Set radar orientation   [SOLVED] - View the solution

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Panotour 2.0+ problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
Krisztina Imre
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 124
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:11 am
Location: Hungary
Info

Set radar orientation

by Krisztina Imre » Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:49 pm

Hi, could anyone tell me how can I set radar orientation on the google maps? In older version was a set orientation icon, but I don't find now. Thanks.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Set radar orientation  [SOLVED]

by mediavets » Fri Dec 26, 2014 7:43 pm

Use the compass tool in panorama properties 3D preview.

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 648
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway
Info

Re: Set radar orientation

by leifs » Fri Dec 26, 2014 8:06 pm

the "compass tool" way to orient the pano so inpractical and inprecise !
it was a huge step backwards from the "old" way to do it.
Kolor has to come up with something better than this.

Have a look at this pano and the map. How am I supposed to set a precise radar orientation using the compass ?
http://www.rundskuer.no/panotour/romest ... ltour.html

leifs

no avatar
Krisztina Imre
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 124
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:11 am
Location: Hungary
Info

Re: Set radar orientation

by Krisztina Imre » Fri Dec 26, 2014 8:28 pm

leifs wrote:the "compass tool" way to orient the pano so inpractical and inprecise !
it was a huge step backwards from the "old" way to do it.
Kolor has to come up with something better than this.

Have a look at this pano and the map. How am I supposed to set a precise radar orientation using the compass ?
http://www.rundskuer.no/panotour/romest ... ltour.html

leifs

Really, it is difficult to correctly set the orientation.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Set radar orientation

by mediavets » Fri Dec 26, 2014 8:31 pm

leifs wrote:the "compass tool" way to orient the pano so inpractical and inprecise !
it was a huge step backwards from the "old" way to do it.
Kolor has to come up with something better than this.

Have a look at this pano and the map. How am I supposed to set a precise radar orientation using the compass ?
http://www.rundskuer.no/panotour/romest ... ltour.html

leifs


I preferred the old method too; but how precise does it really need to be?

no avatar
Krisztina Imre
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 124
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:11 am
Location: Hungary
Info

Re: Set radar orientation

by Krisztina Imre » Fri Dec 26, 2014 8:51 pm

mediavets wrote:Use the compass tool in panorama properties 3D preview.

Thanks:) One more question about google maps. I set the zoom level, but doesn't work. What do I wrong?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 16415
Likes: 2 posts
Liked in: 130 posts
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Info

Re: Set radar orientation

by mediavets » Fri Dec 26, 2014 9:44 pm

Krisztina Imre wrote:
mediavets wrote:Use the compass tool in panorama properties 3D preview.

Thanks:) One more question about google maps. I set the zoom level, but doesn't work. What do I wrong?

It seems to be working for me using PTP 2.3.0 rc1 64-bit on Windows 7 Pro.
Attachments
1-ptp23-map-zoom.jpg
2-ptp23-map-zoom.jpg

no avatar
leifs
Member
 
Posts: 648
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Sun Sep 06, 2009 12:08 pm
Location: Ørsta Norway
Info

Re: Set radar orientation

by leifs » Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:00 pm

mediavets wrote:I preferred the old method too; but how precise does it really need to be?


PTP is supposed to handle gigapixel panos, right ? Then the radar orientation should be up to the task, precise radar orientation for gigapixel outdoor panos. As is it's not the case, it is maybe ok for indoors or incity panos.
The "old way" was not perfect, but it was much more precise (an order of magnitude, at least).

Leif

no avatar
Krisztina Imre
Member
 
Topic author
Posts: 124
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:11 am
Location: Hungary
Info

Re: Set radar orientation

by Krisztina Imre » Sat Dec 27, 2014 11:46 am

mediavets wrote:
Krisztina Imre wrote:
mediavets wrote:Use the compass tool in panorama properties 3D preview.

Thanks:) One more question about google maps. I set the zoom level, but doesn't work. What do I wrong?

It seems to be working for me using PTP 2.3.0 rc1 64-bit on Windows 7 Pro.


The zoom level what you set in PTP more closer as seems on the map. This is my problem as well.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests