Is Intel Iris Graphics enough for Autopano Video PRO?  

Share your tips and tricks here or get help with any Autopano Video!
No bug reports (of any kind) in this forum!
no avatar
The360Video
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 4
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 2:01 pm
Info

Is Intel Iris Graphics enough for Autopano Video PRO?

by The360Video » Tue May 10, 2016 2:13 pm

As above really.

It is on a a 2.6ghz i5 Mac Mini, which has the Intel Iris Graphics card and 8GB of RAM

It will comfortably run the demo software of Autopano Video but wanted to know if it would render the videos quicker with the pro and is able to use that graphics card for this.

Thanks alot

Liam

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 133 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Is Intel Iris Graphics enough for Autopano Video PRO?

by olivierbo » Wed May 11, 2016 10:31 am

Hello,

The GPU is used for quicker preview and to improve overall performance in the Pro version. The render engine uses the CPU.
We do not recommend to use integrated Intel graphic cards (not powerfull enough) but a dedicated one if possible (AMD or NVidia). That being said, if you are satisfied with your GPU ;-)
Try both versions and play the video in the preview window. You should see a speed difference with the Pro version.
If you want to compare Std and Pro version: http://www.kolor.com/autopano-video/aut ... ures-table

Kind regards,
Olivier

no avatar
The360Video
New member
 
Topic author
Posts: 4
Likes: 0 post
Liked in: 0 post
Joined: Tue May 10, 2016 2:01 pm
Info

Re: Is Intel Iris Graphics enough for Autopano Video PRO?

by The360Video » Mon May 16, 2016 3:10 pm

olivierbo wrote:Hello,

The GPU is used for quicker preview and to improve overall performance in the Pro version. The render engine uses the CPU.
We do not recommend to use integrated Intel graphic cards (not powerfull enough) but a dedicated one if possible (AMD or NVidia). That being said, if you are satisfied with your GPU ;-)
Try both versions and play the video in the preview window. You should see a speed difference with the Pro version.
If you want to compare Std and Pro version: http://www.kolor.com/autopano-video/aut ... ures-table

Kind regards,
Olivier


Oliver, thanks alot for the reply...

If I had a dedicated graphics card, e.g. the AMD Radeon R9 M380 graphics processor with 2GB of GDDR5 memory, would this be sufficient and also would this speed up the render..

Just going by what it says on the software description from the Pro version "On average 10x faster than CPU rendering".

Many thanks for your help

Liam

User avatar
olivierbo
Kolor Team
 
Posts: 2225
Likes: 1 post
Liked in: 133 posts
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 11:44 am
Info

Re: Is Intel Iris Graphics enough for Autopano Video PRO?

by olivierbo » Tue May 17, 2016 1:48 pm

Hello,

We use Radeon R9 M370X on our laptops and it's doing the job.

Cheers,
Olivier


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron