Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:20 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 2:05 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:31 pm
Posts: 4
Hello,

I'm new to this forum so apologies if I started a thread that has been discussed before. I did a search, but was not too successful ;-)

My problem is that my panos are not scrolling smoothly. I have quite a big project which I set up with KRPano first - where it did run smoothly.

Now as a new Panotour Pro user, I set up the pano tour again with lots of features like compass, map etc.
When I view the tour in the preview mode, I find all panos are not scrolling smoothly.

The panos are all approx. 10.000 pixels wide, so quite big.

Any hints? What am I missing?
Many thanks for your help,
Marco


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 3:29 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14036
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Are you viewing the Flash or the HTML5 version of your tour?

With which browser on which OS?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 4:41 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7804
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
Marco Mountaineer wrote:
Hello,

I'm new to this forum so apologies if I started a thread that has been discussed before. I did a search, but was not too successful ;-)

My problem is that my panos are not scrolling smoothly. I have quite a big project which I set up with KRPano first - where it did run smoothly.

Now as a new Panotour Pro user, I set up the pano tour again with lots of features like compass, map etc.
When I view the tour in the preview mode, I find all panos are not scrolling smoothly.

The panos are all approx. 10.000 pixels wide, so quite big.

Any hints? What am I missing?
Many thanks for your help,
Marco


10.000px width is rather small these days for panos. My panos and tours are about 35.000 and 80.000px wide . . . and run smoothly.

The problem is that people more and more like to overfreight their tours with thousands of redundant items like maps, compass, sound and what ever -
dancing MickeyMouses and all . . . =D :cool:

In that case the viewer´s machine should be really potent to deal with the amount of DIFFERENT informations coming from the server.

I realize that my MacPro runs even the biggest panos and tours smoothly - but when i see them on my neighbor´s average PC i see the same tours
stuttering along - that´s also related to the more or less stable and fast connection-performance of course.

So my advise: keep it simple, straight. This is ALWAYS the best way of doing things - as long as you bring them to "the point".
Forget all the gimmicks around the vital information your pano needs to transport. Nobody really needs them.

Better put your efforts in shooting highres and provide a deeper zoom-range for seeing more details. THAT is what makes people happy when they
explore a location via your panos! :cool:

Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:51 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:31 pm
Posts: 4
mediavets wrote:
Are you viewing the Flash or the HTML5 version of your tour?

With which browser on which OS?


Hi, I'm using Win7 64bit with Firefox and the latest Flash version installed - however how can I decide which version I watch? BTW, the panos stutter when I watch the preview via Panotour Pro and also if I click on the html-file on my local computer. I haven't published it online yet.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:55 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:31 pm
Posts: 4
klausesser wrote:
Marco Mountaineer wrote:
Hello,

I'm new to this forum so apologies if I started a thread that has been discussed before. I did a search, but was not too successful ;-)

My problem is that my panos are not scrolling smoothly. I have quite a big project which I set up with KRPano first - where it did run smoothly.

Now as a new Panotour Pro user, I set up the pano tour again with lots of features like compass, map etc.
When I view the tour in the preview mode, I find all panos are not scrolling smoothly.

The panos are all approx. 10.000 pixels wide, so quite big.

Any hints? What am I missing?
Many thanks for your help,
Marco


10.000px width is rather small these days for panos. My panos and tours are about 35.000 and 80.000px wide . . . and run smoothly.

The problem is that people more and more like to overfreight their tours with thousands of redundant items like maps, compass, sound and what ever -
dancing MickeyMouses and all . . . =D :cool:

In that case the viewer´s machine should be really potent to deal with the amount of DIFFERENT informations coming from the server.

I realize that my MacPro runs even the biggest panos and tours smoothly - but when i see them on my neighbor´s average PC i see the same tours
stuttering along - that´s also related to the more or less stable and fast connection-performance of course.

So my advise: keep it simple, straight. This is ALWAYS the best way of doing things - as long as you bring them to "the point".
Forget all the gimmicks around the vital information your pano needs to transport. Nobody really needs them.

Better put your efforts in shooting highres and provide a deeper zoom-range for seeing more details. THAT is what makes people happy when they
explore a location via your panos! :cool:

Klaus


Hi Klaus, thanks for reply. 10.000 px is not much, however I shoot my panos at sports competitions, so not much time to do a gigapixel or so ;-) 4 images with a fisheye will have to do the job.

Anyway, as I experienced no stutter with the KR Pano version, I was quite surprised to see this phenomenon with Panotour Pro. A little bit disappointing however.

My Desktop is a two years old Core i5 with 8 GB Ram and Win7 64bit. So performance shouldn't be an issue at all.
I will try to switch of the gimmicks to see if there will be a performance boost.

BTW, I have never performance issues viewing panos from other websites at all...

Cheers,
Marco


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 9:28 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 14036
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Marco Mountaineer wrote:
mediavets wrote:
Are you viewing the Flash or the HTML5 version of your tour?

With which browser on which OS?


Hi, I'm using Win7 64bit with Firefox and the latest Flash version installed - however how can I decide which version I watch?


See: http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... desktop%29

Quote:
BTW, the panos stutter when I watch the preview via Panotour Pro and also if I click on the html-file on my local computer. I haven't published it online yet.


For more on offline viewing see:
http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/action/ ... ur_offline


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:33 am 
Offline
New member

Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:30 pm
Posts: 5
Location: Austria
Marco Mountaineer wrote:
Anyway, as I experienced no stutter with the KR Pano version, I was quite surprised to see this phenomenon with Panotour Pro. A little bit disappointing however.


That's probably related to the Flashplayer 'wmode' setting - please see here:
http://krpano.com/docu/html/#wmode

Panotour is using wmode=opaque - this allows overlapping html elements, but also makes the Flashplayer rendering jerky...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 12:08 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7804
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
klaus/krpano wrote:
Marco Mountaineer wrote:
Anyway, as I experienced no stutter with the KR Pano version, I was quite surprised to see this phenomenon with Panotour Pro. A little bit disappointing however.


That's probably related to the Flashplayer 'wmode' setting - please see here:
http://krpano.com/docu/html/#wmode

Panotour is using wmode=opaque - this allows overlapping html elements, but also makes the Flashplayer rendering jerky...



Hey Klaus!

Which kind of solution would you suggest?

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 2:48 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 10:59 am
Posts: 2527
Location: France
You can use HTML5 version :) ... Not a good solution ?

For Flash version you can change the wmode attribute to "direct" or remove it from html page and never use HTML5 plugins with rounded corners and alpha values !

_________________
Benjamin
http://www.kolor.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 1:21 pm 
Offline
New member

Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:31 pm
Posts: 4
Hello everybody and thanks again for all your input.
wmode=direct was the solution and also, using html5 instead of flash works fine for me!
Cheers,
Marco


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group