Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Wed Sep 17, 2014 12:30 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2014 12:38 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
I’m seeing a black box in the middle of my frames whenever I render on the GPU with the smooth blending preset and the resolution is greater than 2048x2048. And to be sure, 2049x2049 is when the black box glitch start showing up (see example renders below).

But using the sharp blending preset on the GPU rendering works at any resolution.

This glitch happens when using both the synchrone and asynchrone GPU setting. I don’t think its the GPU memory filling up, because its AVP is only using 2.7 GB of GPU memory during rendering. I’m always outputting to frames and tried JPEG, PNG, and TIFF to no effect. I’ve also tried restarting my computer. I’m using the new anti-shake algorithm, but with no color or camera keyframes.

Example Renders
GPU (smooth blending preset) - http://imgur.com/a/Psfjh
GPU (sharp blending preset) - http://imgur.com/a/nMyRM
CPU (smooth blending preset) - http://imgur.com/a/e7lrR

System Specs:
Windows 7 x64
Intel i7 3.5GHz 8-core
GeForce GTX 770 4GB
16GB RAM

AVP 1.6 x64
APG 3.6 x64

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Last edited by jasonfletcher on Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 9:32 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Posts: 281
Hello,

This behavior at the 2048 size limit is indeed very strange. I tried to reproduce the issue with no success at this time. Could you please send us the .pano file used for stitching ?

Thanks,
Thomas


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2014 7:06 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
Here is a ZIP with the .pano and the accompanying .tif files generated by AVP. Thanks for looking into this.

http://charleshaydenplanetarium.org/sha ... xample.zip

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 6:14 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
Let me know if you need any more information or data.

And if you want to email me personally:
http://www.jasonfletcher.info/contact.html

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jul 11, 2014 11:24 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
I believe that I partly tracked down the bug. Upon changing the Multiband Blending Level, the glitch ramps according to the level # selection. So perhaps it has something to do with the Diamond weighting when rendering on the GPU?

Also I can confirm that this issue is specific to fisheye rendering. When changed to spherical, it renders as expected.

Even on the level 1 and level -10 images, you can see the glitch if you zoom into the middle of the image (1px vertical dotted black line).

Blending: Multiband
Weighting: Diamond
Below are example renders from levels -10 to 10.
http://imgur.com/a/g1NPu

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 8:20 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Posts: 281
Thanks for those details.

We found the cause of the error. This black boxes might appear in fisheye and little planet projections. We fixed the issue, and we are under the process of releasing a new version.

Regards,
Thomas


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2014 2:51 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
Excellent! Thanks for the update.

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2014 4:13 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
I just tested this with AVP 1.6.2 and I can confirm that this has been fixed.

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group