Tour too Slow  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Panotour 2.0 problem!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
fsimao222
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:02 pm

Tour too Slow

by fsimao222 » Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:18 am

Hi,
I'm new to virtual tours and hope someone can help me.
I've made one big virtual tour (21 (360x180) panoramas, 49 hotspots, 21 floor plan spots) with multi-resolution, incremental build, Flash and HTML5, JPG quality 12 and when I upload it to my server to see it online it is too slow to open and to change between panoramas, you even can see it rendering the panorama slowly.
I should be doing something wrong.

My panoramas size are: 3840x1920px at 300pixels/inch

here is the virtual toul to you can see.
http://servifoto.pt/Final/NT%20Gold%20Final.html

Thanks

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14177
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Tour too Slow

by mediavets » Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:42 am

It doesn't seem that slow to me - viewing with latest Firefox on Windows 7 Pro 64-bit - and my Net connection is typically less than 3Mbps.

You could try reducing the JPEG quality to 8, 9 or 10.

Having a Little planet intro always slows initial load I think.

Switching between scenes seems acceptable to me.

Your pano images are rather small if they really are 3840x1920px.

6k x 3k would normally be considered the minimum for reasonable detail I believe, unless you are only ever going to display the pano is a small window on web page.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7859
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: Tour too Slow

by klausesser » Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:39 pm

fsimao222 wrote: JPG quality 12


Much too high. Use 8. I did it here: http://www.360impressions.de/Lichtturm (700MPx per pano).

fsimao222 wrote:I should be doing something wrong.


Yes: too much data-size due to JPG12.

fsimao222 wrote:My panoramas size are: 3840x1920px at 300pixels/inch


Very small pixel-size - minimizes view-quality. 300dpi is ONLY needed for offset-printig in magazines and so.
Set your APG rendering to 72dpi (default) and set JPG to max. 8 in PTP.

best, Klaus
Last edited by klausesser on Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7859
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: Tour too Slow

by klausesser » Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:44 pm

mediavets wrote:6k x 3k would normally be considered the minimum for reasonable detail I believe, unless you are only ever going to display the pano is a small window on web page.


Regarding that more and more screens today have around 1920x1080px i suggest at least 10000 x 5ooopx for interactive panos being displayed in fairly good quality.

best, Klaus

no avatar
fsimao222
Member
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:02 pm

Re: Tour too Slow

by fsimao222 » Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:00 am

Sorry for the late reply.
Thanks for the help.
I'll test with lower quality, 72DPI and 10000x5000px.
Thanks again

no avatar
shop360
Member
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:45 pm

Re: Tour too Slow

by shop360 » Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:36 pm

question
if im exporting in autopano should i still export at max quality (12) then set it to 8 in panotour or can i use 8 for both? or will that reduce quality further since panotour would export a lower quality pano at at quality of 8?
klausesser wrote:
fsimao222 wrote: JPG quality 12


Much too high. Use 8. I did it here: http://www.360impressions.de/Lichtturm (700MPx per pano).

fsimao222 wrote:I should be doing something wrong.


Yes: too much data-size due to JPG12.

fsimao222 wrote:My panoramas size are: 3840x1920px at 300pixels/inch


Very small pixel-size - minimizes view-quality. 300dpi is ONLY needed for offset-printig in magazines and so.
Set your APG rendering to 72dpi (default) and set JPG to max. 8 in PTP.

best, Klaus

no avatar
klausesser
Member
 
Posts: 7859
Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: Tour too Slow

by klausesser » Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:41 pm

shop360 wrote:question
if im exporting in autopano should i still export at max quality (12) then set it to 8 in panotour or can i use 8 for both?
or will that reduce quality further since panotour would export a lower quality pano at at quality of 8?


I suggest to use TIFF for APG output and then 7 or 8 for JPG in PTP.

best, Klaus


Return to Using Panotour / Panotour Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests