Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:51 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 5:41 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:11 pm
Posts: 14
4 gigs ram,
4400 x2 amd chip
64bit pro xp,
and several new large hdds.

My question is to the APP team. Will APP beable to take full advantage of this new set of hardware?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 8:13 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
Yep. That's funny, because I'm currently compiling a 64bits XP version of APP ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 8:25 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:05 pm
Posts: 162
64 Bit and only 4 Gigs ? :)

Check : http://www.razorback2.com/fr/hardware


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 3:08 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 2:28 pm
Posts: 403
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Alexander, 64 bits is very good, but I ask you you to think about 2 extensions for 32-bits version:

Adding "3GB flag" in EXE-ehader to use more then 2 GB memory, if your user add switch /3GB to boot.ini. It is very easy, but useful

Using "Address Windowing Extensions" - this is feature of WIndows to use more the 2GB memory on 32-bits systems.

MSDN have description of both features


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 4:55 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:11 pm
Posts: 14
That flag only works if you have xppro not xp home btw.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2006 9:17 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 9:05 pm
Posts: 162
Benchmark rendering should be interresting :

64bit linux / 64bit windows .. with 4gb+

Idea ..
autopano live cd ? :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:02 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
We'll also look at the option you've quoted.
To l_archi : cool idea, a live cd, with just the necessary tools to stitch with maximum memory and cpu available ... nice


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:11 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 8:11 pm
Posts: 14
I am amazed at the price difference between the many different shops i find online.

Falcon NW wants 3800 bucks to make this with out me choosing the hard drives, monitors, keyboard, dvd, and the tablet. OH and that only had 1 gig of ram.

Zipzoomfly wants about 1950 in parts minus the same things mentioned in falcon northwest.

Newegg want's 1800 for that list minus the same stuff, I allready have that.

ABS a newegg advertiser wanted 3200 for as close as i could make.

Dell was 4200 For a comparable intel system

Ibuypower was 1800 but most of the items i selected were not of name brand make and of questionable quality and comparability.

Here is the basic set up

Case = Gigabyte 3d aurora in black. I need to tone down the 10 blue led's i have cooling this rig.
PSU = Antec true power II tpII 550 watt
Mother board = MSI k8n Diamond Plus Full sli x16. I do play games after all.
Chip = AMD 4400 x2
Ram = 4 1 gig sticks of matched pc 3200 ram.
Video = 2 evga 7800 gt's in sli.
HDD = 2 WD 36gig raptors, 2 250 gig drives. and eventually a full raid 5 in 300 gig drives.
monitors = my current dell 1905 19"
DVD = my plextor 716 A
Keyboard = MS wireless elite and mouse
Tablet = Wacom intuos 3...


Last edited by grouse on Mon Jan 16, 2006 9:27 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group