Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 6:48 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 5:54 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13627
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
klausesser wrote:
Maybe the PW importer doesn´t like D800 files straight from the camera? =D :cool:

Didn´t we have something familiar some time before? I mean there were issues with D800 files, wrong?

best to all - and many thanks for caring!!

Klaus


We were not offered file straight from the camera to test. Those you offered had minimal EXIF data, not even focal length.

I thought you had the problem with those sample files that we did not have problems with?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 6:29 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:
Maybe the PW importer doesn´t like D800 files straight from the camera? =D :cool:

Didn´t we have something familiar some time before? I mean there were issues with D800 files, wrong?

best to all - and many thanks for caring!!

Klaus


We were not offered file straight from the camera to test. Those you offered had minimal EXIF data, not even focal length.

I thought you had the problem with those sample files that we did not have problems with?



???

They´re the very same files, Andrew.

None of them have usual EXIFs - the lenses i use don´t provide any EXIfs.
I can type the focal length and max. aperture into the D800 - but that´s just a kind of reminder what has bee used.
These values have no influence on the EXIFs at all.

Again: i used the very same files i postet for downloading.

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:17 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13627
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
klausesser wrote:
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:
Maybe the PW importer doesn´t like D800 files straight from the camera? =D :cool:

Didn´t we have something familiar some time before? I mean there were issues with D800 files, wrong?

best to all - and many thanks for caring!!

Klaus


We were not offered file straight from the camera to test. Those you offered had minimal EXIF data, not even focal length.

I thought you had the problem with those sample files that we did not have problems with?



???

They´re the very same files, Andrew.

None of them have usual EXIFs - the lenses i use don´t provide any EXIfs.
I can type the focal length and max. aperture into the D800 - but that´s just a kind of reminder what has bee used.
These values have no influence on the EXIFs at all.

Again: i used the very same files i postet for downloading.

best, Klaus


But were they files straight from the camera .... I don't they were?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:24 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
mediavets wrote:
But were they files straight from the camera .... I don't they were?



Yes - these were unprocessed . . saved on the desktop of course . . . :cool:

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 7:27 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13627
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
klausesser wrote:
mediavets wrote:
But were they files straight from the camera .... I don't think they were?



Yes - these were unprocessed . . saved on the desktop of course . . . :cool:

best, Klaus


Saved from what? They don't seem to have standard Nikon filenames, they started with an underscore.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:38 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:
mediavets wrote:
But were they files straight from the camera .... I don't think they were?



Yes - these were unprocessed . . saved on the desktop of course . . . :cool:

best, Klaus


Saved from what? They don't seem to have standard Nikon filenames, they started with an underscore.



Saved from the CF card via a Firewire800 card-reader using "Digital Images"

Attachment:
Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-24 um 21.33.45.png
Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-24 um 21.33.45.png [ 75.09 KiB | Viewed 663 times ]
- straight from the card - sorry: that´s exactly the way D800 files look like . . =D

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:43 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13627
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
klausesser wrote:
Attachment:
Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-24 um 21.33.45.png
- straight from the card - sorry: that´s exactly the way D800 files look like . . =D

best, Klaus


They are NEF we got JPEGS, so must have been processed with something?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 8:47 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
mediavets wrote:
klausesser wrote:
Attachment:
Bildschirmfoto 2013-10-24 um 21.33.45.png
- straight from the card - sorry: that´s exactly the way D800 files look like . . =D

best, Klaus


They are NEF we got JPEGS, so must have been processed with something?



The ones i sent i shot as JPGs of course.

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 24, 2013 11:05 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 528
Location: Switzerland
Hi Klaus
There is something not clear. If I'm looking into my Nikon-D800 images there is a lot of EXIF information stored, in NEFs and also in JPGs.
Even when I use a manual old lens and set it's aperture and focal length this is written into the EXIF datas.
The files You have uploaded have nothing in EXIF, so if this are the original files there must going something wrong while importing or converting.
I use Nikon's ViewNX/Transfer for importing Nikon-files. Perhaps your SW "Digital Images" kills all the EXIF information?


Attachments:
D800E_EXIF.jpg
D800E_EXIF.jpg [ 46.32 KiB | Viewed 652 times ]

_________________
Regards
Martin
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 12:36 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
lumelix wrote:
Hi Klaus
There is something not clear. If I'm looking into my Nikon-D800 images there is a lot of EXIF information stored, in NEFs and also in JPGs.
Even when I use a manual old lens and set it's aperture and focal length this is written into the EXIF datas.
The files You have uploaded have nothing in EXIF, so if this are the original files there must going something wrong while importing or converting.
I use Nikon's ViewNX/Transfer for importing Nikon-files. Perhaps your SW "Digital Images" kills all the EXIF information?


I use this app - it´s part of the OS - only for transferring the files from the card to the desktop.
I do it this way for years - since i bought my first 20D in 2004.

The lens is identified as 20mm - the aperture of THIS lens isn´t in the EXIFs because i unmounted the AI-ring twenty years ago so
it´s not coupled, but works fine.

But this has no influence on this issue.

I used the SAME IMAGES in PTGui and everything worked fine (i stated it several times here).
I imported the images into Photoshop: no problem. Into CaptureOne: no problem.

I always set my cameras to record as few EXIFs as possible. That´s because i use some rather exotic programs for ColorKeying (Greenscreen/Bluescreen),
Nuke, AfterEffects, Trapcode, Smoke and others.
Some video-applications don´t like EXIfs from photo-cameras.

I don´t think it´s the app which i use for copying the files from the card to the desktop. It doesn´t change anything in the image-files.

best, Klaus

P.S.: when i open the files in Lightroom or CaptureOne i see almost the same kind of EXIFs as you posted as screenshot.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:09 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 528
Location: Switzerland
Hi Klaus
Below You see the missing EXIFs in your posted files.
If this are originals, I'm not shure if this have no issue.
If not we have done an other test if APG works only with the XML-infos. It does ;)


Attachments:
noexifinklausfiles.jpg
noexifinklausfiles.jpg [ 155.31 KiB | Viewed 644 times ]

_________________
Regards
Martin
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:14 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
lumelix wrote:
Hi Klaus
Below You see the missing EXIFs in your posted files.
If this are originals, I'm not shure if this have no issue.
If not we have done an other test if APG works only with the XML-infos. It does ;)



Hi Martin!

I attached screenshots of the EXIFs from CaptureOne, Lightroom5 and Photoshop CS6:

C1:

Attachment:
C1.png
C1.png [ 157.85 KiB | Viewed 637 times ]


LR5:

Attachment:
LR5.png
LR5.png [ 76.63 KiB | Viewed 637 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:17 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Attachment:
PS.png
PS.png [ 83.04 KiB | Viewed 636 times ]

Attachment:
PS_A.png
PS_A.png [ 308.14 KiB | Viewed 636 times ]

Attachment:
PS_B.png
PS_B.png [ 293.67 KiB | Viewed 636 times ]


best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:21 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:51 pm
Posts: 528
Location: Switzerland
Hi Klaus
This looks good and as usual.
So we loose the EXIFs somewhere while uploading/downloading them in the ZIP.

_________________
Regards
Martin


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:30 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
lumelix wrote:
Hi Klaus
This looks good and as usual.
So we loose the EXIFs somewhere while uploading/downloading them in the ZIP.



Hi Martin!

Really? Loosing EXIFs by zipping? Good to know!

Thanks for looking!

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 12:57 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 4:32 pm
Posts: 161
Klaus,
Open issue (0002726)
We just found the bug about fisheye lens type on your source pictures (before LR).
Lens ID database was buggy...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 25, 2013 1:15 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Lionel Laissus wrote:
Klaus,
Open issue (0002726)
We just found the bug about fisheye lens type on your source pictures (before LR).
Lens ID database was buggy...



Hi Lionel!

Thanks heaven we could clear this :cool:

best to you, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 10:01 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 1:10 pm
Posts: 135
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Hi!
Just want to say that some programs put META data not in the image files but in xmp files instead, so maybe those xmp files where not included in you ZIP file?
That could explain the differences ...

MfG
Volker


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2013 1:13 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7626
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
vklaffehn wrote:
Hi!
Just want to say that some programs put META data not in the image files but in xmp files instead, so maybe those xmp files where not included in you ZIP file?
That could explain the differences ...

MfG
Volker



Hey Volker!

Thanks! That´s interesting! I will evaluate it.

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 69 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group