[SOLVED] Fisheye GPU Rendering - Sometimes Kicks to CPU  

This forum is dedicated to Autopano Video bug reports and features discussion.
Please read the posting rules before starting a topic!
User avatar
jasonfletcher
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Location: Boston, MA

[SOLVED] Fisheye GPU Rendering - Sometimes Kicks to CPU

by jasonfletcher » Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:54 pm

This has been fixed in Autopano Video Pro 1.5 Final.

When rendering the fisheye projection to frames, I've noticed that only certain resolution sizes are allowed to render on the GPU. The others are kicked to CPU for rendering. Happens consistently for any AVP project I try and render.
--- GPU render as expected: 4000x4000
--- kicked to CPU render: 5004x5004
--- kicked to CPU render: 5000x5000
--- kicked to CPU render: 4096x4096

This is specific to fisheye projection, as spherical projection GPU rendering has no problem with any resolution selection.
--- GPU render as expected: 8188x4094
--- GPU render as expected: 8000x4000

System Specs:
Windows 7 x64
Intel i7 3.5GHz 8-core
GeForce GTX 770
16GB RAM

AVP 1.5 RC1 x64
APG 3.5 RC1 x64
Last edited by jasonfletcher on Thu Apr 03, 2014 10:20 pm, edited 6 times in total.
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com

User avatar
AlexandreJ
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 5911
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Francin, France

Re: Fisheye GPU Rendering - Sometimes Kicks to CPU

by AlexandreJ » Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:03 am

Issue 3392 opened.
This is really strange as we won't switch if you asked for gpu rendering, we do gpu rendering.
But perhaps, this projection is killing the performance which would explains that it looks like CPU.

User avatar
jasonfletcher
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Fisheye GPU Rendering - Sometimes Kicks to CPU

by jasonfletcher » Thu Mar 27, 2014 8:16 pm

Interesting. I was just doing a test render and found the cutoff point where the GPU performance suffers.

Resolutions equal to or lower than 4095x4095 renders fast. But resolutions equal to or higher than 4096x4096 kills performance dramatically.

Here is a screenshot comparison for render stats. http://i.imgur.com/ECFOdnT.jpg
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com

User avatar
ThomasV
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 281
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 1:12 pm

Re: Fisheye GPU Rendering - Sometimes Kicks to CPU

by ThomasV » Fri Mar 28, 2014 10:32 am

Hello,

Thanks for this report.

When trying to render using the GPU, we do some tests to ensure the panorama will be safetly rendered. We check the capabilities of GPU, the rendering settings, etc....

In some cases, the software could decide to switch to CPU processing. It is the behavior you are reporting.
When reviewing this piece of the software, we found a bug that will be fixed in the final version of Autopano Video 1.5.

Regards,
Thomas

User avatar
jasonfletcher
Member
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 5:48 am
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Fisheye GPU Rendering - Sometimes Kicks to CPU

by jasonfletcher » Fri Mar 28, 2014 8:41 pm

Good to hear. Thanks for the update.
Jason Fletcher
Science Visualizer
Charles Hayden Planetarium
http://www.thefulldomeblog.com


Return to Autopano Video Bug and Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nawaz4 and 1 guest