Page 1 of 1

Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:08 pm
by John360
Hi.

Just wondered if there are any compability problems with RC1 and RC2 for buildt projects. May it be possible to keep tiles from RC1 and just generate the new xml and js files, or is it advised to do full new builds?

John

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 6:14 pm
by mediavets
John360 wrote:Hi.

Just wondered if there are any compability problems with RC1 and RC2 for buildt projects. May it be possible to keep tiles from RC1 and just generate the new xml and js files, or is it advised to do full new builds?

John


I don't know if it's necessary but I would always advise a full new 'clean' build into a new folder.

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:03 pm
by John360
Just wondering if its necessary with 100K files re-upload on a live project.

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 9:40 am
by benji33
The Panotour ftp program is very simple and keep informations into the same session. on new session, informations are lost and all files are uploaded again.
Prefer an external FTP program.

To avoid rebuild all tiles, save your project once all tiles has been generated. The tiles informations will be stored into kpt file and no longer need to be rebuild normally.

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:12 pm
by jschrader
The word "normally" makes me very suspicious here.
Also it seems that with RC2 there is an issue in hotspot linking and especially with website boxes which I widely used in my recent project.
As it seems it is not safe to update to RC2 which is a real pity (but luckily I didn't).
With RCs that should not happen.

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:29 pm
by mediavets
jschrader wrote:The word "normally" makes me very suspicious here.
Also it seems that with RC2 there is an issue in hotspot linking and especially with website boxes which I widely used in my recent project.
As it seems it is not safe to update to RC2 which is a real pity (but luckily I didn't).
With RCs that should not happen.


I have no problem doing that with RC2 on Windows 7 64-bit

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:02 pm
by benji33
jschrader wrote:The word "normally" makes me very suspicious here.
Also it seems that with RC2 there is an issue in hotspot linking and especially with website boxes which I widely used in my recent project.
As it seems it is not safe to update to RC2 which is a real pity (but luckily I didn't).
With RCs that should not happen.


Are you on MacOSX Maverick ? Have you tested hotspot link with website boxes ?
This bug only happens for Destiny at this time and has not been reproduced.

For normally, you're right it's my own error because i've not personnally tested this step on all computer OS.

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 8:53 pm
by John360
benji33 wrote:
To avoid rebuild all tiles, save your project once all tiles has been generated. The tiles informations will be stored into kpt file and no longer need to be rebuild normally.


Thanks. Thats important information. Usually I save I edit, save, edit, save, build.

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:52 am
by Destiny
My issue only happened due to me using my own customised html template.. Since that was discovered, its all been good.. No other issues with moving up from RC1 to RC2.. If however you too are using a custom html template and you experience issues, it would be advisable to test the default templets first.. It might be a matter of editing or rebuilding your own custom templates since this new build.. New code here was written which stuff my template up.. viewtopic.php?f=3&t=21161#p135312
Unfortunately, in my case this code did not fix my issue. I still cannot get a Website Box or other plugins to trigger from a hotspot using my html template even after adding this code.. :rolleyes:

Destiny..

benji33 wrote:Are you on MacOSX Maverick ? Have you tested hotspot link with website boxes ?
This bug only happens for Destiny at this time and has not been reproduced.

For normally, you're right it's my own error because i've not personnally tested this step on all computer OS.

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:33 pm
by jschrader
Yes, I am.

benji33 wrote:Are you on MacOSX Maverick ? Have you tested hotspot link with website boxes ?
This bug only happens for Destiny at this time and has not been reproduced.

For normally, you're right it's my own error because i've not personnally tested this step on all computer OS.

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 10:58 pm
by Destiny
Just for info.. Read the 3rd paragraph up from bottom here... http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... mputer_.3F

Destiny..

Re: Question: Compatibility RC1 and RC2 projects

PostPosted: Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:43 am
by jschrader
Thanks. I have no problems at all.
But that's because I'm still using RC1 :rolleyes:
I yet don't trust RC2 and will not test or even install it until it is considered to be safe with existing projects.