Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency  

This forum is fully dedicated to Panotour / Panotour Pro bug reports as well as feature discussion.
no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by jschrader » Sat Nov 23, 2013 7:44 pm

I'm using a panorama menu at the top of my tour and the background color has a transparency setting.

I also use the option "Extend menu to the tour size".

On my screen the menu items cover about half the length of the bar.

That part of the bar that doesn't contain the menu items (= the extended part) has a significantly lighter transparency than the rest of the bar, which is odd, looks ugly and should not be the case.

Please fix it or give me a good reason why that is considered a desired feature.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14177
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by mediavets » Sat Nov 23, 2013 9:18 pm

jschrader wrote:I'm using a panorama menu at the top of my tour and the background color has a transparency setting.

I also use the option "Extend menu to the tour size".

On my screen the menu items cover about half the length of the bar.

That part of the bar that doesn't contain the menu items (= the extended part) has a significantly lighter transparency than the rest of the bar, which is odd, looks ugly and should not be the case.

Please fix it or give me a good reason why that is considered a desired feature.


I cannot see what you are talking about:
Attachments
1-ptp2b4-panomenu-transparency.jpg

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by jschrader » Sun Nov 24, 2013 5:57 am

You mean you don't see that there's a difference between the part of the bar where the text is and the rest of the bar?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14177
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by mediavets » Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:00 am

jschrader wrote:You mean you don't see that there's a difference between the part of the bar where the text is and the rest of the bar?


Yes, I see that.

It's intententional, to display a Button effect for menu items.

Perhaps Kolor could/should add a Button colour parameter in the plugin so you could set the Button colour to match the Background colour to do away with the Button effect? Or make it more emphatic by choosing a contrasting colour, as is offered for selected buttons.
Attachments
1-ptp2b4-menu-button-colours.jpg

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by jschrader » Sun Nov 24, 2013 4:27 pm

Doesn't make sense to me because as soon as there is more than one menu item there is no button effect. The button effect is created by choosing a "darker" or "lighter" color on over.

Also, if one wants to extend the bar across the entire size of the frame there is a reason. And the reason is design. With two different colors it's just useless.
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2013-11-24 um 19.20.47.png

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14177
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by mediavets » Sun Nov 24, 2013 6:40 pm

jschrader wrote:Doesn't make sense to me because as soon as there is more than one menu item there is no button effect. The button effect is created by choosing a "darker" or "lighter" color on over.

Also, if one wants to extend the bar across the entire size of the frame there is a reason. And the reason is design. With two different colors it's just useless.


I see the button effect with more than one menu item - what's more you can choose the spacing between buttons in the plugin parameters.
Attachments
1-ptp2b4-panomenu-buttons.jpg
2-ptp2b4-panomenu-buttons.jpg

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by jschrader » Sun Nov 24, 2013 6:54 pm

I am aware of the spacing but that makes it ugly ^3 :p
To solve the issue and satisfy both camps there should be an option to treat bg and main menu independently with individual values. THAT would make it intentional ;-)

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14177
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by mediavets » Sun Nov 24, 2013 7:12 pm

jschrader wrote:I am aware of the spacing but that makes it ugly ^3 :p


Or one might say that makes the button effect.

To solve the issue and satisfy both camps there should be an option to treat bg and main menu independently with individual values. THAT would make it intentional ;-)


Which is what I suggested/proposed here I think?

viewtopic.php?f=92&t=20627&p=131875#p131832

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14177
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by mediavets » Mon Nov 25, 2013 8:03 pm

jschrader wrote:I am aware of the spacing but that makes it ugly ^3 :p
To solve the issue and satisfy both camps there should be an option to treat bg and main menu independently with individual values. THAT would make it intentional ;-)


I have a possible workaround for you.

Make the background for the Panorama menu plugin completely transparent and place it on top of a Coloured area plugin.
Attachments
1-ptp2b4-panoramamenu-nobuttons.jpg
2-ptp2b4-panoramamenu-nobuttons.jpg
3-ptp2b4-panoramamenu-nobuttons.jpg

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by jschrader » Tue Nov 26, 2013 5:04 am

Looks promising, thank you very much for taking your time.

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2807
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France

Re: Panorama Menu has inconsistent tranparency

by benji33 » Thu Nov 28, 2013 10:22 am

Button effect (on/off) has been added into features list. Thanks for report


Return to Panotour bugs & discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests