Misleading "size" attributes  

This forum is fully dedicated to Panotour / Panotour Pro bug reports as well as feature discussion.
no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Misleading "size" attributes

by jschrader » Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:01 pm

If one places a picture with the image zone plugin one has to specify the width and heigh of the image.
At least that is waht I though because it turned out that in fact one hasn't.
If you leave the fields to the default value of zero the image displays in the orginal size.
Which is odd.

a. because a value of "0" implies that one has to specify a size
b. because a determined size of 0 x 0 pixels while showing the original filesize is utterly wrong

I suggest you eizer set the default value for the size to something like "original" or levae the fields blank and make sure that size values only matter if one wants it to be other than the original.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14283
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Misleading "size" attributes

by mediavets » Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:30 pm

jschrader wrote:If one places a picture with the image zone plugin one has to specify the width and heigh of the image.
At least that is waht I though because it turned out that in fact one hasn't.
If you leave the fields to the default value of zero the image displays in the orginal size.
Which is odd.

a. because a value of "0" implies that one has to specify a size
b. because a determined size of 0 x 0 pixels while showing the original filesize is utterly wrong

I suggest you eizer set the default value for the size to something like "original" or levae the fields blank and make sure that size values only matter if one wants it to be other than the original.


Perhaps, but once you know how it works is it an issue.

And there is another 'trick' this offers as currently implemented - if you enter one value but leave the other bv at '0' then the image will scale but maintain its aspect ratio, this is really useful I think.

no avatar
jschrader
Member
 
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Apr 22, 2013 3:51 pm

Re: Misleading "size" attributes

by jschrader » Mon Oct 07, 2013 8:16 pm

Why should people first have to find out by try and error that they are mislead, just because someone was too lazy or too stupid to get it right just from the beginning?

And how many "tricks" does one have to learn to make PTP into what it could easily be without any learning curve?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14283
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Misleading "size" attributes

by mediavets » Mon Oct 07, 2013 8:21 pm

jschrader wrote:Why should people first have to find out by try and error that they are mislead, just because someone was too lazy or too stupid to get it right just from the beginning?

And how many "tricks" does one have to learn to make PTP into what it could easily be without any learning curve?


IIRC it was the same in PTP 1.8.

All software has a learning curve.

User avatar
benji33
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 3051
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Location: France

Re: Misleading "size" attributes

by benji33 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:43 am

Yep. it have been reported and an "auto" value should appears one day for default size. So "0" will be a true zero value.


Return to Panotour bugs & discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests