Panotour Lightroom problem   [SOLVED] - View the solution

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Panotour 2.0+ problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
Dave Pitman
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 5
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:06 am
Info

Panotour Lightroom problem

by Dave Pitman » Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:20 am

Evaluating Kolor's software. When I use Autopano to create a pano, it loads into Panotour without issue. If I take that file into Lightroom and then export it out, it then loads into Panotour distorted. I have tried without making any edits at all in Lightroom and I have tried exporting as .jpg and .tiff with no difference.

Is this normal or am I missing something?
Attachments
b.JPG
a.JPG

User avatar
bdd
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2802
Likes: 14 posts
Liked in: 129 posts
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:05 pm
Info

Re: Panotour Lightroom problem

by bdd » Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:53 pm

Lightroom removed some informations that Autopano wrote into the EXIF of the panorama .

So you can either uncheck the option from lightroom that removes the EXIF, or you can set manually the informations in the "Projection" form in the scene properties in Panotour :
http://www.kolor.com/wiki-en/action/vie ... Projection

Dave Pitman likes this post.

no avatar
Dave Pitman
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 5
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:06 am
Info

Re: Panotour Lightroom problem

by Dave Pitman » Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:04 pm

That is it, thank you for wiki link, I missed it!

I did select the option in Lightroom to leave all exif data but apparently it is being altered anyway. Do you have any idea what particular exif info contains what Panotour uses for that?

I have attached the exif data on the image out of Autopano and then out of Lightroom. I would like to understand what is missing if possible.

Thank you !
Attachments
Exif_Lightroom.txt
Exif data after editing in Lightroom
(13.11 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
Exif_AutoPano.txt
Exif data out of AutoPano
(6.4 KiB) Downloaded 37 times

User avatar
bdd
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2802
Likes: 14 posts
Liked in: 129 posts
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:05 pm
Info

Re: Panotour Lightroom problem

by bdd » Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:00 pm

It's strange because the exif informations that Panotour needs are still there in your lightroom edit.

Panotour should understand them.

Can you send me the edited panorama ?

Gérald

no avatar
Dave Pitman
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 5
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:06 am
Info

Re: Panotour Lightroom problem

by Dave Pitman » Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:22 pm

Here is a .jpg (much smaller) copy that is handled the same as the .tif in Panotour.
*link removed*

Thank you!

no avatar
Dave Pitman
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 5
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:06 am
Info

Re: Panotour Lightroom problem

by Dave Pitman » Wed Jul 11, 2018 5:20 am

Wondering if you have found out why Panotour isn't picking up the data in the exif?

no avatar
marzipano
Member
 
Posts: 431
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 14 posts
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: Richmond London UK
Info

Re: Panotour Lightroom problem

by marzipano » Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:12 am

I have Lightroom 5.7.1 and along with every other photo editing program I use, it deletes the xmp data swction of the exif data when updating the image file

This XMP data is used by Panotour to set up the correct VFOV, HFOV and VOFFSET when the panorama is first added for html conversion

I have not found a simple way round this issue except to add the panorama into Panotour before editing just to make a note of these variables and then type them in manually when the edited panorama is to be processed

You can see the missing data by installing exiftoolgui and then selecting the XMP (Program Specific) data for that image. It should look something like this :
Attachments
xmp.jpg

User avatar
bdd
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2802
Likes: 14 posts
Liked in: 129 posts
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:05 pm
Info

Re: Panotour Lightroom problem

by bdd » Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:14 am

Panotour does not use the XMP data, so the fact they are not there should not impact Panotour.

The information we need is in the userComment that is kept by Lightroom.

We opened a ticket about this issue, and we will try to fix it for a future release of Panotour.

Gérald

no avatar
marzipano
Member
 
Posts: 431
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 14 posts
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 1:32 pm
Location: Richmond London UK
Info

Re: Panotour Lightroom problem

by marzipano » Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:49 am

bdd wrote:Panotour does not use the XMP data, so the fact they are not there should not impact Panotour.

The information we need is in the userComment that is kept by Lightroom.

We opened a ticket about this issue, and we will try to fix it for a future release of Panotour.

Gérald


Ah yes, I'd forgotten Kolor did it that way rather than via the XMP data itself

Lightroom does amend the User Comment field as well though (slighly) in that it goes from ASCII? to UNDEFINED and that must be enough to cause Panotour the problem

I have the outputs from Opanda to show that EXIF change and the effect it has on Panotour
Attachments
ab.jpg

no avatar
Dave Pitman
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 5
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 12:06 am
Info

Re: Panotour Lightroom problem  [SOLVED]

by Dave Pitman » Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:17 pm

bdd wrote:Panotour does not use the XMP data, so the fact they are not there should not impact Panotour.

The information we need is in the userComment that is kept by Lightroom.

We opened a ticket about this issue, and we will try to fix it for a future release of Panotour.

Gérald


I understand the workaround until Panotour can be adjusted.
Thank you for the support!


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests