Slow panoramas  

This forum is fully dedicated to Panotour / Panotour Pro bug reports as well as feature discussion.
User avatar
Marko Pencek
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:33 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija
Info

Slow panoramas

by Marko Pencek » Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:15 pm

Why are panoramas so slow and get legs in Mozilla Firefox and also to Google chrome. They work in an Internet explorer a little better. In Panatour ver. 1.8 panoramas works pretty fine. I need solutions. http://www.helifoto.si/zadar/zadar.html
Last edited by Marko Pencek on Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by mediavets » Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:22 pm

Marko Pencek wrote:Why are panoramas so slow and get legs in Mozilla Firefox and also to Google chrome. They work in an Internet explorer a little better. In Panatour ver. 1.8 panoramas works pretty fine. I need solutions. http://www.helifoto.si/zadar/zadar.html

Slow?

I didn't find your tour at all slow when viewing with Firefox 24 on a Windows XP 32-bit over a relatively low bandwidth (1.5-2.5 Mbps) ADSL Net connection in the UK.

User avatar
Marko Pencek
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:33 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by Marko Pencek » Mon Oct 14, 2013 2:30 pm

Hmmm... Very interesting. My local panoramas files and server files are same effect. Slow and legs. I have W7/64 and Firefox ver.24. My friend try access panoramas from Croatia (I´m from Slovenia) and tell me a same... legs in panorama auto rotation. I try different servers-same results. I have no idea what is wrong.

no avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5848
Likes: 92 posts
Liked in: 199 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by benji33 » Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:06 pm

After a test I doesn't see very visible differences in loading and rotations times. Perhaps little legs on Firefox but It's the flash plugin implementation into the browser.

You can try "?html5=prefer" behind url if html5 version is prefered.

As : http://www.helifoto.si/zadar/zadar.html?html5=prefer
Benjamin

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by mediavets » Mon Oct 14, 2013 3:08 pm

Marko Pencek wrote:Hmmm... Very interesting. My local panoramas files and server files are same effect. Slow and legs. I have W7/64 and Firefox ver.24. My friend try access panoramas from Croatia (I´m from Slovenia) and tell me a same... legs in panorama auto rotation. I try different servers-same results. I have no idea what is wrong.


Have you tried changing the rotation speed; be aware that there is a pause before autotation starts and the speed ramps up for a while after autorotation starts:
Attachments
1-ptp2b1-autoration-parameters.jpg
1-ptp2b1-autoration-parameters.jpg (167.95 KiB) Viewed 6544 times

User avatar
Marko Pencek
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:33 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by Marko Pencek » Mon Oct 14, 2013 6:49 pm

Thanks for all suggestions. I tray all. Here is a short video with my "legging" panoramas. I have two different pretty good computers, all updates, good graphic cards. Problem exist on both them. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mq1jy3Vgl74&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Yes. I must tell.... I converted all this (problematic) tour and panoramas from Panatour ver 1.8

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 3 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by jschrader » Tue Oct 15, 2013 4:07 pm

Marko, I suggest you try to edit the wmode-setting in your html.
Change it from "opaque" to "direct".
This is just to check if this is the cause because you may lose the js overlays.

User avatar
Marko Pencek
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:33 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by Marko Pencek » Tue Oct 15, 2013 5:44 pm

Hi,

I make "jschrader" suggestion. Yeees. It´s work! Great!! Now panoramas works without legs.
But now I got new problem. iControl bar (start/stop sound, show/hide floorplan, share the tour and full screen) are stop responding,
when I change it wmode-setting in my html from "opaque" to "direct".

Bug?

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 282
Likes: 7 posts
Liked in: 3 posts
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by jschrader » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:06 pm

Marko Pencek wrote:Hi,

I make "jschrader" suggestion. Yeees. It´s work! Great!! Now panoramas works without legs.
But now I got new problem. iControl bar (start/stop sound, show/hide floorplan, share the tour and full screen) are stop responding,
when I change it wmode-setting in my html from "opaque" to "direct".

Bug?

No bug, it's an unwanted feature.
That's the sadly truth.

Because the functions you are missing need a javascript overlay above the tour.
Unfortunately this overlay slows down the graphics performance even on fast computers.
So one can chose between smooth movement or full functionality.
The alternative would be to create it all from within krpano and avoid overlays.

User avatar
Marko Pencek
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:33 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by Marko Pencek » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:20 pm

"jschrader" thanks a lot for all informations. I hope on Color help in this story... In Panatour 1.8 all works fine.

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2210
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by HansKeesom » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:54 pm

I still see that in internet explorer the multires is not working well. IE loads each side of the cube one by one in high res, instead of first loading the lores version.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by mediavets » Tue Oct 15, 2013 8:57 pm

HansKeesom wrote:I still see that in internet explorer the multires is not working well. IE loads each side of the cube one by one in high res, instead of first loading the lores version.


Which version of IE and on which OS?

Are we talking about the Flash versioj of a tour or the HTML5 version of a tour?

User avatar
Marko Pencek
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:33 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by Marko Pencek » Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:10 pm

Same results in IE 10.0, Firefox 24.0 and Chrome 30.0
I have WIN7/64. We talk about desktop device tour version.

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2210
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by HansKeesom » Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:10 pm

mediavets wrote:
HansKeesom wrote:I still see that in internet explorer the multires is not working well. IE loads each side of the cube one by one in high res, instead of first loading the lores version.


Which version of IE and on which OS?

Are we talking about the Flash versioj of a tour or the HTML5 version of a tour?


windows 7/64 ie 10.0.9200.16721

No idea what ie loads
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by mediavets » Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:17 pm

HansKeesom wrote:windows 7/64 ie 10.0.9200.16721

No idea what ie loads


Right-click will reveal whether it's Flash or HTML5.

User avatar
Marko Pencek
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:33 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by Marko Pencek » Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:35 pm

My tour works in Flash. Flashplayer plugin 11.9.900.117

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2210
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 2 posts
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by HansKeesom » Tue Oct 15, 2013 11:39 pm

mediavets wrote:
HansKeesom wrote:windows 7/64 ie 10.0.9200.16721

No idea what ie loads


Right-click will reveal whether it's Flash or HTML5.


does not say flash so I guess it is html5

Seems hard to repeat the effect and only at pano's that were taken in the air?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by mediavets » Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:00 am

HansKeesom wrote:
mediavets wrote:
HansKeesom wrote:windows 7/64 ie 10.0.9200.16721

No idea what ie loads


Right-click will reveal whether it's Flash or HTML5.


does not say flash so I guess it is html5



Screenshots 1 and 2 show the difference in Context menu entries between HTML5 and Flash.
Attachments
1-ptp2b1-html5-ie10.jpg
1-ptp2b1-html5-ie10.jpg (244.43 KiB) Viewed 6469 times
1-ptp2b1-flashie10.jpg
1-ptp2b1-flashie10.jpg (239.31 KiB) Viewed 6469 times

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by mediavets » Wed Oct 16, 2013 8:04 am

HansKeesom wrote:
mediavets wrote:
HansKeesom wrote:windows 7/64 ie 10.0.9200.16721

No idea what ie loads


Right-click will reveal whether it's Flash or HTML5.



Seems hard to repeat the effect and only at pano's that were taken in the air?


Is this the sort of effect you are talking about? - See screenshot below.

I only see this with the HTML5 version of the tour with IE10 on Windows 8 Pro 64-bit, I don't see with the Flash version of the tour.
Attachments
2-ptp2b1-html5-ie10.jpg
2-ptp2b1-html5-ie10.jpg (216.12 KiB) Viewed 6469 times

no avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5848
Likes: 92 posts
Liked in: 199 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by benji33 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:50 am

IE10 can use CSS3D HTML5 player (IE10 text info on right click) or Flash player (with ActiveX info on right click).
Probably the CSS3D version if tile loads as Mediavets screenshot.
Benjamin

no avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5848
Likes: 92 posts
Liked in: 199 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by benji33 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 11:53 am

jschrader wrote:No bug, it's an unwanted feature.
That's the sadly truth.

Because the functions you are missing need a javascript overlay above the tour.
Unfortunately this overlay slows down the graphics performance even on fast computers.
So one can chose between smooth movement or full functionality.
The alternative would be to create it all from within krpano and avoid overlays.


Yes, all javascripts plugins need the "opaque" attribute to be correctly displayed.
HTML5 only visits doesn't suffer of this problem, but at this time HTML5 visits doesn't offer all the Flash visits features.
Benjamin

User avatar
Marko Pencek
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:33 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by Marko Pencek » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:21 pm

Benjamin,

On personal computer (IE,Mozilla,Chrome) panoramas tour works in Flash on default. Flashplayer plugin 11.9.900.117.
How can i use all features of Panatour ver. 2.0 without legs and slow rotating panoramas?

Thanks!

no avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5848
Likes: 92 posts
Liked in: 199 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by benji33 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:41 pm

Have you tried the HTML5 version of the player ? Simply add "?html5=prefer" at the end of your URL.
Benjamin

no avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5848
Likes: 92 posts
Liked in: 199 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by benji33 » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:47 pm

You can also use all features, but set all border radius to 0 if exists on plugins, and remove all plugins background transparency.

This should work even if you replace the wmode to "direct" rather than "opaque" into the HTML template.
Benjamin

User avatar
Marko Pencek
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 22
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:33 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenija
Info

Re: Slow panoramas

by Marko Pencek » Wed Oct 16, 2013 12:59 pm

Yes, I try preffer Html5 (http://www.helifoto.si/zadar/zadar.html?html5=prefer
But animation effect between two panoramas missing.

Did you in plan to solve this (background transparency, border radius,..) problems in next beta version?

Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests