Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Fri Oct 24, 2014 10:35 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How big
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 5:06 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:57 am
Posts: 23
Location: Stilling, Denmark
I am on an 27" iMac 3.9 GHZ intell core 2 duo, 8 GB, 1067 Mhz DDR3 from 2009. When I load it up with 7x3 dng´s in APG things becomes very slow.

Is my computer too old for APG?

Things went faster if I resized the pictures to 2500 px TIF files, which should be enough for an output like 6000x3000. If I do it this way, will my result then be worse than if I run full res?

Is it right, that APG do not have a masking feature, so I could bring in my two nadir shots, which would make my whole very small, so I could just adjust the pano settings to the limit is the small hole. Now I need to import it into Pano2VR I guess.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How big
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 6:08 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14039
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
clausjepsen wrote:
I am on an 27" iMac 3.9 GHZ intell core 2 duo, 8 GB, 1067 Mhz DDR3 from 2009. When I load it up with 7x3 dng´s in APG things becomes very slow.

Is my computer too old for APG?


How large (pixel dimensions and filesize) are these 21 (7x3) images?

What aspect of APG performance is very slow?

There's no doubt that APG 3.x like lots of RAM and fast disks.

Panorama editing performance is very dependent on your graphics card capability.

...........

If you have PTP then you can export your krpano license and use krpano tools to convert to and from cube faces so you can patch the nadir.

Of course if you have pano2VR then you can use it's patch tool.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How big
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:06 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2137
broken link


Last edited by HansKeesom on Fri Nov 22, 2013 10:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How big
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 10:11 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2137
With the help of others I develop the formula that can be found here viewtopic.php?p=87033#p87033

It tells you how well your system will run with a certain number of photos.

It also helps you to remove bottlenecks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How big
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 6:17 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:57 am
Posts: 23
Location: Stilling, Denmark
I am shooting full res 5D3 RAW and think that an output around 6000x3000 is enough.

I could shoot smaller RAW´s or just convert them in Lightroom to a 2500x2500 tiff.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How big
PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2013 10:47 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Posts: 2137
You can start by doing fusion before loading into APG. That will make things lighter. Likely no need to reduce the RAW's in anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How big
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 12:56 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Posts: 4889
Location: Australia
Hi.. Funny thing.. My iMac is even older.. oh hum.. I really need a new one.. :rolleyes: =( APG has many features that are hardware dependent. Therefore, APG is really a limited software app for me.. I only have 4 GIG of RAM so I cannot use many of the features...

I would personally use PTP to export your cube faces to fix up your nadir but then import them back into PTP and then Export as a full panoramic image.. When you reload the Full Panoramic images back into PTP, they will load in a lot quicker than cube faces.. Its the only way to go if you have a lot of panos in your Tour...

Destiny...


Attachments:
DestinyiMac.jpg
DestinyiMac.jpg [ 32.93 KiB | Viewed 366 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How big
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:40 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 11:57 am
Posts: 23
Location: Stilling, Denmark
Thanks for your input. I will use enfuse in LR first and export as full res tiffs and for sure that will speed up the process. The only drawback is, that I have to arrange the pictures in folder by myself.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group