Image-stitching and virtual tour solutions My account Updates
It is currently Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:26 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:54 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
This has been fixed in Autopano Video Pro 1.5 Final.

When rendering the fisheye projection to frames, I've noticed that only certain resolution sizes are allowed to render on the GPU. The others are kicked to CPU for rendering. Happens consistently for any AVP project I try and render.
--- GPU render as expected: 4000x4000
--- kicked to CPU render: 5004x5004
--- kicked to CPU render: 5000x5000
--- kicked to CPU render: 4096x4096

This is specific to fisheye projection, as spherical projection GPU rendering has no problem with any resolution selection.
--- GPU render as expected: 8188x4094
--- GPU render as expected: 8000x4000

System Specs:
Windows 7 x64
Intel i7 3.5GHz 8-core
GeForce GTX 770
16GB RAM

AVP 1.5 RC1 x64
APG 3.5 RC1 x64

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Last edited by jasonfletcher on Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:20 pm, edited 6 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:03 am 
Offline
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Posts: 5901
Location: Francin, France
Issue 3392 opened.
This is really strange as we won't switch if you asked for gpu rendering, we do gpu rendering.
But perhaps, this projection is killing the performance which would explains that it looks like CPU.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:16 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
Interesting. I was just doing a test render and found the cutoff point where the GPU performance suffers.

Resolutions equal to or lower than 4095x4095 renders fast. But resolutions equal to or higher than 4096x4096 kills performance dramatically.

Here is a screenshot comparison for render stats. http://i.imgur.com/ECFOdnT.jpg

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:32 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm
Posts: 281
Hello,

Thanks for this report.

When trying to render using the GPU, we do some tests to ensure the panorama will be safetly rendered. We check the capabilities of GPU, the rendering settings, etc....

In some cases, the software could decide to switch to CPU processing. It is the behavior you are reporting.
When reviewing this piece of the software, we found a bug that will be fixed in the final version of Autopano Video 1.5.

Regards,
Thomas


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:41 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Posts: 51
Location: Boston, MA
Good to hear. Thanks for the update.

_________________
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group