc. Im guessing this is due to the fact that with the RAW mode the cameras will auto white balance and it will be more difficult to get a correct stitch as the balances may not match. On the other hand there is some info that I have read which suggests that the RAW format is generally the best option for normal non 360 vision. I also just stumbled across a reference to using RAW with the 360 rigs.

Just wanted to clarify there is no work around for the RAW option and if there is whether its worth the trouble.

Thanks

PS wonder if gopro will ever add RAW to the preset white balances

no avatar
frm
Member
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 06, 2013 8:18 pm

Re: Optimum Go Pro video settings.

by frm » Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:51 pm

I´m also interested in the RAW/whitebalance-thing.

User avatar
Joergen Geerds
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 10:51 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Optimum Go Pro video settings.

by Joergen Geerds » Wed Dec 04, 2013 5:30 pm

I prefer a fixed white balance while shooting, according to the situation: 3000k is indoor, with predominantly incandescent light, 5500k is outdoor, normal sunny day, and 6500k is for overcast and shadows. setting the cameras all to the same settings helps you avoid using auto color correction in APG, or at least avoiding too much correction.
if you pick auto WB, each camera will pick it's own WB (more granular than the 3 presets), which can be beneficial if the light is very homogeneous in your scene, and the autoWB results in the same WB for each camera... in real life however, autoWB creates 6 different WB settings, and the stitcher needs to optimize the colors towards a common middle ground.
Custom WB is only available when protunes is on.
Joergen Geerds
Freedom360.us

no avatar
pana2000
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jun 11, 2013 5:18 am

Re: Optimum Go Pro video settings.

by pana2000 » Mon Dec 16, 2013 5:16 am

Thanks again Joergen

User avatar
asiavr
Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:10 am

Re: Optimum Go Pro video settings.

by asiavr » Wed Jan 01, 2014 7:59 am

:rolleyes:

i have hero3+ silver but only 1080p (30/60) and 960p (30/60) are available in the menu.

i notice that the overlap areas between each video are very small even when i've already shot the video in wide mode. with my eyes judgement i believe that the software won't able to stitch the videos properly. did i do something not right? i m a newbie and just start to pick up 360 video.

User avatar
Joergen Geerds
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 10:51 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Optimum Go Pro video settings.

by Joergen Geerds » Mon Jan 06, 2014 1:27 am

[quote="asiavr"]:rolleyes:

i have hero3+ silver but only 1080p (30/60) and 960p (30/60) are available in the menu.

i notice that the overlap areas between each video are very small even when i've already shot the video in wide mode. with my eyes judgement i believe that the software won't able to stitch the videos properly. /quote]

You need to use the 960 modes. 1080 won't work, with any gopro camera, for the standard 6-cubed setups.

User avatar
asiavr
Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:10 am

Re: Optimum Go Pro video settings.

by asiavr » Tue Jan 07, 2014 3:05 am

oh. so 3+ silver is even newer but it doesn't perform better than 3 black in term of resolution.

User avatar
asiavr
Member
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2011 2:10 am

Re: Optimum Go Pro video settings.

by asiavr » Fri Jan 10, 2014 5:42 am

hi Joergen:

do you agree that for optimizing the rig mount and fix all the stitiching errors etc... i should use picture mode instead of video mode because picture files are easier to handle than video. once i have created a template file, i should be able to use it back and apply to the autopano video later?

thank you.
:cool:

Joergen Geerds wrote:
asiavr wrote::rolleyes:

i have hero3+ silver but only 1080p (30/60) and 960p (30/60) are available in the menu.

i notice that the overlap areas between each video are very small even when i've already shot the video in wide mode. with my eyes judgement i believe that the software won't able to stitch the videos properly. /quote]

You need to use the 960 modes. 1080 won't work, with any gopro camera, for the standard 6-cubed setups.

User avatar
Joergen Geerds
Member
 
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat May 18, 2013 10:51 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Optimum Go Pro video settings.

by Joergen Geerds » Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:13 am

asiavr wrote:do you agree that for optimizing the rig mount and fix all the stitiching errors etc... i should use picture mode instead of video mode because picture files are easier to handle than video. once i have created a template file, i should be able to use it back and apply to the autopano video later?


I found little use for templates with the Freedom360 mount with GoPro cameras and AVP/APG. Each shooting situation is a bit different (different foreground and background object distances) and requires a bit different optimization. I think it is easier to simply start from the video material (1280x960 or 1920x1440 modes), and extract a meaningful frame with plenty of opportunities for the CP generator to do its job, and work from there. using 12mpx jpgs doesn't help in this context, but adding things to the scene to make CPs does.


Return to Using Autopano Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests