drop down for file type in select pictures...  

Got some great idea or a feature request? Post it here and discuss it. The most requested concepts are usually implemented, as Autopano Pro / Giga is very community driven.
no avatar
ckiely
Member
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:12 am
Location: Southern California, USA

drop down for file type in select pictures...

by ckiely » Sat Feb 25, 2006 6:54 pm

In the select pictures dialog box, it would be nice to have:

TIF (*.TIF)
RAW (*.NEF, *.RAW, etc)
JPG (*.JPG)
etc etc etc

That way I can more easily choose if I want to run the selection off of a processed TIF or RAW.

I have to say that so far I am more pleased w/ the results off of processed TIFs than RAW... I am kind of stuck at the moment tho'. I can run HDR off of my RAW files, but not off my 8-bit TIFs. But I get more native dynamic range from my processed S3 Pro TIFs. Not to mention that the processing speed on TIFs is blazing compare to RAW.

User avatar
francois.simond
Member
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:32 pm
Location: France, Chambéry

by francois.simond » Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:51 pm

You will maybe always get better results from 16bit TIFs from RAW than from internal RAW conversion.

Raw processing is very complex process today, and current converters use very advanced algorithms :
- de-matricing (from bayer or honeycomb)
- noise reduction
- removing chromatic abberations
- sharpen image according to the sensor anti-alias filter specificities
- application of color profiles

The internal converter, based on dcraw is not so much advanced, but will still give good results for low iso images taken with good lens. It has the advantage to use the extended headroom of dynamic in raw as usable pixels for HDR stitching (dcraw has the ability to use r-pixels, but does not apply noise reduction)

For now, RAW in Autopano Pro will better do with post processing, but that's often the case with RAW !
François Simond

no avatar
ckiely
Member
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:12 am
Location: Southern California, USA

by ckiely » Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:30 pm

No problems... I happy w/ the output no matter what :)

Now... if we could get that HDR w/ TIF bug sorted out that would be great!

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

by AlexandreJ » Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:40 pm

We'll add that. Easy to do.


Return to Autopano future

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest