Pro vs Giga  

All things panoramic.
An open forum for every topic on photography, panoramas, IT or related.
no avatar
rendez2k
New member
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:22 am

Pro vs Giga

by rendez2k » Sun Jun 01, 2014 10:26 am

Hi all, I'm sure this has been asked before, but can somebody tell me in simple terms what Giga does over Pro before I purchase? To me, little difference which might be the answer (in other words, I'm not using any of the Giga features). The Lightroom plugin seems handy but not essential. What does the "HDR: customizable fusion" and "Export of image stacks for processing in third-party software (plug-in)" features do? Are there any extra killer features which are essential and worth the extra money?

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm

Re: Pro vs Giga

by HansKeesom » Sun Jun 01, 2014 12:07 pm

rendez2k wrote:Hi all, I'm sure this has been asked before, but can somebody tell me in simple terms what Giga does over Pro before I purchase? To me, little difference which might be the answer (in other words, I'm not using any of the Giga features). The Lightroom plugin seems handy but not essential. What does the "HDR: customizable fusion" and "Export of image stacks for processing in third-party software (plug-in)" features do? Are there any extra killer features which are essential and worth the extra money?


No, if you want to work with stacks you better process them into single images using photomatix before loading them into autopano.

some people really want to use specialised tools to change the HDR-effect afterwards. In general not needed.

I do have GIGA running on my machines but never really needed the extra features.
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14268
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

Re: Pro vs Giga

by mediavets » Sun Jun 01, 2014 12:43 pm

Not to mention:

Workspace saving.

The mask tool.

Multiple viewpoints feature.

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2162
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm

Re: Pro vs Giga

by HansKeesom » Sun Jun 01, 2014 1:55 pm

mediavets wrote:Not to mention:

Workspace saving.

The mask tool.

Multiple viewpoints feature.


I have to admit, without these my work would be a lot more difficult

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

Re: Pro vs Giga

by gkaefer » Sun Jun 01, 2014 3:34 pm

a list of Features:
http://www.kolor.com/autopano-pro-giga-comparison.html

The "Export of image stacks for processing in third-party software (plug-in)" you mention is used to Export Image stack on the fly to external stacker (zerene stacker is supported) so you can also do Focus stacking without preprocessing the Images first...

I use zerene stacker... but I do use it preprocessing the Images... personal workflow Preference.
more important Feature of the giga Version is the Feature to save the Workspace, the Multiple viewpoints Support and the masking tool . These 3 Features for me are worth the giga
Attachments
2014-06-01 16_22_47-Autopano Giga 64bits 3.5.1.png
2014-06-01 16_25_05-stacker_softwaredownloads [Zerene Stacker] - Internet Explorer.png
2014-06-01 16_27_56-Autopano Giga 64bits 3.5.1.png


Return to Open discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests