How does a motorised pano arm actually produce deep zoom?  

In the panorama field, hardware is also part of the success. You can discuss here about it: camera, computer, pano head, anything
User avatar
savski
Member
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 5:34 pm
Location: Zürich

How does a motorised pano arm actually produce deep zoom?

by savski » Thu Nov 28, 2013 9:57 am

Hi all,

I just want to know how the motorised arms allow such deep zoom. I know that they can take hundreds of images which helps but do they automatically take shots at different focal lengths as well to give the depth?? I mean, can I just program one of these things, stand back and let it run, or do I need to change the focal length and run it again and again to achieve the results?

I can't understand how the machines produce these gigapanos if they don't also change the focal lengths.

Many thanks in advance!

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14161
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: How does a motorised pano arm actually produce deep zoom

by mediavets » Thu Nov 28, 2013 10:31 am

savski wrote:Hi all,

I just want to know how the motorised arms allow such deep zoom. I know that they can take hundreds of images which helps but do they automatically take shots at different focal lengths as well to give the depth?? I mean, can I just program one of these things, stand back and let it run, or do I need to change the focal length and run it again and again to achieve the results?

I can't understand how the machines produce these gigapanos if they don't also change the focal lengths.

Many thanks in advance!


I don't know of any robotioc pano heads that - by themselves - can automate focusing of a camera/lens during shoot.

Depending on the scene and your camera/lens choice you may be able to get everything in focus by setting you camera/lens at the hyperfocal distance:

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutori ... stance.htm

Or you may need to refocus manually during the shoot. I read that some choose to check/re-focus every row, it helps if you robotic pano head can automatically pause at the start of each row in this case.

there are third-party hardware and software tools that can automate focus stacking but I don't know if anyone has tried using them along with an robotic pano head. It would add considerable extra image processing before stitching.

Reshooting entire multi-gigapixel panos at different focus settings in a serial fashion, is unlikely to be successful because of the time it would take, and changes in light levels, movements in the scene and so on.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7858
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: How does a motorised pano arm actually produce deep zoom

by klausesser » Fri Nov 29, 2013 3:02 pm

savski wrote:I can't understand how the machines produce these gigapanos if they don't also change the focal lengths.



Hi!

The onlky thing they do is to shoot panoramas using long or very long focal-lengths.
This results in very much images.
This results in a very big final image.
This reults in a very high possible 1:1 scaling.
This results in a very deep zooming @1:1.

See here: i used 85mm on 21Mpx, reulting in about 3,5-4 Gigapixels on a full sphere:
http://360impressions.de/KBogen413/

PanoTourPro makes it to VERY much small tiles - which get assembled when you
load them to your browser as an interactive panorama.

So: no rocket science at all - but also not really easy :cool:

best, Klaus


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest