Windows EXIF data editor wanted  

All things panoramic.
An open forum for every topic on photography, panoramas, IT or related.
User avatar
Aeriscera
Member
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Bath, UK

Windows EXIF data editor wanted

by Aeriscera » Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:47 pm

I have been using some software that processes photos and writes .tif files but sometimes it does not copy across the EXIF data. My guess is that I can use an EXIF editor to add the missing fields but I haven't had any luck finding a suitable program. I'm hoping someone can tell me which program will do what I want.

I thought that exiftool was exactly what I wanted but it does not allow me to add a shutter speed - it says "Shutter speed is not writeable" or something similar. I also read that you can edit EXIF data fields directly in Windows by going to the Properties/Details tab. This does not appear to be true on either of my computers (Win 7 and Win Vista). I can see the data but it is not editable. (But in any case, I don't want to edit an existing field, I want to add a new one.)

I've tried a few randomly-chosen free/free trial programs and one with a web interface but they simply don't work. I have run out of patience and my computer is probably infected with all sorts of viruses now :-)

Can anyone help please?
Last edited by Aeriscera on Sat Mar 02, 2013 11:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sun Mar 03, 2013 2:01 am

I use the exiftoolgui:
http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/exiftool/forum/index.php/board,7.0.html?PHPSESSID=m2e5ojkfonlflv78g4bqndapj1
and here as shown in my screenshot, I can add randomly to a jpg screenshot shutterspeed/exposure time and focal and save it (win8 64bit I use the Default Image Gallery Directory provided by Windows...)

Georg


Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Mar 03, 2013 2:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Aeriscera
Member
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Bath, UK

by Aeriscera » Sun Mar 03, 2013 2:27 am

Hi Georg,

Thanks for your reply.

Either you are using witchcraft or you know something I don't because when I run exiftoolgui and try to add a shutter speed I'm told that I can't do that - see snapshot. The way I tried to do this was to click on the "Exiftool Direct" button and enter "-ShutterSpeed=1/15". Am I missing something?

A



User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:32 pm

;)

I rather think ist because of different program Version we're using... your GUI is looking different to mine...
following screenshot Shows the step I've to do to change the exposure time value with successful saving 1/60 was original value I changed to 1/600...

I use the Version v15.4.0.0 currently newest Version is v15.5. from this site:
http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/~bogdan/

so I did update/replace it by downloading the exiftool-9.22.zip and the exiftoolgui515.zip:
I extracted the exiftoolgui515.zip, I got:
exiftoolgui515\exiftoolgui\
in this Directory I copied the exiftool.exe
than I made a link on the Desktop to C:\Program Files (x86)\exiftool\exiftoolgui515\exiftoolgui\ExifToolGUI.exe and I run it as Admin (without it cant save the config file on closing exiftoolgui)

Georg


Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Aeriscera
Member
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Bath, UK

by Aeriscera » Sun Mar 03, 2013 12:35 pm

Thanks for the link - I shall certainly get it.

But, erm, I kinda discovered that the tag for shutter speed isn't ShutterSpeed but ExposureTime. I *can* set this even with my old version.

A

User avatar
Aeriscera
Member
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Bath, UK

by Aeriscera » Sun Mar 03, 2013 1:45 pm

gkaefer wrote:;)

I use the Version v15.4.0.0 currently newest Version is v15.5. from this site:
http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/~bogdan/

Sorry if I am being completely useless, but I can't find the download you are referring to. Clicking your link takes me to a page entitled "ExifToolGUI for Windows v5.xx" and in Section 2 The first paragraph begins "You can download GUI from here.". Following that link takes me to http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/exiftool/forum/ but I can't see any obvious download links. I had a quick scan of the various fora but could see a sticky post saying "Get It Here" or similar.

no avatar
mediavets
Moderator
 
Posts: 14272
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:12 pm
Location: Isleham, Cambridgeshire, UK.

by mediavets » Sun Mar 03, 2013 3:02 pm

Aeriscera wrote:
gkaefer wrote:;)

I use the Version v15.4.0.0 currently newest Version is v15.5. from this site:
http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/~bogdan/

Sorry if I am being completely useless, but I can't find the download you are referring to. Clicking your link takes me to a page entitled "ExifToolGUI for Windows v5.xx" and in Section 2 The first paragraph begins "You can download GUI from here.". Following that link takes me to http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/exiftool/forum/ but I can't see any obvious download links. I had a quick scan of the various fora but could see a sticky post saying "Get It Here" or similar.

http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/

http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/~bogdan/exiftoolgui515.zip
Andrew Stephens
Many different Nodal Ninja and Agnos pano heads. Merlin/Panogear mount with Papywizard on Nokia Internet tablets.
Nikon D5100 and D40, Sigma 8mm f3.5 FE, Nikon 10.5mm FE, 35mm, 50mm, 18-55mm, 70-210mm. Promote control.

User avatar
gkaefer
Member
 
Posts: 3372
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:01 pm
Location: Salzburg

by gkaefer » Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:27 pm

mediavets wrote:
Aeriscera wrote:
gkaefer wrote:;)

I use the Version v15.4.0.0 currently newest Version is v15.5. from this site:
http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/~bogdan/

Sorry if I am being completely useless, but I can't find the download you are referring to. Clicking your link takes me to a page entitled "ExifToolGUI for Windows v5.xx" and in Section 2 The first paragraph begins "You can download GUI from here.". Following that link takes me to http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/exiftool/forum/ but I can't see any obvious download links. I had a quick scan of the various fora but could see a sticky post saying "Get It Here" or similar.

http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/

http://u88.n24.queensu.ca/~bogdan/exiftoolgui515.zip

and about the http://www.sno.phy.queensu.ca/~phil/exiftool/ exiftool: the Windows executable package only is needed.

here you have to follow bogdans tip - there are 2 possible ways you have to handle the single file inside the exiftool.zipfile you downloaded:

How come there can be Case A or B? Because it depends on your Windows settings. What you need to do (depending on the case above), is:
•Case A: rename exiftool(-k) to exiftool (=don't add exe extension!)
•Case B: rename exiftool(-k).exe to exiftool.exe (=keep exe extension!)
Now copy renamed exiftool file into Windows directory -this is the best place- and ExifTool is ready to be used.

Note: In case you've done something wrong in this regard, you'll see an error message when GUI starts.

on win 8 I had to follow case B...
Georg
Last edited by gkaefer on Sun Mar 03, 2013 5:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Aeriscera
Member
 
Posts: 513
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:49 pm
Location: Bath, UK

by Aeriscera » Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:31 pm

I have it now - thanks,


Return to Open discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest