Issue with 59.94 Footage   [SOLVED] - View the solution

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Video!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
thewoj
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 4
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 2:12 am
Info

Issue with 59.94 Footage

by thewoj » Fri Oct 21, 2016 2:25 am

Hey there, I am having an issue with some comps I am trying to put together in Autopano Video Pro using 59.94fps AVCHD Footage re-encoded with the "XDCAM 1080p30 HD422 50Mbps" (still 59.94fps).

In AutoPano Video Pro 2.3.2 the footage would come in at 29.97fps and the duration would double (all the frames would be there, just playing back at the wrong speed). This was okay, as I could just interpret the footage back to 59.94 in Premiere/After Effects.

Since upgrading to 2.5.2 the footage now plays back at 29.97fps, but at the original duration (thus, the second half of the footage is missing and inaccessible). Now, I get that I am scheming the XDCAM system by encoding 59.94 footage in a 30p codec, but all the frames are there and quicktime plays it back at 59.94fps.

When importing the 2.5.2 project back into 2.3.2, the output durations in the timeline are set to half of the timeline. Example: with a 30 second 59.94fps clip the duration of the timeline in 2.3.2 would be 60 seconds, but the out point would be set to 30:00 which is what 2.5.2 thought the duration of the clip was.

Just wondering how to get this fixed in 2.5.2 without re-encoding the footage? Currently I have gone back to using 2.3.2 as I could not fix the problem with the footage as it currently stands.

User avatar
Emeric
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 156
Likes: 3 posts
Liked in: 14 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:45 am
Info

Re: Issue with 59.94 Footage

by Emeric » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:13 am

Hi,
Can you send me a short video from one camera so I can try to pinpoint the problem?

Thanks

no avatar
tasheal
Member
 
Posts: 37
Likes: 4 posts
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 9:51 am
Info

Re: Issue with 59.94 Footage

by tasheal » Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:30 am


User avatar
Emeric
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 156
Likes: 3 posts
Liked in: 14 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:45 am
Info

Re: Issue with 59.94 Footage

by Emeric » Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:51 am

Ok I looked at your footage and I think the problem is that our multimedia framework is having real troubles with the XDCAM format. It's actually the first time I see one of these file (MPEG-2 + ADPCM audio in an MP4), but some things seems weird, like the frame timestamps values, and that's probably causing your problem.

I'm not very hopeful to support this properly, do you have any alternative format you could use?

no avatar
thewoj
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 4
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 2:12 am
Info

Re: Issue with 59.94 Footage

by thewoj » Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:40 am

I'll probably just use ProRes in the future. I really liked XDCam when I tested it against ProRes and a variety of other formats several years ago as it did a great job of compressing files to manageable sizes while retaining detail (35-50mbps at 1080p with little to no visually noticeable compression). Since I had a lot of files to transcode for this project, I chose to use XDCam to cut down on file size since ProRes Proxy doesn't look great, LT is already 100mbps, and Cineform was causing a ton of softness to as well as large file sizes and massive processor rendering spikes.

What codec do you recommend for footage transcodes in that file size range? H264?

User avatar
Emeric
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 156
Likes: 3 posts
Liked in: 14 posts
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 9:45 am
Info

Re: Issue with 59.94 Footage

by Emeric » Wed Oct 26, 2016 10:16 am

The files you sent me were 100 Mbps, which is a LOT for 1080p footage. It's a 30:1 compression ratio, so not very impressive. MPEG2 is easy on the CPU and good on quality if you use insane bitrates like that.
ProRes or CineForm have worst compression ratios, but these codecs are made for higher bitrate than 100Mbps. You should use them when loosing quality is not an option, not when you want to get manageable file sizes ;-)

A good H.264 encoder will probably allow you to get the same quality for something like 25/50 Mbps, and processing time can be competitive if you disable the most advanced features (the ones that would otherwise allow you to keep the same quality at 3/5 Mbps).

no avatar
TomVR
Member
 
Posts: 56
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 5 posts
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 8:54 pm
Info

Re: Issue with 59.94 Footage

by TomVR » Wed Nov 02, 2016 6:25 pm

As a side note I've had some luck dropping XAVC-S 4K .mp4 from A7sII into AVP, but when I did it 6 months ago there seemed to be like a memory leak and clips beyond 16 minutes render time would progressively slow down to almost nothing.

Since then any A7sII ive gotten has been external recorder/prores anyway for better quality so haven't tried it again.

no avatar
thewoj
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 4
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 2:12 am
Info

Re: Issue with 59.94 Footage  [SOLVED]

by thewoj » Wed Nov 02, 2016 6:32 pm

Thanks for the heads up! I think the issue was I was wrapping 60fps footage in a codec made for 30fps (it normally works in Quicktime, but I could see how it could confuse some programs). Yesterday, I loaded some older XDCAM projects into 2.5.2 and it seemed like the duration was okay, I think the ones I was having issue with came out of Adobe Media Encoder CC2015 and the older one out of plain CC — so maybe that contributed as well.


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron