Custom use of scratch drives  

Got some great idea or a feature request? Post it here and discuss it. The most requested concepts are usually implemented, as Autopano Pro / Giga is very community driven.
no avatar
MartinKS
Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:11 pm

Custom use of scratch drives

by MartinKS » Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:25 pm

Rather than one big scratch disk I've got a lot of disks each with space on them. I've set up the software to use them all, and so it does. Unfortunately it uses every last byte on a disk before moving on to the next one, and this makes windows do all kinds of strange things at times.

Would it be possible to have a setting to tell the software to use all but the last x GB of a disk?

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2169
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm

by HansKeesom » Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:30 pm

I would suggest not to use disks that are also used by windows. Have one or two scratch disks specially for that purpose.
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

no avatar
MartinKS
Member
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 5:11 pm

by MartinKS » Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:06 am

I do try to, but Windows complains any time any of my disks get completely full - it comes up with a "do you want to tidy this disk" message, which I'm sure eats at least some processor time etc.

no avatar
HansKeesom
Member
 
Posts: 2169
Joined: Mon Jul 19, 2010 8:53 pm

by HansKeesom » Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:16 pm

O it will eat some processor time but compared to what APG uses it will be nothing. Problably an option that can be turned of somewhere inside windows.
Regards, Hans Keesom
I stitch and render for other photographers. Price: 25 euro or less, no cure no pay. If you want to concentrate on your business let me do the stitching for you. Free TB of Dropbox space when you have more then 250 euro business a year.

no avatar
foundation
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 4:43 am

by foundation » Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:38 am

There was some discussion about this in this bug report. http://www.kolor.com/forum/t15450-apg-3.0.0-a1-win-7-sp1-x64-crash-when-out-of-temporary-space

My understanding is that if you ahve multiple temp folders for autopano, it will leave 1GB of space before moving on to the next one. However if you only have one drive (like a laptop for example) it will use up every last byte which causes lots of problems with windows and mac os X


Return to Autopano future

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest