Missing images within stitched pano  

All things panoramic.
An open forum for every topic on photography, panoramas, IT or related.
no avatar
Melville
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 1:59 am

Missing images within stitched pano

by Melville » Mon Jul 28, 2014 2:05 am

Hi, I have recently began using AutoPano Giga 3, and am having difficulty with some of the stitched images having several blank areas with missing selected images. What causes this problem, and how do I overcome it?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14288
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Missing images within stitched pano

by mediavets » Mon Jul 28, 2014 2:27 am

Melville wrote:Hi, I have recently began using AutoPano Giga 3, and am having difficulty with some of the stitched images having several blank areas with missing selected images. What causes this problem, and how do I overcome it?

Welcome to the forum...

What camera and lens are you using?

Are you using a proper pano head that is adjusted/configured correctly? Or are you shooting handheld?

If images are being left out of the stitch it is usually because they are 'featureless' - section of plain blue sky or white ceiling for example - and APG is unable to find any feature to match with neighbouring overlapping images.

Might this be the case here?

Can we see a screenshot from the Control Point editor - below - that could reveal where the problems lie and why?
Attachments
1-apg36-cpe.jpg

no avatar
Melville
New member
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 1:59 am

Re: Missing images within stitched pano

by Melville » Mon Jul 28, 2014 2:59 am

Hi,
I was using Canon 5D iii with Canon EF L 100mm - 400mm mounted on GigaPan Epic Pro (setup with 35% overlaps).

The areas which are missing are sections of clouded sky and some water areas. How would I force APG to include these portions?

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14288
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Missing images within stitched pano

by mediavets » Mon Jul 28, 2014 3:19 am

Melville wrote:Hi,
I was using Canon 5D iii with Canon EF L 100mm - 400mm mounted on GigaPan Epic Pro (setup with 35% overlaps).

The areas which are missing are sections of clouded sky and some water areas. How would I force APG to include these portions?


Are you using the Gigapan Import wizard? (File/Import ...)
Attachments
1-apg36-gigapan-import.jpg

User avatar
a a gruntpuddock
Member
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Sep 27, 2011 2:15 pm

Re: Missing images within stitched pano

by a a gruntpuddock » Mon Jul 28, 2014 11:17 am

What I do is set the option to use every picture option.

The shots which the program cannot locate usually end up in a (virtual) heap in one corner.

Go into 'move images' mode and set the grid on.

You will then see the location and number of each picture.

Drag the unplaced pictures into position and that should then stitch.

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm

Re: Missing images within stitched pano

by HansKeesom » Mon Jul 28, 2014 11:25 am

The import wizard should do the trick. Else you need to work through all photos and change their coordinates.


Return to Open discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest