converting panotour tiles back to spherical  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Panotour 2.0 problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
johnchoy
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: hong kong

converting panotour tiles back to spherical

by johnchoy » Thu Jul 03, 2014 11:03 am

I lost my original sphericals and the panotour files due to a corrupted hard drive issue, fortunately, I can download back my finished tour from my web server.
can anybody help me how can I converting the tiles back to a spherical. I'm a command line novice and I just don't know how to merging tiles with kmaketiles.

thx,

John

User avatar
bdd
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 1745
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:05 pm

Re: converting panotour tiles back to spherical

by bdd » Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:28 pm

johnchoy wrote:I lost my original sphericals and the panotour files due to a corrupted hard drive issue, fortunately, I can download back my finished tour from my web server.
can anybody help me how can I converting the tiles back to a spherical. I'm a command line novice and I just don't know how to merging tiles with kmaketiles.

thx,

John


Open the main XML file of your tour, it contains the description of each scene and the way it is tiled. Some informations here will be usefull.

For example, you'll see such lines :

Code: Select all
    <image type="CUBE" multires="true" baseindex="0" tilesize="512">
      <level tiledimagewidth="4341" tiledimageheight="4341">
          <front url="cascade_46/0/3/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <right url="cascade_46/1/3/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <back  url="cascade_46/2/3/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <left  url="cascade_46/3/3/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <up    url="cascade_46/4/3/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <down  url="cascade_46/5/3/%v_%u.jpg"/>
      </level>
      <level tiledimagewidth="2170" tiledimageheight="2170">
          <front url="cascade_46/0/2/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <right url="cascade_46/1/2/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <back  url="cascade_46/2/2/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <left  url="cascade_46/3/2/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <up    url="cascade_46/4/2/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <down  url="cascade_46/5/2/%v_%u.jpg"/>
      </level>
      <level tiledimagewidth="1085" tiledimageheight="1085">
          <front url="cascade_46/0/1/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <right url="cascade_46/1/1/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <back  url="cascade_46/2/1/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <left  url="cascade_46/3/1/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <up    url="cascade_46/4/1/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <down  url="cascade_46/5/1/%v_%u.jpg"/>
      </level>
      <level tiledimagewidth="542" tiledimageheight="542">
          <front url="cascade_46/0/0/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <right url="cascade_46/1/0/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <back  url="cascade_46/2/0/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <left  url="cascade_46/3/0/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <up    url="cascade_46/4/0/%v_%u.jpg"/>
          <down  url="cascade_46/5/0/%v_%u.jpg"/>
      </level>
    </image>

If you work on full spheres, you'll have to retile each cube face before creating the equirectangular.

In the command line, go into the directory of the highest level of a cube face. In the previous example, the highest level is the "3".

there use the kmaketiles tool :

C:\YourPathOfTheTools\kmaketiles.exe %v_%h.jpg cubeface_f.jpg 0 -insize=4341x4341 -intilesize=512 -inindexbase=0


The second parameter is the output cube face file.
Suffix it by _f, _l, _u, _d, _r, _b . Krpano needs these suffixes to understand which cube face is on top, left, right, etc...
In your tour, here is the link between these suffixes and the directories number :

0 -> _f
1 -> _r
2 -> _b
3 -> _l
4 -> _u
5 -> _d

The third parameter is always 0. We do not want to tile, but to "untile"
The -insize parameter should contain the values of the tiledimagewidth and tiledimageheight attributes of the highest level in the XML file
The -intilesize parameter should contain the value of the tilesize in the XML file. If your tour are all done with the 2.0 version, then this value is always 512 .

The -inindexbase parameter is always 0 for panotour tiles.


Once you got your 6 cube faces. You have to use kcube2sphere to get the equirectangular :

C:\YourPathOfTheTools\kcube2sphere.exe cubeface_b.jpg cubeface_l.jpg cubeface_r.jpg cubeface_u.jpg cubeface_d.jpg cubeface_f.jpg


Here is the documentation of those 2 binaries on krpano website :

http://krpano.com/tools/kmaketiles/
http://krpano.com/tools/kcube2sphere/

no avatar
johnchoy
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: hong kong

Re: converting panotour tiles back to spherical

by johnchoy » Fri Jul 04, 2014 4:09 am


there use the kmaketiles tool :
C:\YourPathOfTheTools\kmaketiles.exe %v_%h.jpg cubeface_f.jpg 0 -insize=4341x4341 -intilesize=512 -inindexbase=0


Thx for the reply.

Are you mentioning the windows command line method?

I 'm uisng mac now and I can't find the kmaketiles.exe in the Krpano folder.

thx again,

John

User avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 5002
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia

Re: converting panotour tiles back to spherical

by Destiny » Fri Jul 04, 2014 5:08 am

Hi ..

For Mac you need "MAKE PANO (TILED) droplet" in the krpano tools....

Destiny..

PS.. Or at least its seems to be the file.. Not sure.. I found it in the older krpano tool folders. The new krpano does not have this as far as I know.. And the old version suggest the file is corrupted and needs to be added to the bin.. =(

no avatar
johnchoy
Member
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: hong kong

Re: converting panotour tiles back to spherical

by johnchoy » Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:05 am

Hi Destiny,

I can't find there's a "MAKE PANO (TILED) droplet" in krpano tools. where can I get this droplets ?

thx,

John

User avatar
Destiny
Moderator
 
Posts: 5002
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:55 pm
Location: Australia

Re: converting panotour tiles back to spherical

by Destiny » Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:41 am

Try this link... Its the older versions of krpano..

http://krpano.com/download/archive/

I tried to do this as Gerald suggested using the Mac option but I could not work it out.. Probably since my slices are not named in the same way... I just get errors... Suggesting the krpano tool is corrupted.. I think its a handy thing to know how to do...

Destiny...
Attachments
krpano.jpg


Return to Using Panotour / Panotour Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gkaefer, viewmaster and 3 guests