Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:29 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 6:54 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:12 am
Posts: 133
Location: Southern California, USA
In the select pictures dialog box, it would be nice to have:

TIF (*.TIF)
RAW (*.NEF, *.RAW, etc)
JPG (*.JPG)
etc etc etc

That way I can more easily choose if I want to run the selection off of a processed TIF or RAW.

I have to say that so far I am more pleased w/ the results off of processed TIFs than RAW... I am kind of stuck at the moment tho'. I can run HDR off of my RAW files, but not off my 8-bit TIFs. But I get more native dynamic range from my processed S3 Pro TIFs. Not to mention that the processing speed on TIFs is blazing compare to RAW.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 10:51 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2005 4:32 pm
Posts: 122
Location: France, Chambéry
You will maybe always get better results from 16bit TIFs from RAW than from internal RAW conversion.

Raw processing is very complex process today, and current converters use very advanced algorithms :
- de-matricing (from bayer or honeycomb)
- noise reduction
- removing chromatic abberations
- sharpen image according to the sensor anti-alias filter specificities
- application of color profiles

The internal converter, based on dcraw is not so much advanced, but will still give good results for low iso images taken with good lens. It has the advantage to use the extended headroom of dynamic in raw as usable pixels for HDR stitching (dcraw has the ability to use r-pixels, but does not apply noise reduction)

For now, RAW in Autopano Pro will better do with post processing, but that's often the case with RAW !

_________________
François Simond


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 11:30 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 5:12 am
Posts: 133
Location: Southern California, USA
No problems... I happy w/ the output no matter what :)

Now... if we could get that HDR w/ TIF bug sorted out that would be great!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006 4:40 pm 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5870
Location: Francin, France
We'll add that. Easy to do.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group