Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 5:42 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Tour too Slow
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:18 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:02 pm
Posts: 20
Hi,
I'm new to virtual tours and hope someone can help me.
I've made one big virtual tour (21 (360x180) panoramas, 49 hotspots, 21 floor plan spots) with multi-resolution, incremental build, Flash and HTML5, JPG quality 12 and when I upload it to my server to see it online it is too slow to open and to change between panoramas, you even can see it rendering the panorama slowly.
I should be doing something wrong.

My panoramas size are: 3840x1920px at 300pixels/inch

here is the virtual toul to you can see.
http://servifoto.pt/Final/NT%20Gold%20Final.html

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tour too Slow
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 11:42 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Posts: 13601
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.
It doesn't seem that slow to me - viewing with latest Firefox on Windows 7 Pro 64-bit - and my Net connection is typically less than 3Mbps.

You could try reducing the JPEG quality to 8, 9 or 10.

Having a Little planet intro always slows initial load I think.

Switching between scenes seems acceptable to me.

Your pano images are rather small if they really are 3840x1920px.

6k x 3k would normally be considered the minimum for reasonable detail I believe, unless you are only ever going to display the pano is a small window on web page.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tour too Slow
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:39 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7620
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
fsimao222 wrote:
JPG quality 12


Much too high. Use 8. I did it here: http://www.360impressions.de/Lichtturm (700MPx per pano).

fsimao222 wrote:
I should be doing something wrong.


Yes: too much data-size due to JPG12.

fsimao222 wrote:
My panoramas size are: 3840x1920px at 300pixels/inch


Very small pixel-size - minimizes view-quality. 300dpi is ONLY needed for offset-printig in magazines and so.
Set your APG rendering to 72dpi (default) and set JPG to max. 8 in PTP.

best, Klaus


Last edited by klausesser on Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tour too Slow
PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 1:44 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7620
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
mediavets wrote:
6k x 3k would normally be considered the minimum for reasonable detail I believe, unless you are only ever going to display the pano is a small window on web page.


Regarding that more and more screens today have around 1920x1080px i suggest at least 10000 x 5ooopx for interactive panos being displayed in fairly good quality.

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tour too Slow
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 11:00 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2014 6:02 pm
Posts: 20
Sorry for the late reply.
Thanks for the help.
I'll test with lower quality, 72DPI and 10000x5000px.
Thanks again


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tour too Slow
PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:36 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:45 pm
Posts: 17
question
if im exporting in autopano should i still export at max quality (12) then set it to 8 in panotour or can i use 8 for both? or will that reduce quality further since panotour would export a lower quality pano at at quality of 8?
klausesser wrote:
fsimao222 wrote:
JPG quality 12


Much too high. Use 8. I did it here: http://www.360impressions.de/Lichtturm (700MPx per pano).

fsimao222 wrote:
I should be doing something wrong.


Yes: too much data-size due to JPG12.

fsimao222 wrote:
My panoramas size are: 3840x1920px at 300pixels/inch


Very small pixel-size - minimizes view-quality. 300dpi is ONLY needed for offset-printig in magazines and so.
Set your APG rendering to 72dpi (default) and set JPG to max. 8 in PTP.

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Tour too Slow
PostPosted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:41 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon May 22, 2006 12:18 am
Posts: 7620
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany
shop360 wrote:
question
if im exporting in autopano should i still export at max quality (12) then set it to 8 in panotour or can i use 8 for both?
or will that reduce quality further since panotour would export a lower quality pano at at quality of 8?


I suggest to use TIFF for APG output and then 7 or 8 for JPG in PTP.

best, Klaus


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group