I am contemplating upgrading to  

Got some great idea or a feature request? Post it here and discuss it. The most requested concepts are usually implemented, as Autopano Pro / Giga is very community driven.
no avatar
grouse
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:11 pm

I am contemplating upgrading to

by grouse » Sat Jan 14, 2006 5:41 pm

4 gigs ram,
4400 x2 amd chip
64bit pro xp,
and several new large hdds.

My question is to the APP team. Will APP beable to take full advantage of this new set of hardware?

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Sat Jan 14, 2006 8:13 pm

Yep. That's funny, because I'm currently compiling a 64bits XP version of APP ...

no avatar
l_archi
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:05 pm

by l_archi » Sat Jan 14, 2006 8:25 pm

64 Bit and only 4 Gigs ? :)

Check : http://www.razorback2.com/fr/hardware

no avatar
Panorama fanatic
Member
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia

by Panorama fanatic » Sun Jan 15, 2006 3:08 pm

Alexander, 64 bits is very good, but I ask you you to think about 2 extensions for 32-bits version:

Adding "3GB flag" in EXE-ehader to use more then 2 GB memory, if your user add switch /3GB to boot.ini. It is very easy, but useful

Using "Address Windowing Extensions" - this is feature of WIndows to use more the 2GB memory on 32-bits systems.

MSDN have description of both features

no avatar
grouse
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:11 pm

by grouse » Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:55 pm

That flag only works if you have xppro not xp home btw.

no avatar
l_archi
Member
 
Posts: 162
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:05 pm

by l_archi » Sun Jan 15, 2006 9:17 pm

Benchmark rendering should be interresting :

64bit linux / 64bit windows .. with 4gb+

Idea ..
autopano live cd ? :)

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:02 am

We'll also look at the option you've quoted.
To l_archi : cool idea, a live cd, with just the necessary tools to stitch with maximum memory and cpu available ... nice

no avatar
grouse
Member
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:11 pm

by grouse » Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:11 am

I am amazed at the price difference between the many different shops i find online.

Falcon NW wants 3800 bucks to make this with out me choosing the hard drives, monitors, keyboard, dvd, and the tablet. OH and that only had 1 gig of ram.

Zipzoomfly wants about 1950 in parts minus the same things mentioned in falcon northwest.

Newegg want's 1800 for that list minus the same stuff, I allready have that.

ABS a newegg advertiser wanted 3200 for as close as i could make.

Dell was 4200 For a comparable intel system

Ibuypower was 1800 but most of the items i selected were not of name brand make and of questionable quality and comparability.

Here is the basic set up

Case = Gigabyte 3d aurora in black. I need to tone down the 10 blue led's i have cooling this rig.
PSU = Antec true power II tpII 550 watt
Mother board = MSI k8n Diamond Plus Full sli x16. I do play games after all.
Chip = AMD 4400 x2
Ram = 4 1 gig sticks of matched pc 3200 ram.
Video = 2 evga 7800 gt's in sli.
HDD = 2 WD 36gig raptors, 2 250 gig drives. and eventually a full raid 5 in 300 gig drives.
monitors = my current dell 1905 19"
DVD = my plextor 716 A
Keyboard = MS wireless elite and mouse
Tablet = Wacom intuos 3...
Last edited by grouse on Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:27 am, edited 1 time in total.


Return to Autopano future

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests